Skip to content

Home › Compare

Matthews Glen and Windsor Run compared

Two North Carolina communities about 2 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureMatthews GlenWindsor Run
LocationMatthews, NCMatthews, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType A (life care)Type C (fee for service)
Entrance fee, one person$196,900 to $1,006,900p. 31p. 32$195,000 to $1,149,000p. 21
Monthly fee, independent living$2,906 to $7,437p. 30$2,989 to $6,028p. 17
Refund plansDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)p. 17390% Refund; Declining Balance Refund (0% after 48 months)p. 28p. 27
Highest guaranteed refund0% of the feep. 17390% of the feep. 28p. 27
When a refund is paidWithin a fixed number of daysp. 173In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees; Within a fixed number of daysp. 28p. 27
Days cash on hand256 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group). Figures are for the whole ACTS obligated group, which runs many communities. ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. alone (provider only) reports 257 days cash and 3.42x coverage for FY2025 (p45, p47). The group's $395.2M of unrestricted cash and investments (p40) is $74.0M more than cash plus board-designated funds on the balance sheet ($321.2M, p57); the document does not say what the difference is. On cash and board-designated funds alone, days cash ≈ 208 (cash operating expenses including interest, p58).27 days (FY2025)p. 3627 days counts only operating cash ($2.96M, p47). The balance sheet also holds $8.28M of resident capital cash (entrance fee and deposit money) not counted. The community has no long-term debt of its own, but its campus secures its parent Erickson Living Holdings' $2.2 billion credit facility, and it relies on member contributions ($55.7M in 2025) for construction.
Its lenders' minimumAt least 90 daysp. 46Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage3.31x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group). Figures are for the whole ACTS obligated group, which runs many communities. ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. alone (provider only) reports 257 days cash and 3.42x coverage for FY2025 (p45, p47). The group's $395.2M of unrestricted cash and investments (p40) is $74.0M more than cash plus board-designated funds on the balance sheet ($321.2M, p57); the document does not say what the difference is. On cash and board-designated funds alone, days cash ≈ 208 (cash operating expenses including interest, p58).Not disclosed in the 2026 filing27 days counts only operating cash ($2.96M, p47). The balance sheet also holds $8.28M of resident capital cash (entrance fee and deposit money) not counted. The community has no long-term debt of its own, but its campus secures its parent Erickson Living Holdings' $2.2 billion credit facility, and it relies on member contributions ($55.7M in 2025) for construction.
Independent living occupancy94.2% (2025)p. 2795.2% (2025)p. 13
Net position$229.4 million (FY2025)p. 57$129.7 million (FY2025)p. 47
Whose financesACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group), special-purpose combined; ratios for ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group)p. 57Windsor Run, LLCp. 47
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Baker Tilly US, LLPp. 57Unmodified (clean) opinion, RSM US LLPp. 47
Nursing care, CMS rating5 of 5 (CMS overall)No CMS record linked

What care costs later, in each contract

Matthews Glen

Type A (life care): Assisted living (OakBridge Terrace) and routine/skilled nursing (WillowBrooke Court) are provided as part of the Monthly Fee, so the monthly fee does not change on a move to a higher level of care. Ancillaries (medications, therapy, physician services, supplies) and a private nursing room can cost extra.p. 154

Windsor Run

Type C (fee for service): Fee-for-service: a resident who moves permanently to a Continuing Care bed pays the applicable per diem or Monthly Service Package for that level of care, and during a temporary transfer pays both the independent living fee (less a small non-occupancy credit) and the care unit's prorated fee. Residents have priority access to the Continuing Care beds; outside direct admissions pay a $2,500 non-refundable community fee.p. 78

Questions to ask both communities before you sign