Skip to content

Carolina Meadows Retirement Community

100 Whippoorwill Lane, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27517 · Community website

Operator:
Carolina Meadows, Inc. (managed by its parent, Carolina Meadows Senior Communities and Services, Inc.)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1985
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$154,700 to $925,100p. 103

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,687 to $4,849p. 103

Refund plans offered

  • 75% RefundNever less than 75% of the fee
  • Equity Advantage RefundTerms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

433 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 150.Figures for Carolina Meadows, Inc. (provider only)
Read the note on this figure

The 433 days appears to count the $11.6M NC operating reserve and $5.4M board-designated for unit deposits (assets limited as to use, p72) as well as cash and unrestricted investments. Carolina Meadows, Inc.'s cash ($7.2M) and unrestricted investments ($32.4M) alone, on 2025 expenses less depreciation (p86, p88), are about 297 days. The negative net position reflects $196.2M of refundable advance fees carried as a liability.

Independent living occupancy

96.2% (2025)p. 23

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Assisted living, memory care and skilled nursing are available on campus and are paid for at the then-current rates; no included days or discount are described. A move to another level of care does not end the agreement or trigger an entrance fee refund.p. 25

Assisted living
Charged separately at Carolina Meadows' rates: $8,973-$10,098 a month single in assisted living and $11,467 in memory care (2026), daily per diems $295-$475.
Nursing care
Charged separately at $13,200-$13,900 a month (2026 daily rates $434 semi-private, $457 private).
Units on campusp. 22
Independent living476
Assisted living80
Memory care15
Nursing care90

