Home › Compare
Falcons Landing and The Mather compared
Two Virginia communities about 12 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Falcons Landing | The Mather |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Potomac Falls, VA | Tysons, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) | Type A (life care), Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $22,800 to $877,600p. 98p. 99 | $698,500 to $4,783,800p. 100 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $4,100 to $7,960p. 98p. 99 | $3,656 to $12,636p. 100 |
| Refund plans | Plan 0; Plan 50; Plan 95p. 42 | 90% Refundablep. 15 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 95% of the feep. 42 | 90% of the feep. 15 |
| When a refund is paid | Within a fixed number of daysp. 42 | When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is firstp. 15 |
| Days cash on hand | 316 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 110 | 424 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 86Computed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingComputed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's. |
| Independent living occupancy | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Net position | $12.8 million (FY2024)p. 110 | $33.9 million (FY2024)p. 85 |
| Whose finances | Air Force Retired Officers Community - Washington, D.C.p. 110 | Tysons LPC, LLCp. 85 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Plante & Moran, PLLCp. 110 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Grant Thornton LLPp. 85 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
Falcons Landing
Type B (modified): Continuing Care contract holders pay set resident daily rates in the health center that are half the direct-admission rates charged to Fee for Service residents (e.g. nursing $200 vs $400 a day), with no limit on how long the discounted rates apply.p. 102
Type C (fee for service): Fee for Service residents pay the full direct-admission daily rate for all non-Medicare health center stays.p. 103
The Mather
Type A (life care): Unlimited days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee the resident would have paid in independent living; the fee itself remains subject to increases.p. 30
Type B (modified): Ninety total days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee, used in whole days; after that the resident pays the then-current market rate. 2025 proposed market rates: assisted living $9,696/month, memory support $11,424/month, skilled nursing $527/day.p. 30