Home › Compare
Belle Meade and Pine Knoll compared
Two North Carolina communities about 1 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Belle Meade | Pine Knoll |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Southern Pines, NC | Southern Pines, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,237 to $6,477p. 18 | $1,886 to $4,684p. 19 |
| Refund plans | Standard Refund Option; Fifty Percent (50%) Refund Option; Ninety Percent (90%) Refund Option; Membership Fee (non-refundable)p. 68p. 69p. 76 | Standard Refund Option; Fifty Percent (50%) Refund Option; Ninety Percent (90%) Refund Option; Membership Fee (non-refundable)p. 68p. 69p. 76 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 68p. 69p. 76 | 90% of the feep. 68p. 69p. 76 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 68p. 69p. 76 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 68p. 69p. 76 |
| Days cash on hand | 103 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 29Figures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days. | 103 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 29Figures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingFigures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days. | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingFigures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days. |
| Independent living occupancy | 95.8% (2025)p. 4 | 95.3% (2025)p. 4 |
| Net position | $3.0 million (FY2025)p. 29 | $3.0 million (FY2025)p. 29 |
| Whose finances | St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. (Belle Meade, Pine Knoll, Health Center, Coventry and HUD property management); ratios for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc.p. 29 | St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. (Belle Meade, Pine Knoll, Health Center, Coventry and HUD property management); ratios for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc.p. 29 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, brc (Greensboro, NC; firm shown by logo and brc.cpa only)p. 29 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, brc (Greensboro, NC; firm shown by logo and brc.cpa only)p. 29 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
Belle Meade
Type B (modified): Up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee; on a permanent move you pay 50% of the published per diem rate. Requires a health evaluation, management approval and a separate non-refundable Extensive Benefit Fee whose amount is not disclosed.p. 66
Type B (modified): Fee-for-service care, but with up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee (which makes it Type B by our definition); on a permanent move you pay the full published per diem rate.p. 67
Pine Knoll
Type B (modified): Up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee; on a permanent move you pay 50% of the published per diem rate. Requires a health evaluation, management approval and a separate non-refundable Extensive Benefit Fee whose amount is not disclosed.p. 66
Type B (modified): Fee-for-service care, but with up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee (which makes it Type B by our definition); on a permanent move you pay the full published per diem rate.p. 67