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement with 75% Refund Option · Type C (fee for service) (24 prices, $154,700 to $925,100)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Hybrid Home Redwood (Two bedroom with den)2,32075% Refund$925,100p. 103$15,800
Hybrid Home Poplar (Two bedroom with den)2,32975% Refund$865,500p. 103$15,800
Hybrid Home Laurel (Two bedroom with den)2,19275% Refund$816,800p. 103$15,800
Hybrid Home Aspen (Two bedroom with den)2,08275% Refund$783,500p. 103$15,800
Villa Montgomery (Two bedroom with den)2,21375% Refund$840,400p. 103$15,800
Villa Madison (Two bedroom)2,01175% Refund$766,600p. 103$15,800
Villa Hanover (Two bedroom)1,89875% Refund$725,600p. 103$15,800
Villa Caldwell (Two bedroom)1,74175% Refund$673,300p. 103$15,800
Villa Regent (Two bedroom with den)1,82275% Refund$670,200p. 103$15,800
Villa Fairfax (Two bedroom)1,77575% Refund$654,000p. 103$15,800
Villa Manchester (Two bedroom)1,72275% Refund$634,400p. 103$15,800
Villa Chatham (Two bedroom)1,65675% Refund$582,500p. 103$15,800
Villa Davidson (Two bedroom with den)1,58475% Refund$533,000p. 103$15,800
Villa Brunswick (Two bedroom)1,56675% Refund$508,700p. 103$15,800
Villa Cumberland (Two bedroom)1,50275% Refund$485,900p. 103$15,800
Villa Albemarle (One bedroom with den)1,18075% Refund$371,900p. 103$15,800
Apartment Kinston (Two bedroom with den)1,60775% Refund$451,800p. 103$15,800
Apartment Kinston Extended (Two bedroom expanded)1,43475% Refund$399,500p. 103$15,800
Apartment Halifax (Two bedroom)1,31275% Refund$363,100p. 103$15,800
Apartment Julian (Two bedroom with den)1,30275% Refund$361,400p. 103$15,800
Apartment Iredell (Two bedroom)1,18775% Refund$321,800p. 103$15,800
Apartment Forsyth (One bedroom with den)1,00775% Refund$247,400p. 103$15,800
Apartment Lenoir (One bedroom expanded)79075% Refund$175,600p. 103$15,800
Apartment Edgecombe (One bedroom)71775% Refund$154,700p. 103$15,800
Residence and Services Agreement with Equity Advantage Refund · Type C (fee for service) (24 prices, $154,700 to $925,100)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Hybrid Home Redwood (Two bedroom with den)2,320Equity Advantage Refund$925,100p. 103$15,800
Hybrid Home Poplar (Two bedroom with den)2,329Equity Advantage Refund$865,500p. 103$15,800
Hybrid Home Laurel (Two bedroom with den)2,192Equity Advantage Refund$816,800p. 103$15,800
Hybrid Home Aspen (Two bedroom with den)2,082Equity Advantage Refund$783,500p. 103$15,800
Villa Montgomery (Two bedroom with den)2,213Equity Advantage Refund$840,400p. 103$15,800
Villa Madison (Two bedroom)2,011Equity Advantage Refund$766,600p. 103$15,800
Villa Hanover (Two bedroom)1,898Equity Advantage Refund$725,600p. 103$15,800
Villa Caldwell (Two bedroom)1,741Equity Advantage Refund$673,300p. 103$15,800
Villa Regent (Two bedroom with den)1,822Equity Advantage Refund$670,200p. 103$15,800
Villa Fairfax (Two bedroom)1,775Equity Advantage Refund$654,000p. 103$15,800
Villa Manchester (Two bedroom)1,722Equity Advantage Refund$634,400p. 103$15,800
Villa Chatham (Two bedroom)1,656Equity Advantage Refund$582,500p. 103$15,800
Villa Davidson (Two bedroom with den)1,584Equity Advantage Refund$533,000p. 103$15,800
Villa Brunswick (Two bedroom)1,566Equity Advantage Refund$508,700p. 103$15,800
Villa Cumberland (Two bedroom)1,502Equity Advantage Refund$485,900p. 103$15,800
Villa Albemarle (One bedroom with den)1,180Equity Advantage Refund$371,900p. 103$15,800
Apartment Kinston (Two bedroom with den)1,607Equity Advantage Refund$451,800p. 103$15,800
Apartment Kinston Extended (Two bedroom expanded)1,434Equity Advantage Refund$399,500p. 103$15,800
Apartment Halifax (Two bedroom)1,312Equity Advantage Refund$363,100p. 103$15,800
Apartment Julian (Two bedroom with den)1,302Equity Advantage Refund$361,400p. 103$15,800
Apartment Iredell (Two bedroom)1,187Equity Advantage Refund$321,800p. 103$15,800
Apartment Forsyth (One bedroom with den)1,007Equity Advantage Refund$247,400p. 103$15,800
Apartment Lenoir (One bedroom expanded)790Equity Advantage Refund$175,600p. 103$15,800
Apartment Edgecombe (One bedroom)717Equity Advantage Refund$154,700p. 103$15,800

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement with 75% Refund Option · Type C (fee for service) (27 prices, $3,687 to $13,900)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Hybrid Home Redwood (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,849p. 103$1,215
Hybrid Home Poplar (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,733p. 103$1,215
Hybrid Home Laurel (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,680p. 103$1,215
Hybrid Home Aspen (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,659p. 103$1,215
Villa Montgomery (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,640p. 103$1,215
Villa Madison (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,561p. 103$1,215
Villa Hanover (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,550p. 103$1,215
Villa Caldwell (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,494p. 103$1,215
Villa Regent (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,460p. 103$1,215
Villa Fairfax (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,385p. 103$1,215
Villa Manchester (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,383p. 103$1,215
Villa Chatham (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,373p. 103$1,215
Villa Davidson (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,350p. 103$1,215
Villa Brunswick (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,349p. 103$1,215
Villa Cumberland (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,341p. 103$1,215
Villa Albemarle (One bedroom with den)Independent living$4,277p. 103$1,215
Apartment Kinston (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,288p. 103$1,215
Apartment Kinston Extended (Two bedroom expanded)Independent living$4,261p. 103$1,215
Apartment Halifax (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,228p. 103$1,215
Apartment Julian (Two bedroom with den)Independent living$4,228p. 103$1,215
Apartment Iredell (Two bedroom)Independent living$4,178p. 103$1,215
Apartment Forsyth (One bedroom with den)Independent living$3,828p. 103$1,215
Apartment Lenoir (One bedroom expanded)Independent living$3,799p. 103$1,215
Apartment Edgecombe (One bedroom)Independent living$3,687p. 103$1,215
Assisted LivingAssisted living$8,973 to $10,098p. 28Not listed
Memory CareMemory care$11,467p. 28Not listed
Skilled NursingNursing care$13,200 to $13,900p. 28Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3.25%20212022: 3.4%20222023: 6%20232024: 4.85%20242025: 4.5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 28
2024Independent livingAll units4.85%Percent onlyp. 28
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 28
2022Independent livingAll units3.4%Percent onlyp. 29
2021Independent livingAll units3.25%Percent onlyp. 29

