Skip to content

Penick Village

500 E. Rhode Island Ave., Southern Pines, North Carolina 28387 · Community website

Operator:
Penick Village, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Episcopal (Diocese of North Carolina; no financial support or voting board seat)
Opened:
1964
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$135,987 to $859,200p. 20

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,546 to $6,411p. 21

Refund plans offered

  • 24-Month Declining Refundable Entrance FeeCan decline to nothing
  • 50% Refundable Entrance FeeNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% Refundable Entrance FeeNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

347 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 24Lenders' minimum not disclosed.

Independent living occupancy

99.58% (2025)p. 11

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it fee-for-service contract; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Benefit: 14 cumulative days per calendar year per resident of basic assisted living or nursing care at no additional charge during a temporary transfer from the resident's independent living residence (beyond what insurance or Medicare covers), while the residence's Monthly Service Fee continues. After 14 days, and on any permanent transfer, the resident pays the daily rate; internal residents pay $6-$36 a day less than direct admissions in assisted living and the same $419 in nursing. If no bed is free, Penick arranges home care at the resident's cost or care at another community.p. 116

Assisted living
Temporary transfer: 14 cumulative days per calendar year per resident at no additional charge (the residence's monthly fee continues). After that, and after a permanent transfer, the internal-resident daily rate: $219-$356 a day in assisted living and $299 in the Garden Cottage memory unit, against $225-$392 and $312 for direct admissions (2026).
Nursing care
Same 14 cumulative days per calendar year for temporary transfers. Otherwise the $419 daily rate (2026) for a private room, the same rate direct admissions pay.
Care days included
14
Units on campusp. 8
Independent living150
Assisted living32
Memory care10
Nursing care32

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Independent Living Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (4 prices, $135,987 to $859,200)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living – Apartment24-Month Declining Refundable Entrance Fee$135,987 to $422,182p. 20No extra charge
Independent Living – Hybrid24-Month Declining Refundable Entrance Fee$140,687 to $470,271p. 20No extra charge
Independent Living – Cottage24-Month Declining Refundable Entrance Fee$328,219 to $540,085p. 20No extra charge
Independent Living – Home24-Month Declining Refundable Entrance Fee$680,200 to $859,200p. 20No extra charge

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Independent Living Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (4 prices, $2,546 to $6,411)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – ApartmentIndependent living$2,689 to $5,566p. 21$1,416
Independent Living – HybridIndependent living$2,546 to $5,093p. 21$1,416
Independent Living – CottageIndependent living$4,601 to $4,912p. 21$1,416
Independent Living – HomeIndependent living$6,101 to $6,411p. 21$1,416

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3%20212022: 5%20222023: 7.5%20232024: 5%20242025: 3.89%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units3.89%Percent onlyp. 21
2024Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 21
2023Independent livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 21
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 21
2021Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 21

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

24-Month Declining Refundable Entrance Feep. 127

8% of the fee is earned on the first day of occupancy and 4% a month after that, so nothing is refundable after 24 months. Any refund is paid within 30 days after Penick receives enough from the next entrance fee(s) of a newly occupied residence similar to yours, with refunds queued first-in, first-out.

Kept on move-in
8% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 24 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

50% Refundable Entrance Feep. 127

5% is earned on the first day, 4% a month for the next 11 months and 1% at the start of month 13, leaving 50% of the fee refundable for life. Priced higher than the declining fee by an age-based multiplier; not offered at 85 or older. Paid from the next entrance fee(s) of a similar residence, first-in, first-out.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 13 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

90% Refundable Entrance Feep. 15

5% is earned on the first day and 1% a month for the next five months, leaving 90% refundable for life. Priced higher than the declining fee by an age-based multiplier; not offered at 85 or older. Paid from the next entrance fee(s) of a similar residence, first-in, first-out.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 6 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: in turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Penick Village, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated with The Penick Village Foundation, Inc. and The JA Greer Group, LLC).
  • Ratios: Penick Village, Inc.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

347 days FY2025p. 24

Debt service coverage

2.61x FY2025p. 24

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 32FY2024p. 24FY2023p. 24
Days cash on hand347 days266 days316 days
Debt service coverage2.61x2.58x2.86x
Operating margin-0.4%-6%-6.1%
Total assets$155.1 million$75.5 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$140.1 million$62.3 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$106.5 million$34.2 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$20.5 million$20.7 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$2.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$15.0 million$13.2 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 32

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 112024p. 112023p. 112022p. 112021p. 11
Independent living99.58%92.07%92.23%93.49%91.91%
Assisted living94.62%83.03%77.59%74.22%72.73%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care77.2%58%63.64%66.89%65.65%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025 Sold 18 skilled nursing bed licenses during fiscal 2025, reducing licensed nursing beds from 50 to 32.p. 75
  • 2024-10 Entered a bond purchase and loan agreement with the North Carolina Medical Care Commission for $73,295,000 of Series 2024 bonds to build 44 independent living units and a wellness center and renovate the health care center; the bonds mature September 1, 2054.p. 47

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 8. Penick Village on Care Compare

In brief

Penick Village in Southern Pines, NC is a nonprofit Episcopal-associated life plan community with 150 independent living residences, 32 assisted living units, a 10-bed memory-support cottage and 32 skilled nursing beds, with 44 more independent living units under construction. Its residency agreement includes 14 cumulative days per calendar year of basic assisted living or nursing care at no additional charge during temporary transfers, after which (and on a permanent move) residents pay daily rates; 2026 entrance fees on the 24-month declining plan run from $135,987 to $859,200, with 50% and 90% refundable options priced by age.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

  • Pine Knoll

    Southern Pines · 1 miles away

    Entrance fee: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

  • Belle Meade

    Southern Pines · 3 miles away

    Entrance fee: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

  • Quail Haven Village

    Pinehurst · 4 miles away

    Entrance fee: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.