Skip to content

Home › Virginia

Continuing care retirement communities in Virginia

47 communities · filings from 2023 to 2026 · 25 offer Type C (fee for service), 10 offer Rental, 27 offer Type B (modified), 21 offer Type A (life care)

What Virginia requires

Each provider files an annual disclosure statement with the Bureau of Insurance: who runs the community, admission terms, services, fees, refund provisions, the contracts themselves and audited financial statements. The Bureau posts the statements as PDFs on one list page.

Fee schedules and fee history are usually exhibits near the end; many Virginia statements close with a one-page summary of financial information that gives occupancy and, where the community has bonds, days cash on hand and debt service coverage.

Regulator: Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance (Va. Code §§ 38.2-4900 to 38.2-4932). The state’s list of disclosure statements

How to read a disclosure statement yourself

Every Virginia community we have read

CommunityEntrance fee, one personMonthly fee, independent livingDays cash on handFiling
Ashby PondsAshburn$274,000 to $1,417,000p. 102$2,988 to $5,004p. 102137 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 1142024
Avery PointRichmond$201,000 to $854,000p. 132$2,295 to $5,205p. 13217 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 141Calculated by us from FY2023 statements in which Avery Point, Inc. operated the community only from July 1, 2023, so expenses cover about half a year; a full year of expenses would roughly halve this figure.2024
Brandermill WoodsMidlothian$57,096p. 12$4,669 to $7,019p. 27243 days (FY2025)p. 632025
Brandon OaksRoanoke$76,900 to $697,700p. 90$3,008 to $6,408p. 90301 days (FY2022)p. 137Figures for Brandon Oaks (DSC); Virginia Lutheran Homes Obligated Group (days cash). Days cash on hand is for the Obligated Group (VLH corporate plus Brandon Oaks), from audit supplementary schedules; debt service coverage is Brandon Oaks alone (Obligated Group 1.39x).2023
Bridgewater Retirement CommunityBridgewater$75,606 to $1,906,566p. 55p. 57$1,124 to $3,591p. 55316 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 66Figures for Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated).2024
CedarfieldRichmond$183,600 to $908,300p. 18p. 17$2,400 to $8,240p. 18p. 17385 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 125Figures for Pinnacle Living (Virginia United Methodist Homes, Inc.). Computed by us: Pinnacle Living unrestricted cash $2.97M plus investments $65.18M over operating expenses less depreciation. Excludes $16.2M of assets whose use is limited (bond funds) and the $51.4M of investments held by affiliate Hermitage Capital & Reserve Corp. The disclosure reports no days-cash or coverage ratio.2025
Covenant WoodsMechanicsville$233,200 to $1,381,311p. 12$3,202 to $7,975p. 13397 days (FY2025)p. 232025
Falcons LandingPotomac Falls$22,800 to $877,600p. 98p. 99$4,100 to $7,960p. 98p. 99316 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 1102025
Friendship Retirement CommunityRoanokeNone: rental$1,037 to $2,382p. 87Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Friendship Apartment Village Corp (Exhibit E summary; includes Friendship RL/Richfield Living per its narrative).2025
Friendship Richfield LivingSalemNone: rental$1,388 to $5,550p. 88Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Friendship Apartment Village Corp (Exhibit E summary; includes Friendship RL/Richfield Living per its narrative).2025
Goodwin House AlexandriaAlexandria$77,476 to $1,529,320p. 38p. 40$3,414 to $14,316p. 37p. 39884.5 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 213Figures for Goodwin House Alexandria.2026
Goodwin House Bailey's CrossroadsFalls Church$92,830 to $1,832,425p. 46p. 62$3,573 to $16,412p. 45p. 61995.4 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 224Figures for Goodwin House Bailey's Crossroads.2026
Goodwin House Seminary RoadAlexandria$192,500 to $1,966,234p. 32$2,099 to $11,646p. 32Not disclosed in the 2026 filing2026
Greenspring VillageSpringfield$144,000 to $1,280,000p. 101$2,660 to $5,430p. 1011246 days (FY2023, interim)p. 112Figures for Greenspring Village, Inc. Management's figure counts a $259.9M beneficial interest in National CCRC Business Trust I (a related trust). Cash and short-term investments alone come to about 133 days.2024
Harbor's EdgeNorfolk$283,079 to $2,164,084p. 14$4,213 to $9,196p. 15p. 14200 days (FY2023)p. 1202024
Kendal at LexingtonLexington$197,900 to $1,578,710p. 18p. 20$4,061 to $6,146p. 181047 days (FY2024)p. 1112025
Lake Prince WoodsSuffolk$70,500 to $792,750p. 103$1,692 to $3,137p. 103340 days (FY2025)p. 86Figures for EveryAge Obligated Group. Days cash and coverage are the EveryAge obligated group's (p101), not Lake Prince Center's alone: its own balance sheet shows $2,020 of cash and $1,659,510 of assets limited as to use at 9/30/2025 (p86).2026
