Skip to content

The Cedars of Chapel Hill

100 Cedar Club Circle, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27517 · Community website

Operator:
The Cedars of Chapel Hill Club, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2004

Members buy their homes as condominiums; the Clubhouse and DuBose Health Center are common property owned through The Cedars of Chapel Hill Condominium Association. The Club (a 501(c)(4) nonprofit) provides services; The Cedars of Chapel Hill, LLC (investor-owned sponsor/developer) is the manager and is paid 10% of annual operating costs; Life Care Services employs the Executive Director and Health Center Administrator.

  • Equity

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Purchase + membership fee

Monthly fee, independent living

$5,255 to $6,940p. 20

Refund plans offered

None: residents buy their homes

Days cash on hand

88.1 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Days cash counts restricted cash held as the NC statutory operating reserve (FS-1 note 1, p2). Unrestricted cash alone was $445,499 at 12/31/2025, about 9 days of 2025 expenses. Section 29.1 (p26) states 81 days at year-end, which FS-1 shows for FY2024.

Independent living occupancy

100% (2025)p. 16

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Equity: You buy your unit.

How the contract types compare

EquityThe filing calls it Membership Agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Each Member gets 90 cumulative lifetime days of assisted living or nursing in DuBose Health Center without extra charge beyond the Monthly Payment, meals and supplies. After that the Member pays the Member rate in addition to the Monthly Payment, and keeps Member rates even if the home is sold; if DuBose has no bed, the Club pays any increased charge at another facility.p. 120

Assisted living
First 90 lifetime days: Monthly Payment plus two extra meals a day and supplies; after that, the Member assisted living rate ($6,000/month semi-private) on top of the Monthly Payment
Nursing care
First 90 lifetime days: Monthly Payment plus two extra meals a day and supplies; after that, the Member skilled nursing rate ($7,200/month semi-private) on top of the Monthly Payment
Care days included
90
Units on campusp. 15
Independent living306
Assisted living4
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care64

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residents buy their homes here rather than pay an entrance fee.

Residents buy a condominium home at a price negotiated with the seller (Table 21.2 'Market determined', p21) and pay a non-refundable, non-transferable Membership Fee equal to 10% of the purchase price of the home, due at or before closing (p23, Section 24.1 item 2), plus a non-refundable $15,000 operating funds deposit (p23); there is no entrance fee and nothing is refunded (Section 22, p22). A second person added later pays a Membership Fee of 10% of the home's fair market value (p22). The Membership Agreement includes 90 lifetime cumulative days of assisted living or nursing care with no extra charge beyond the Monthly Payment, two extra meals a day and supplies; after that the Member pays the Member health-center rate in addition to the Monthly Payment (p120).PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Membership Agreement · Equity (4 prices, $5,255 to $7,200)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living – ApartmentIndependent living$5,255p. 20$1,878
Independent Living – CottageIndependent living$6,940p. 20Not listed
Assisted Living (semi-private)Assisted living$6,000p. 20$6,000
Skilled Nursing (semi-private)Nursing care$7,200p. 20$6,000

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3.9%20212022: 8.2%20222023: 5%20232024: 4%20242025: 3.5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units3.5%Percent onlyp. 21
2024Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 21
2023Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 21
2022Independent livingAll units8.2%Percent onlyp. 21
2021Independent livingAll units3.9%Percent onlyp. 21

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents buy their homes, and the membership fee terms are under Entrance fees.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: The Cedars of Chapel Hill Club, Inc.

Days cash on hand

88.1 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Read with these figuresDays cash counts restricted cash held as the NC statutory operating reserve (FS-1 note 1, p2). Unrestricted cash alone was $445,499 at 12/31/2025, about 9 days of 2025 expenses. Section 29.1 (p26) states 81 days at year-end, which FS-1 shows for FY2024.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 38FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand88.1 days81 days72.7 days
Total assets$11.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$4.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$6.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Hawley, C.P.A., P.A.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 38

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 162024p. 162023p. 162022p. 162021p. 16
Independent living100%100%100%100%100%
Assisted living100%100%100%100%100%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care89%86%86%88%71%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
No rating
Quality measures
1 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 3. The Cedars of Chapel Hill on Care Compare

In brief

The Cedars of Chapel Hill is a condominium continuing care community: residents buy their homes at market price and pay a non-refundable Membership Fee of 10% of the price, with no entrance fee. It had 306 independent homes plus 4 assisted living and 64 nursing beds in use at the end of 2025, with independent living at 100% occupancy. Membership includes 90 lifetime days of health-center care, after which Member rates apply on top of the monthly payment.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.