Skip to content

Ashby Ponds

21170 Ashby Ponds Boulevard, Ashburn, Virginia 20147

Operator:
Ashby Ponds, Inc. (managed by Erickson Senior Living, LLC)
Ownership:
Mixed nonprofit and for-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Opened:
2008

Provider Ashby Ponds, Inc. is a non-stock 501(c)(3) whose sole member is the nonprofit National Senior Communities, Inc.; the land and buildings are owned by Redwood-ERC Ashburn, LLC and the community is managed by Erickson Senior Living, LLC, both for-profit Erickson subsidiaries (p2-3, p6). Entrance fees are loaned by Ashby Ponds to the Landowner (p8).

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2024 disclosure statement (fiscal 2023 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2023; this is the newest statement we have for Ashby Ponds, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$274,000 to $1,417,000p. 102

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,988 to $5,004p. 102

Refund plans offered

  • 90% Refund AmountNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

137 (FY2023, calculated by us)p. 114Lenders' minimum not disclosed.

Independent living occupancy

97.4% (2023)p. 192

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Residents who move to assisted living, memory care or nursing pay that level's monthly package or daily rate; there is no life-care discount. If those units are full, the Medical Director arranges services in the resident's apartment or a transfer to an off-site facility.p. 104

Assisted living
2025 base fee from $6,863 (studio) to from $12,149 (two bedroom) per month, plus a care package of $1,131-$11,299 per month; memory care base from $8,463 plus packages up to $8,992.
Nursing care
2025 daily rate $503 semi-private, $568 private.
Units on campusp. 192
Independent living1,407
Assisted living56
Memory care36
Nursing care44

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (2 prices, $274,000 to $1,417,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
One Bedroom90% Refund Amount$274,000 to $697,000p. 102Not listed
Two Bedroom90% Refund Amount$365,000 to $1,417,000p. 102Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (7 prices, $2,988 to $12,149)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One BedroomIndependent living$2,988 to $4,121p. 102$1,325
Two BedroomIndependent living$3,344 to $5,004p. 102$1,325
Assisted Living Studio Suites (base fee)Assisted livingfrom $6,863p. 102$2,477
Assisted Living One Bedroom (base fee)Assisted livingfrom $9,376p. 102$2,477
Assisted Living Two Bedroom (base fee)Assisted livingfrom $12,149p. 102$2,477
Memory Care Companion Suite with Private Bedroom (base fee)Memory carefrom $8,818p. 103Not listed
Memory Care Studio Suite (base fee)Memory carefrom $8,463p. 103Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingOne Bedroom (low end of range)4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,860 to $2,988p. 108
2025Independent livingOne Bedroom (high end of range)4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,944 to $4,121p. 108
2025Independent livingTwo Bedroom (low end of range)4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,200 to $3,344p. 108
2025Independent livingTwo Bedroom (high end of range)4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,789 to $5,004p. 108
2025Independent livingDouble occupancy fee4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,268 to $1,325p. 108
2024Independent livingOne Bedroom (low end of range)6.4%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,687 to $2,860p. 108
2024Independent livingOne Bedroom (high end of range)6%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,721 to $3,944p. 108
2024Independent livingTwo Bedroom (low end of range)6.3%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,011 to $3,200p. 108
2024Independent livingTwo Bedroom (high end of range)5.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,526 to $4,789p. 108
2024Independent livingDouble occupancy fee4.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,209 to $1,268p. 108
2023Independent livingOne Bedroom (low end of range)7.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,500 to $2,687p. 108
2023Independent livingOne Bedroom (high end of range)7.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,462 to $3,721p. 108
2023Independent livingTwo Bedroom (low end of range)7.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,801 to $3,011p. 108
2023Independent livingTwo Bedroom (high end of range)7.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,211 to $4,526p. 108
2023Independent livingDouble occupancy fee7.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,125 to $1,209p. 108
2022Independent livingOne Bedroom (low end of range)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,381 to $2,500p. 108
2022Independent livingOne Bedroom (high end of range)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,297 to $3,462p. 108
2022Independent livingTwo Bedroom (low end of range)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,668 to $2,801p. 108
2022Independent livingTwo Bedroom (high end of range)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,011 to $4,211p. 108
2022Independent livingDouble occupancy fee4.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,073 to $1,125p. 108
2021Independent livingOne Bedroom (low end of range)3.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,295 to $2,381p. 108
2021Independent livingOne Bedroom (high end of range)3.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,178 to $3,297p. 108
2021Independent livingTwo Bedroom (low end of range)3.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,573 to $2,668p. 108
2021Independent livingTwo Bedroom (high end of range)3.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,867 to $4,011p. 108
2021Independent livingDouble occupancy fee3.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,035 to $1,073p. 108

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refund Amountp. 25

10% of the entrance fee is a non-refundable Community Fee; the other 90% is refunded unless it was spent down for your care. It is paid within 60 days of your turn in a sequential refund queue, and only once a Refund Account funded by new residents' entrance fees holds enough to pay it in full; no maximum wait is stated.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $246,600 (90% of the fee)

When it is paid: in turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Ashby Ponds, Inc.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

137 days FY2023p. 114

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2023p. 114FY2022p. 114
Days cash on hand137 daysNot disclosed
Total assets$613.6 million$579.9 million
Total liabilities$701.6 million$657.5 million
Long-term debtNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$14.1 million$15.6 million
Entrance-fee liabilities, not split in the filing$672.5 million$624.0 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$88.0 million−$77.6 million

Auditor: PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 114

Occupancy

Level of care2023p. 192
Independent living97.4%
Assisted living100%
Memory care97.2%
Nursing care97.7%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-06 The FY2023 audit report (dated June 5, 2024) states the 2022 financial statements were restated to correct the accounting for certain lease-related arrangements; the opinion was not modified.p. 112

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 3 totalling $6,293. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 7. ASHBY PONDS INC on Care Compare

In brief

Ashby Ponds is a community on about 123 acres in Ashburn that opened in 2008, run by the nonprofit Ashby Ponds, Inc. and managed by Erickson Senior Living, with 1,407 independent living, 56 assisted living, 36 memory care and 44 nursing units in 2023. 2025 entrance fees run from $274,000 to $1,417,000, 90% refundable once the refund account has money from new residents' entrance fees, and residents pay fee-for-service rates if they need care. Ashby Ponds, Inc. reported a 2023 operating loss of $12.5 million and net assets of -$88.0 million.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • Falcons Landing

    Potomac Falls · 4 miles away

    Entrance fee: $22,800 to $877,600

  • The Woodlands

    Fairfax · 14 miles away

    Entrance fee: $346,000 to $765,000

  • The Mather

    Tysons · 15 miles away

    Entrance fee: $698,500 to $4,783,800

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.