Skip to content

The Mather

7929 Westpark Dr., Tysons, Virginia 22102

Operator:
Tysons LPC, LLC d/b/a The Mather (managed by Virginia Mather Management, LLC)
Ownership:
Mixed nonprofit and for-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
2024

Provider Tysons LPC, LLC is wholly owned by Tysons LPC Holdings, LLC, a 50/50 equity partnership of Virginia Mather LPC, LLC (sole member Mather Investments, NFP, a 501(c)(3)) and Virginia LPC LLC, a for-profit entity owned by Westminster Virginia LP (p3, p12, p88). The provider is taxed as a partnership.

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for The Mather, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$698,500 to $4,783,800p. 100

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,656 to $12,636p. 100

Refund plans offered

  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

424 (FY2024, calculated by us)p. 86Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Computed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's.

Independent living occupancy

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it Type A, the Life Care Benefit plan; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Unlimited days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee the resident would have paid in independent living; the fee itself remains subject to increases.p. 30

Assisted living
Virtually the same Monthly Service Fee as in the independent living home, plus Additional and Ancillary Charges
Nursing care
Virtually the same Monthly Service Fee as in the independent living home, plus Additional and Ancillary Charges
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Type B, the 90 Day Life Care Benefit plan; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Ninety total days of assisted living, memory support or skilled nursing at virtually the same Monthly Service Fee, used in whole days; after that the resident pays the then-current market rate. 2025 proposed market rates: assisted living $9,696/month, memory support $11,424/month, skilled nursing $527/day.p. 30

Assisted living
Same Monthly Service Fee for 90 total days of care, then current market rates (2025 proposed: $9,696/month)
Nursing care
Same Monthly Service Fee for 90 total days of care, then current market rates (2025 proposed: $527/day)
Care days included
90
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 12
Independent living293
Assisted living16
Memory care20
Nursing care42

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Life Care Benefit Plan · Type A (life care) (6 prices, $698,500 to $4,783,800)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
One-BR/1 BA90% Refundable$698,500 to $1,124,700p. 100$72,200
One-BR/1 BA/Den90% Refundable$1,045,900 to $1,115,000p. 100$72,200
One-BR/1.5 BA/Den90% Refundable$1,028,600 to $1,376,300p. 100$72,200
Two-BR/2 BA90% Refundable$1,202,800 to $1,970,500p. 100$72,200
Two-BR/2 BA/Den90% Refundable$1,803,000 to $2,232,700p. 100$72,200
Two-BR/2.5 BA/Den90% Refundable$2,007,500 to $4,783,800p. 100$72,200
90-Day Benefit Plan · Type B (modified) (6 prices, $698,500 to $4,783,800)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
One-BR/1 BA90% Refundable$698,500 to $1,124,700p. 100$72,200
One-BR/1 BA/Den90% Refundable$1,045,900 to $1,115,000p. 100$72,200
One-BR/1.5 BA/Den90% Refundable$1,028,600 to $1,376,300p. 100$72,200
Two-BR/2 BA90% Refundable$1,202,800 to $1,970,500p. 100$72,200
Two-BR/2 BA/Den90% Refundable$1,803,000 to $2,232,700p. 100$72,200
Two-BR/2.5 BA/Den90% Refundable$2,007,500 to $4,783,800p. 100$72,200

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Life Care Benefit Plan · Type A (life care) (6 prices, $5,003 to $12,636)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One-BR/1 BAIndependent living$5,003 to $6,398p. 100$2,528
One-BR/1 BA/DenIndependent living$6,035 to $6,623p. 100$2,528
One-BR/1.5 BA/DenIndependent living$6,500 to $7,275p. 100$2,528
Two-BR/2 BAIndependent living$6,756 to $8,809p. 100$2,528
Two-BR/2 BA/DenIndependent living$8,472 to $9,226p. 100$2,528
Two-BR/2.5 BA/DenIndependent living$9,119 to $12,636p. 100$2,528
90-Day Benefit Plan · Type B (modified) (6 prices, $3,656 to $11,289)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One-BR/1 BAIndependent living$3,656 to $5,051p. 100$1,181
One-BR/1 BA/DenIndependent living$4,688 to $5,276p. 100$1,181
One-BR/1.5 BA/DenIndependent living$5,153 to $5,928p. 100$1,181
Two-BR/2 BAIndependent living$5,409 to $7,462p. 100$1,181
Two-BR/2 BA/DenIndependent living$7,125 to $7,879p. 100$1,181
Two-BR/2.5 BA/DenIndependent living$7,772 to $11,289p. 100$1,181

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units6.9%Percent onlyp. 100

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refundablep. 15

After the 7-day rescission period the refund is the greater of 98% of the entrance fee less 1% per month of occupancy, or 90% of the entrance fee, less any Adjustments. It is paid 30 days after termination if the home has been reoccupied by a new resident, otherwise 180 days after termination. With two residents, nothing is refunded until the agreement ends for both.

Kept on move-in
2% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 8 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
6 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $628,650 (90% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Tysons LPC, LLC.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

424 days FY2024p. 86

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Read with these figuresComputed by us from the audit: cash $34.6M over (total expenses $40.3M less depreciation $10.5M)/365. FY2024 was the first, partial year of operation (opened March 2024; the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025), so the expense base is not a full year's.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 85FY2023p. 85
Days cash on hand424 daysNot disclosed
Total assets$477.7 million$441.2 million
Total liabilities$443.8 million$379.3 million
Long-term debt$0Not disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$36.4 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$340.7 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$33.9 million$61.9 million

Auditor: Grant Thornton LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 85

Occupancy

The 2025 filing does not report occupancy.

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-03 Community opened in March 2024 (Phase 1); Phase 2 opened September 2024 and the Life Centre was scheduled to open May 2025.p. 75
  • 2024 The $300M construction loan was paid off and terminated in 2024; $20M of an 11% subordinated loan from affiliate Mather Investments NFP remained outstanding at Dec 31, 2024, with $21.1M of accrued sub-debt interest.p. 91

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

The Mather is a high-rise life plan community in Tysons, Virginia, that opened in March 2024 with 293 independent living apartments plus assisted living, memory support and skilled nursing in its Life Centre. Residents pay a 90% refundable entrance fee (2025: $698,500 to $4,783,800) and choose either a life-care plan or a 90-day care benefit plan. The provider is a 50/50 partnership of a Mather nonprofit affiliate and a for-profit investor, and reported a $28.0M net loss in its first operating year.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.