Home › Compare
Patriots Colony and Williamsburg Landing compared
Two Virginia communities about 5 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Patriots Colony | Williamsburg Landing |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Williamsburg, VA | Williamsburg, VA |
| Filing used | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF | 2023 statement, fiscal 2022 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $177,629 to $912,827p. 43p. 42 | $48,067 to $1,054,547p. 27p. 25 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $3,242 to $7,920p. 42 | $4,195 to $6,450p. 26p. 25 |
| Refund plans | Plan 0 (Declining Refund); Plan 50; Plan 95p. 69p. 70 | 0% Refundable; 50% Refundable; 70% Refundable; 90% Refundable; AL 0% Refundable; AL 50% Refundable; MC 0% Refundable; MC 50% Refundablep. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 95% of the feep. 69p. 70 | 90% of the feep. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 69p. 70 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid; Within a fixed number of daysp. 43p. 91p. 90p. 128 |
| Days cash on hand | 987 days (FY2024, calculated)p. 204Figures for Patriots Colony, Inc. Computed from Patriots Colony's column in Riverside Health's audited consolidating schedules: cash $14K + investments $73.5M over cash operating expenses ($31.8M less $4.7M depreciation). Excludes $25.6M due from affiliates. The disclosure narrative (p29) cites an $85M investment balance, which the schedule does not show. | 340 days (FY2022, interim)p. 269 |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing | At least 120 daysp. 269 |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for Patriots Colony, Inc. Computed from Patriots Colony's column in Riverside Health's audited consolidating schedules: cash $14K + investments $73.5M over cash operating expenses ($31.8M less $4.7M depreciation). Excludes $25.6M due from affiliates. The disclosure narrative (p29) cites an $85M investment balance, which the schedule does not show. | 2.31x (FY2022, interim)p. 269 |
| Independent living occupancy | 97% (2024)p. 40 | 89.8% (2022)p. 269 |
| Net position | $94.5 million (FY2024)p. 204 | −$54.3 million (FY2022)p. 234 |
| Whose finances | Patriots Colony, Inc. (column in Riverside Health consolidating schedules); ratios for Patriots Colony, Inc.p. 204 | Williamsburg Landing, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated); ratios for Williamsburg Landing, Inc.p. 234 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, KPMG LLPp. 204 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 234 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | 3 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Patriots Colony
Type B (modified): LifeCare residents get up to 10 temporary days of assisted living or nursing care at no charge over the life of the agreement. On a permanent move to the Health Center they give up their residence and pay a single published Resident Health Care Rate ($4,520 or $5,179 a month in 2025, by fee choice) instead of public rates; the contract lets that rate change.p. 92
Type C (fee for service): Residence and Services residents pay the public rate for any temporary or permanent Health Center stay, with guaranteed priority over non-residents.p. 26
Williamsburg Landing
Type B (modified): Independent living, direct-admission assisted living and direct-admission memory support agreements each include up to 10 days of nursing-center care per calendar year (non-cumulative; they end after the year of a permanent nursing transfer). Beyond that, nursing, assisted living and memory support are paid at Williamsburg Landing's own rates; residents are offered nursing beds before non-residents.p. 40