Skip to content

Home › Compare

Ashby Ponds and Falcons Landing compared

Two Virginia communities about 4 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureAshby PondsFalcons Landing
LocationAshburn, VAPotomac Falls, VA
Filing used2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF
Contract typesType C (fee for service)Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one person$274,000 to $1,417,000p. 102$22,800 to $877,600p. 98p. 99
Monthly fee, independent living$2,988 to $5,004p. 102$4,100 to $7,960p. 98p. 99
Refund plans90% Refund Amountp. 25Plan 0; Plan 50; Plan 95p. 42
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 2595% of the feep. 42
When a refund is paidIn turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 25Within a fixed number of daysp. 42
Days cash on hand137 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 114316 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 110
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2024 filingNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2024 filingNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Independent living occupancy97.4% (2023)p. 192Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Net position−$88.0 million (FY2023)p. 114$12.8 million (FY2024)p. 110
Whose financesAshby Ponds, Inc.p. 114Air Force Retired Officers Community - Washington, D.C.p. 110
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLPp. 114Unmodified (clean) opinion, Plante & Moran, PLLCp. 110
Nursing care, CMS rating4 of 5 (CMS overall)5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Ashby Ponds

Type C (fee for service): Residents who move to assisted living, memory care or nursing pay that level's monthly package or daily rate; there is no life-care discount. If those units are full, the Medical Director arranges services in the resident's apartment or a transfer to an off-site facility.p. 104

Falcons Landing

Type B (modified): Continuing Care contract holders pay set resident daily rates in the health center that are half the direct-admission rates charged to Fee for Service residents (e.g. nursing $200 vs $400 a day), with no limit on how long the discounted rates apply.p. 102

Type C (fee for service): Fee for Service residents pay the full direct-admission daily rate for all non-Medicare health center stays.p. 103

Questions to ask both communities before you sign