LakewoodRichmond$78,000 to $1,410,000p. 14p. 15$3,091 to $9,349p. 14p. 15266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 98Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.2026
Lucy CorrChesterfield$128,750 to $440,563p. 85$2,812 to $5,950p. 85p. 86157.4 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 1222025
Masonic Home of VirginiaRichmond$36,000 to $279,900p. 79$2,355 to $5,623p. 791295 days (FY2022, calculated)p. 1402023
Park Village (VMRC)Harrisonburg$122,709 to $1,127,549p. 71p. 73$1,728 to $3,684p. 71p. 69421 days (FY2025)p. 41Figures for VMRC Obligated Group (VMRC, Virginia Mennonite Home, Park Village, VMRC Foundation; excludes Heritage Haven).2025
Patriots ColonyWilliamsburg$177,629 to $912,827p. 43p. 42$3,242 to $7,920p. 42987 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 204Figures for Patriots Colony, Inc. Computed from Patriots Colony's column in Riverside Health's audited consolidating schedules: cash $14K + investments $73.5M over cash operating expenses ($31.8M less $4.7M depreciation). Excludes $25.6M due from affiliates. The disclosure narrative (p29) cites an $85M investment balance, which the schedule does not show.2025
Rappahannock Westminster-CanterburyIrvington$152,386 to $904,817p. 10p. 13$4,214 to $7,928p. 14156 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 502025
SandersGloucesterNone: rental$3,567 to $4,137p. 36Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Sanders Common, Ltd.2025
Shenandoah Valley Westminster-CanterburyWinchester$110,274 to $880,318p. 23p. 18$2,396 to $6,850p. 24p. 17598 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 109Computed by us from the audited statements; the document reports no liquidity or coverage ratios. Long-term investments may include the $1.0M board-designated endowment.2024
Summit SquareWaynesboro$71,000 to $373,900p. 100$2,100 to $5,559p. 100419 days (FY2025)p. 142Figures for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square). Days cash and coverage are for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home's three campuses together (Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square), not Summit Square alone; Summit Square's own column holds $242,738 cash and $3,938,591 investments (p141). Days cash 419 is the audit note figure (p124); the covenant schedule (Exhibit F, p159) shows 418. Coverage 4.87x is from that management covenant schedule (p157), not the audit.2026
SunnysideHarrisonburg$68,600 to $809,200p. 98p. 103$1,520 to $4,253p. 98419 days (FY2025)p. 145Figures for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square). Days cash and coverage are for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home's three campuses together (Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square), not this campus alone; most of the corporation's investments sit in its Corporate column, and the Sunnyside campus column holds $1,083,369 cash and $2,352,185 investments (p144). Days cash 419 is the audit note figure (p127); the covenant schedule (Exhibit F, p163) shows 418. Coverage 4.87x is from that management schedule (p161), not the audit. The campus's total assets include a $35,982,769 intercompany 'Due from Other Funds' receivable.2026
The ChesapeakeNewport News$149,000 to $855,000p. 15p. 17$3,520 to $6,751p. 15p. 17266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 100Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.2026
The ColonnadesCharlottesville$34,550 to $292,775p. 10$4,800 to $13,750p. 12p. 11Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for The Colonnades (column of Welltower CCRC OpCo, LLC combining balance sheet). The Colonnades had $0 in cash and no investments on its own balance sheet at December 31, 2024, so days cash on hand is not reported here (by the standard formula it would be zero). Its cash is held by the Sunrise management company and Welltower affiliates: it owed the management company $15,918,497 and was owed $6,112,967 by an affiliate. Welltower OP LLC has agreed to make funds available for the provider's continuing-care obligations (p5).2025
The CulpeperCulpeper$82,000 to $565,000p. 14$3,068 to $5,535p. 13p. 14266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 132Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group. Days cash and debt service coverage are the LifeSpire of Virginia obligated group's interim calculations at 12/31/2025 (p22), not The Culpeper's own.2026
The FairfaxFort Belvoir$135,598 to $1,027,327p. 118p. 119$4,157 to $7,640p. 118p. 119Not disclosed in the 2025 filingNo days cash on hand or debt service coverage is reported. The Fairfax has no debt, and its balance sheet holds no unrestricted cash or investments: its liquidity sits in $31,277,284 due from a Healthpeak affiliate and a $32,361,790 note receivable from the Healthpeak landlord affiliate (p134, p137).2025
The GlebeDaleville$165,000 to $875,000p. 14$3,726 to $6,954p. 14266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 98Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.2026