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

75% Refundp. 32

A 1% administrative fee is kept, and the refundable amount drops by 2% of the original fee for each month of the first year, leaving a guaranteed 75% refund after 12 months. It is paid within 60 days after a new resident takes financial occupancy of your residence or 24 months after termination, whichever comes first; the second-person fee is not refundable.

Kept on move-in
1% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 12 months
Never less than
75% of the fee
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Equity Advantage Refundp. 193

Your refund is the original entrance fee plus 50% of any appreciation, or minus 100% of any depreciation, measured against the residence's current entrance fee after a 6% remarketing fee and refurbishment and damage costs. There is no guaranteed minimum. It is paid after a new resident occupies the residence or 24 months after termination, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $116,025 (75% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Carolina Meadows Retirement Community is part of Carolina Meadows Senior Communities & Services, Inc. and Affiliates (Obligated Group: Carolina Meadows, Inc. and Carolina Meadows Senior Communities and Services, Inc.).
  • Balance sheet: Carolina Meadows, Inc. (column of the consolidating balance sheet of Carolina Meadows Senior Communities & Services, Inc. and Affiliates).
  • Ratios: Carolina Meadows, Inc. (provider only).

Days cash on hand

433 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

15.82x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe 433 days appears to count the $11.6M NC operating reserve and $5.4M board-designated for unit deposits (assets limited as to use, p72) as well as cash and unrestricted investments. Carolina Meadows, Inc.'s cash ($7.2M) and unrestricted investments ($32.4M) alone, on 2025 expenses less depreciation (p86, p88), are about 297 days. The negative net position reflects $196.2M of refundable advance fees carried as a liability.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 87FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand433 days407 days390 days
Debt service coverage15.82x12.35x13.55x
Operating margin9.3%8.1%13.4%
Total assets$260.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$307.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$85.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$5.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$196.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$46.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 87

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 232024p. 232023p. 232022p. 232021p. 23
Independent living96.2%96.1%96.1%95.2%97.3%
Assisted living91.5%90%85.6%87.2%89.3%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care85.2%83.6%85.6%80.7%73.7%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-12 The actuary found Carolina Meadows in satisfactory actuarial balance as of December 31, 2025 with a qualification regarding surplus and contingency margins (funded status 97.3% against a 100% minimum); as of December 31, 2024 it was not in satisfactory actuarial balance.p. 143
  • 2024-07 Issued $76,170,000 of Series 2024 Retirement Facilities First Mortgage Revenue Bonds through the North Carolina Medical Care Commission to build a replacement 90-bed nursing facility, scheduled for completion in September 2026.p. 76

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Carolina Meadows Retirement Community in Chapel Hill, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community opened in 1985 on about 166 acres, with 476 independent living residences, 95 licensed assisted living beds (15 for memory care) and 90 licensed skilled nursing beds. Entrance fees run from $154,700 to $925,100 in 2026 under a 75% refund plan or an appreciation-sharing Equity Advantage plan, and assisted living and nursing are charged at their own rates.PDF

Also in Chapel Hill

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.