Skip to content

Pine Knoll

590 Central Drive, Southern Pines, North Carolina 28387 · Community website

Operator:
St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Roman Catholic (Trinity Health)
Opened:
1984

Sole member is Trinity Continuing Care Services, whose sole member is Trinity Health Corporation.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,886 to $4,684p. 19

Refund plans offered

  • Standard Refund OptionCan decline to nothing
  • Fifty Percent (50%) Refund OptionNever less than 50% of the fee
  • Ninety Percent (90%) Refund OptionNever less than 90% of the fee
  • Membership Fee (non-refundable)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

103 (FY2025, calculated by us)p. 29Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc.
Read the note on this figure

Computed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days.

Independent living occupancy

95.3% (2025)p. 4

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Extensive Benefit; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee; on a permanent move you pay 50% of the published per diem rate. Requires a health evaluation, management approval and a separate non-refundable Extensive Benefit Fee whose amount is not disclosed.p. 66

Assisted living
50% discount from the published per diem fee once a permanent move is determined (published 2026 Coventry rates: studio $7,724, apartment $8,634 a month); the independent living monthly fee stops when the unit is vacated.
Nursing care
50% discount from the published per diem fee (2026 private-pay daily room rate $390), semi-private room standard; private room at a surcharge.
Care days included
14
Discount on care
50%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Fee-for-service; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Fee-for-service care, but with up to 14 days a calendar year of temporary assisted living or nursing care at no extra charge while you keep paying your monthly fee (which makes it Type B by our definition); on a permanent move you pay the full published per diem rate.p. 67

Assisted living
Then-current published per diem (2026 Coventry: studio $7,724, apartment $8,634 a month); the independent living monthly fee stops when the unit is vacated.
Nursing care
Then-current published per diem (2026 private-pay daily room rate $390), semi-private room standard; private room at a surcharge.
Care days included
14
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 9
Independent living90
Assisted livingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

One Residency Agreement with a choice of Extensive Benefit (50% off published assisted living and nursing per diems, for an extra non-refundable fee) or Fee-for-service healthcare (both include 14 days a year of temporary care at no extra charge, so both map to Type B), and a choice of paying an Entrance Fee (Standard, 50% or 90% refund plans) or a lower, non-refundable Membership Fee with a higher monthly fee. Entrance and membership fee amounts are not stated in the disclosure.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement – Extensive Benefit · Type B (modified) (13 prices, $1,886 to $4,684)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Halsford (384 sf)Independent living$1,886p. 19$1,467
Lampford (573 sf)Independent living$2,252p. 19$1,467
Upton (720 sf)Independent living$2,560p. 19$1,467
Newland (836 sf)Independent living$2,838p. 19$1,467
Ashemore (1,295 sf)Independent living$3,973p. 19$1,467
Scotsgrove (1,344 sf)Independent living$4,070p. 19$1,467
Kingston (1,618 sf)Independent living$4,404p. 19$1,467
Woodleigh (1,211 sf)Independent living$3,918p. 19$1,467
Bickleigh (1,322 sf)Independent living$4,048p. 19$1,467
Ashleigh (1,347 sf)Independent living$4,090p. 19$1,467
Kingsford (1,381 sf)Independent living$4,156p. 19$1,467
Dunsford (1,443 sf)Independent living$4,190p. 19$1,467
Fernhill (1,733 sf)Independent living$4,684p. 19$1,467
Residency Agreement – Fee-for-service · Type B (modified) (13 prices, $1,886 to $4,684)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Halsford (384 sf)Independent living$1,886p. 19$1,467
Lampford (573 sf)Independent living$2,252p. 19$1,467
Upton (720 sf)Independent living$2,560p. 19$1,467
Newland (836 sf)Independent living$2,838p. 19$1,467
Ashemore (1,295 sf)Independent living$3,973p. 19$1,467
Scotsgrove (1,344 sf)Independent living$4,070p. 19$1,467
Kingston (1,618 sf)Independent living$4,404p. 19$1,467
Woodleigh (1,211 sf)Independent living$3,918p. 19$1,467
Bickleigh (1,322 sf)Independent living$4,048p. 19$1,467
Ashleigh (1,347 sf)Independent living$4,090p. 19$1,467
Kingsford (1,381 sf)Independent living$4,156p. 19$1,467
Dunsford (1,443 sf)Independent living$4,190p. 19$1,467
Fernhill (1,733 sf)Independent living$4,684p. 19$1,467

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 4%20222023: 6%20232024: 5.5%20242025: 6.6%20252026: 5%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 19
2025Independent livingAll units6.6%Percent onlyp. 19
2024Independent livingAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 19
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 19
2022Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 19

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard Refund Optionp. 68

The refund is the entrance fee less 2% for each month after closing (for up to 49 months) and less an administrative charge of the greater of $1,000 or 2% of the entrance fee, so nothing is refunded after 49 months. Any refund is paid once your unit has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
2% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 49 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Fifty Percent (50%) Refund Optionp. 69

Bought with a higher 50% Refund Entrance Fee. The refund declines 2% of the fee a month for up to 24 months, less an administrative charge of the greater of $1,000 or 2%, but is never less than 50% of the fee paid (less periodic charges). Paid once your unit has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; must be elected at closing or within 90 days.

Kept on move-in
2% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 24 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Ninety Percent (90%) Refund Optionp. 69

Bought with a higher 90% Refund Entrance Fee. The refund declines 2% of the fee a month for up to 4 months, less an administrative charge of the greater of $1,000 or 2%, but is never less than 90% of the fee paid (less periodic charges). Paid once your unit has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; must be elected at closing or within 90 days.

Kept on move-in
2% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 4 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Membership Fee (non-refundable)p. 76

Instead of an entrance fee a resident may pay a lower Membership Fee with a higher monthly fee. Once you have moved in, no part of the Membership Fee is refunded, including on death; before move-in it is refunded less $1,000.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Pine Knoll is part of St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc.
  • Balance sheet: St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. (Belle Meade, Pine Knoll, Health Center, Coventry and HUD property management).
  • Ratios: St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

103 days FY2025p. 29

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Read with these figuresComputed by us: cash $41,574 + investments $8,655,577 + board-designated $249,830 over FY2025 expenses less depreciation and amortization ($31,727,285/365). Excludes the $3.6M statutory operating reserve, donor-designated funds and $8.8M of other receivables (largely funds held at parent Trinity Health); counting the receivables would give about 205 days.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 29
Total assets$71.5 million
Total liabilities$68.5 million
Long-term debt$41.0 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$20.0 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$2.9 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$3.0 million

Auditor: brc (Greensboro, NC; firm shown by logo and brc.cpa only). Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 29

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 42024p. 20
Independent living95.3%94%
Assisted livingNot disclosedNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosedNot disclosed

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Pine Knoll, opened in 1984 as St. Joseph of the Pines Villas, is the smaller of two independent living campuses run by the nonprofit St. Joseph of the Pines, Inc. (Trinity Health) in Southern Pines; its residents use the Coventry assisted living home and Health Center next to Belle Meade, about 1.5 miles away. It offers the same choice of Extensive Benefit or fee-for-service care and of refund plans as Belle Meade. 2026 monthly fees run $1,886 to $4,684.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

  • Penick Village

    Southern Pines · 1 miles away

    Entrance fee: $135,987 to $859,200

  • Belle Meade

    Southern Pines · 1 miles away

    Entrance fee: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

  • Quail Haven Village

    Pinehurst · 5 miles away

    Entrance fee: Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.