The MatherTysons$698,500 to $4,783,800p. 100$3,656 to $12,636p. 100424 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 86Computed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's.2025
The SummitLynchburg$133,000 to $891,000p. 12$3,127 to $4,764p. 12266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 66Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.2026
The Village at Orchard RidgeWinchester$276,610 to $1,268,780p. 14$2,902 to $4,949p. 14p. 15217 days (FY2024, interim)p. 88The reported 217 days cash on hand is management's figure from the disclosure narrative, not an audited ratio, and it only holds by counting outside money: a $13.96M beneficial interest in investments held by affiliate National Lutheran Home for the Aged under a debt support agreement. On its own cash and investments ($2.84M on the audited balance sheet) Orchard Ridge had about 42 days of cash operating expenses.2025
The VirginianFairfaxNone: rental$5,730 to $9,660p. 2320 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 35Figures for Focus SH I Holdings II LLC (consolidated).2024
The WoodlandsFairfax$346,000 to $765,000p. 123$5,031 to $7,190p. 12415 days (FY2021, calculated)p. 135Computed by us: $195,401 of unrestricted cash (cash $359,528 less $164,127 restricted for deposits) over FY2021 cash operating expenses. Counting the escrowed deposits it would be about 27 days. The community holds no investments or reserve fund.2023
Vinson Hall Retirement CommunityMcLean$106,180 to $1,230,633p. 136p. 140$2,061 to $6,682p. 143p. 142564 days (FY2022, calculated)p. 153Days cash computed from the FY2022 balance sheet: cash $779,755 + investments $47,630,483, over cash expenses ($37,001,588 total expenses less $5,672,258 depreciation and amortization) / 365 = 564 days. The FY2022 audit's liquidity note prints 685 days (Dec 2022) and 800 (Dec 2021), but that note repeats the FY2021 audit word for word, where the same 685 and 800 are dated December 2021 and 2020. The donor-restricted endowment fund, donor-restricted investments and the interest rate swap asset are excluded.2023
Warwick ForestNewport News$148,328 to $377,659p. 127$3,388 to $4,486p. 127609 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 40Figures for Warwick Forest division. Computed by us from Riverside Health's divisional schedule (p176-178): Warwick Forest's $26.0M of investments and $1K cash over cash operating expenses. The same column shows a net $14.9M due to Riverside affiliates; net of that, cash and investments cover about 260 days.2025
Westminster at Lake RidgeLake RidgeNot disclosed in the 2025 filing$2,281 to $8,142p. 114205 days (FY2024)p. 1212025
Westminster Canterbury of LynchburgLynchburg$61,376 to $560,727p. 31p. 26$1,200 to $6,484p. 31p. 26554 days (FY2025, interim)p. 1622026
Westminster Canterbury RichmondRichmond$135,485 to $1,074,558p. 98p. 89$2,406 to $12,317p. 98p. 891310 days (FY2025, interim)p. 23FY2025 ratios are management-reported for the Obligated Group, which excludes the Foundation and the Development Corporation. FY2025 investment income included $36.8 million of realized gains from a change of investment advisors. The days-cash figure is consistent with Westminster-Canterbury Corporation's own balance sheet: cash $57.4 million plus investments $206.3 million at September 30, 2025 (p151); it does not rely on the Foundation's $94.4 million.2026
Westminster-Canterbury of the Blue RidgeCharlottesville$226,829 to $1,410,651p. 129$4,298 to $12,156p. 1291381 days (FY2025, interim)p. 149The 1,381 days matches cash ($11.2M) plus all $120.1M of investments, which include $15.7M purpose-restricted and $2.1M perpetually restricted donor funds (p19, p76); cash and unrestricted investments alone ($113.6M) come to about 1,190 days.2026
Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake BayVirginia Beach$113,700 to $2,781,200p. 180p. 182$2,254 to $13,139p. 185p. 176769 days (FY2025, interim)p. 199Figures for Obligated Group (Westminster-Canterbury on Chesapeake Bay and Westminster-Canterbury Foundation). Coverage counts $30.6M of net entrance-fee proceeds as income and excludes Bay Tower start-up costs; maximum annual debt service includes a $12M guaranty for Opus Select but is before Bay Tower principal begins (2029).2026
Williamsburg LandingWilliamsburg$48,067 to $1,054,547p. 27p. 25$4,195 to $6,450p. 26p. 25340 days (FY2022, interim)p. 2692023
WindsorMeade WilliamsburgWilliamsburg$252,700 to $1,131,500p. 16p. 17$5,475 to $6,460p. 16222.7 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 122Figures for WindsorMeade. Computed by us from WindsorMeade's own column: unrestricted cash $2,696,093 + investments $9,165,502, excluding $3,871,855 of assets whose use is limited. The disclosure states no days-cash or coverage ratio.2025
Woodleigh ChaseFairfax$479,000 to $1,242,000p. 104$3,603 to $5,189p. 104Not disclosed in the 2024 filing2024