Skip to content

Matthews Glen

733 Pavilion View Drive, Matthews, North Carolina 28105 · Community website

Operator:
ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1988

Provider is a Pennsylvania nonprofit whose sole member is ACTS Retirement Services, Inc.; day-to-day management by related ACTS Management Services, Inc.

  • Type A (life care)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$196,900 to $1,006,900p. 31p. 32

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,906 to $7,437p. 30

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

256 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 90.Figures for ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group)
Read the note on this figure

Figures are for the whole ACTS obligated group, which runs many communities. ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. alone (provider only) reports 257 days cash and 3.42x coverage for FY2025 (p45, p47). The group's $395.2M of unrestricted cash and investments (p40) is $74.0M more than cash plus board-designated funds on the balance sheet ($321.2M, p57); the document does not say what the difference is. On cash and board-designated funds alone, days cash ≈ 208 (cash operating expenses including interest, p58).

Independent living occupancy

94.2% (2025)p. 27

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

Assisted living (OakBridge Terrace) and routine/skilled nursing (WillowBrooke Court) are provided as part of the Monthly Fee, so the monthly fee does not change on a move to a higher level of care. Ancillaries (medications, therapy, physician services, supplies) and a private nursing room can cost extra.p. 154

Assisted living
Resident keeps paying the Monthly Fee of the independent living residence (subject to periodic increases); extra meals and services outside the Monthly Fee are charged.
Nursing care
Same: the residence's Monthly Fee continues in WillowBrooke Court (shared room; a private room may carry an additional fee); three meals a day are deducted from the Declining Balance Plan and charges beyond it are the resident's.
Units on campusp. 26
Independent living579
Assisted living96
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care90

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Resident Contract (Declining Balance) · Type A (life care) (17 prices, $196,900 to $1,006,900)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Summerfield (Studio)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$196,900 to $306,900p. 31$40,000
Lexington (1 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$268,900 to $419,900p. 31$40,000
Fletcher (1 Bedroom Deluxe)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$324,900 to $496,900p. 31$40,000
Clayton (2 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$360,900 to $561,900p. 31$40,000
Wilmington (2 Bedroom Deluxe)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$377,900 to $577,900p. 31$40,000
Thomasville (2 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$385,900 to $600,900p. 31$40,000
Holly Springs (3 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$435,900 to $679,900p. 31$40,000
Asheville (2 Bedroom with Den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$476,900 to $673,900p. 31$40,000
Cary (2 Bedroom with Den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$465,900 to $685,900p. 31$40,000
Highlands (3 Bedroom Deluxe)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$466,900 to $728,900p. 31$40,000
Pinehurst (2 Bedroom with Den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$526,900 to $742,900p. 31$40,000
Seagrove (2 Bedroom with Den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$544,900 to $769,900p. 31$40,000
Madison (3 Bedroom)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$515,900 to $742,900p. 31$40,000
Southern Pines (2 Bedroom with Den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$568,900 to $802,900p. 32$40,000
Raleigh Villa (2 Bedroom with Den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$585,900 to $826,900p. 32$40,000
Charlotte Villa (2 Bedroom with Den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$637,900 to $899,900p. 32$40,000
Belmont Villa (2 Bedroom with Den)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$713,900 to $1,006,900p. 32$40,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Resident Contract (Declining Balance) · Type A (life care) (17 prices, $2,906 to $7,437)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Summerfield (Studio)Independent living$2,906 to $3,736p. 30$2,267
Lexington (1 Bedroom)Independent living$3,181 to $4,090p. 30$2,267
Fletcher (1 Bedroom Deluxe)Independent living$3,423 to $4,400p. 30$2,267
Clayton (2 Bedroom)Independent living$3,722 to $4,785p. 30$2,267
Wilmington (2 Bedroom Deluxe)Independent living$4,140 to $5,322p. 30$2,267
Thomasville (2 Bedroom)Independent living$4,199 to $5,398p. 30$2,267
Holly Springs (3 Bedroom)Independent living$4,251 to $5,465p. 30$2,267
Asheville (2 Bedroom with Den)Independent living$4,488 to $5,770p. 30$2,267
Cary (2 Bedroom with Den)Independent living$4,408 to $5,667p. 30$2,267
Highlands (3 Bedroom Deluxe)Independent living$4,381 to $5,632p. 30$2,267
Pinehurst (2 Bedroom with Den)Independent living$4,782 to $6,148p. 30$2,267
Seagrove (2 Bedroom with Den)Independent living$4,950 to $6,365p. 30$2,267
Madison (3 Bedroom)Independent living$4,581 to $5,890p. 30$2,267
Southern Pines (2 Bedroom with Den)Independent living$5,098 to $6,554p. 30$2,267
Raleigh Villa (2 Bedroom with Den)Independent living$5,232 to $6,726p. 30$2,267
Charlotte Villa (2 Bedroom with Den)Independent living$5,532 to $7,112p. 30$2,267
Belmont Villa (2 Bedroom with Den)Independent living$5,784 to $7,437p. 30$2,267

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3.75%20212022: 4.5%20222023: 7.5%20232024: 4.65%20242025: 3.9%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units3.9%Percent onlyp. 31
2024Independent livingAll units4.65%Percent onlyp. 31
2023Independent livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 31
2022Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 31
2021Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 31

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)p. 173

A 5% Administrative Fee is kept; the remaining 95% falls by 2% a month from the first month after move-in and nothing is refundable after 50 months. Any refund is paid within 90 days after the contract ends and the residence is vacated, not tied to resale.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
3 months
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: within a fixed number of days. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Matthews Glen is part of ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group).
  • Balance sheet: ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group), special-purpose combined.
  • Ratios: ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. (Obligated Group).

Days cash on hand

256 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

3.31x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresFigures are for the whole ACTS obligated group, which runs many communities. ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, Inc. alone (provider only) reports 257 days cash and 3.42x coverage for FY2025 (p45, p47). The group's $395.2M of unrestricted cash and investments (p40) is $74.0M more than cash plus board-designated funds on the balance sheet ($321.2M, p57); the document does not say what the difference is. On cash and board-designated funds alone, days cash ≈ 208 (cash operating expenses including interest, p58).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 57FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand256 days244 days258 days
Debt service coverage3.31x3.41x3.27x
Operating margin-1.8%-4.1%-4.7%
Total assets$2.41 billion$2.26 billionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$2.19 billion$2.07 billionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$888.6 million$802.4 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$1.11 billion$1.06 billionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$6.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$229.4 million$191.0 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Baker Tilly US, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 57

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 272024p. 272023p. 272022p. 272021p. 27
Independent living94.2%94.1%95.4%92%91.8%
Assisted living89.2%79.7%75.8%66.1%56.7%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care85.2%79.6%86.6%85.5%74.7%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-03 Mease Life, Inc., a Florida nonprofit under common control, was admitted to the ACTS obligated group on March 27, 2025; the 2024 group financial statements were restated to include it.p. 54

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 6. Willowbrooke Court SC Ctr at Matthews Glen on Care Compare

In brief

Matthews Glen in Matthews, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community run by ACTS Retirement-Life Communities, with 579 independent living units, 96 assisted living units and 90 skilled nursing beds. Its one contract keeps the monthly fee unchanged on a move to assisted living or nursing; 2026 entrance fees run from $196,900 to $1,006,900 and amortize to no refund after 50 months. Finances are reported for the ACTS obligated group as a whole.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.