Home › Compare
Belle Meade and Penick Village compared
Two North Carolina communities about 3 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Belle Meade | Penick Village |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Southern Pines, NC | Southern Pines, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | $135,987 to $859,200p. 20 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,237 to $6,477p. 18 | $2,546 to $6,411p. 21 |
| Refund plans | Standard Refund Option; Fifty Percent (50%) Refund Option; Ninety Percent (90%) Refund Option; Membership Fee (non-refundable)p. 68p. 69p. 76 | 24-Month Declining Refundable Entrance Fee; 50% Refundable Entrance Fee; 90% Refundable Entrance Feep. 127p. 15 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 68p. 69p. 76 | 90% of the feep. 127p. 15 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 68p. 69p. 76 | In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 127p. 15 |
| Days cash on hand | 103 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 29Figures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days. | 347 days (FY2025, interim)p. 24 |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingFigures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days. | 2.61x (FY2025, interim)p. 24 |
| Independent living occupancy | 95.8% (2025)p. 4 | 99.58% (2025)p. 11 |
| Net position | $3.0 million (FY2025)p. 29 | $15.0 million (FY2025)p. 32 |
| Whose finances | St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. (Belle Meade, Pine Knoll, Health Center, Coventry and HUD property management); ratios for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc.p. 29 | Penick Village, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated with The Penick Village Foundation, Inc. and The JA Greer Group, LLC); ratios for Penick Village, Inc.p. 32 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, brc (Greensboro, NC; firm shown by logo and brc.cpa only)p. 29 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 32 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Belle Meade
Type B (modified): Up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee; on a permanent move you pay 50% of the published per diem rate. Requires a health evaluation, management approval and a separate non-refundable Extensive Benefit Fee whose amount is not disclosed.p. 66
Type B (modified): Fee-for-service care, but with up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee (which makes it Type B by our definition); on a permanent move you pay the full published per diem rate.p. 67
Penick Village
Type B (modified): Benefit: 14 cumulative days per calendar year per resident of basic assisted living or nursing care at no additional charge during a temporary transfer from the resident's independent living residence (beyond what insurance or Medicare covers), while the residence's Monthly Service Fee continues. After 14 days, and on any permanent transfer, the resident pays the daily rate; internal residents pay $6-$36 a day less than direct admissions in assisted living and the same $419 in nursing. If no bed is free, Penick arranges home care at the resident's cost or care at another community.p. 116