Skip to content

Carol Woods

750 Weaver Dairy Rd, Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27514 · Community website

Operator:
The Chapel Hill Residential Retirement Center, Inc. (d/b/a Carol Woods)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1979
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$116,600 to $671,700p. 196

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,905 to $6,858p. 189p. 188

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

690 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The reported 690 days counts the $8.76M statutory operating reserve: Carol Woods' own cash ($0.58M) + investments ($53.62M) + the reserve ($8.76M) = the $62.95M of 'unrestricted cash and investments' the statement cites (p42, p91). Cash and investments alone ($54.2M) on 2025 expenses less depreciation are about 593 days for Carol Woods alone (p91-93) and about 586 days consolidated (p61-62).

Independent living occupancy

95.6% (2025)p. 23

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Each resident accrues 15 Free Days a year, which accumulate without limit and cover the discounted daily charge. Beyond them, residents pay a daily rate that the projections describe as discounted roughly 60-70% from the non-resident rate, plus the monthly fee.p. 145

Assisted living
Leveled HLOS monthly fee ($2,920) plus a discounted daily rate: $105.50-$139.50 a day in assisted living and $123-$137 a day in assisted nursing (2026), against $282-$460 for non-residents; about $6,085-$7,105 a month before Free Days.
Nursing care
HLOS monthly fee plus $134 (semi-private) or $145 (private) a day in 2026, about $6,940-$7,270 a month, against $484-$499 a day for non-residents.
Care days included
15
Units on campusp. 21
Independent living315
Assisted living89
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care30

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (26 prices, $116,600 to $671,700)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment - StudioDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$116,600 to $121,000p. 196Not listed
Apartment - One Bedroom SmallDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$203,500 to $207,900p. 196$48,600
Apartment - One BedroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$214,900 to $219,300p. 196$48,600
Apartment - One Bedroom LargeDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$243,900p. 196$48,600
Apartment - Two BedroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$303,200p. 196$48,600
Apartment - Two Bedroom LargeDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$355,900p. 196$48,600
Apartment - Two Bedroom XLDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$390,100 to $394,500p. 196$48,600
Apartment - Two Bedroom w/DenDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$444,800p. 196$48,600
Apartment - Two Bedroom w/Den LargeDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$460,200p. 196$48,600
Apartment - Two Bedroom w/Den XLDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$471,000p. 196$48,600
Cottage - One BedroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$209,800 to $218,600p. 196$48,600
Cottage - One Bedroom w/SunroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$209,800 to $218,600p. 196$48,600
Cottage - One Bedroom w/DenDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$261,300 to $270,100p. 196$48,600
Cottage - One Bedroom w/Den & Carolina RoomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$332,500p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two BedroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$315,000 to $323,800p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two Bedroom w/SunroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$315,000p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two Bedroom w/Carolina RoomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$383,400 to $392,200p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two Bedroom w/DenDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$361,600 to $370,400p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two Bedroom w/Den & SunroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$361,600p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two Bedroom w/Den & Carolina RoomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$430,500 to $439,300p. 196$48,600
Cottage - One Bedroom DuplexDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$450,000 to $461,000p. 196$48,600
Cottage - One Bedroom Duplex w/DenDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$450,000 to $461,000p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two Bedroom Duplex w/SunroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$450,000 to $523,500p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two Bedroom Duplex w/DenDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$523,500 to $544,400p. 196$48,600
Cottage - Two Bedroom w/Den & Sunroom (listed last under Cottages)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$636,000p. 196$48,600
TownhomesDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$373,200 to $671,700p. 196$48,600

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (34 prices, $2,905 to $7,270)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Garden Cottage 1 BRIndependent living$4,020p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 1 BR w DenIndependent living$4,225 to $4,384p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 1 BR w SunroomIndependent living$4,362 to $4,501p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 1 BR w Den/SunroomIndependent living$4,588 to $4,930p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 1 BR w Den/Carolina RoomIndependent living$5,308p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BRIndependent living$5,049p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR w Sunroom1Independent living$5,391p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR w DenIndependent living$5,509p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR w Sunroom2Independent living$5,529p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR w Carolina RoomIndependent living$5,624p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR w Den w SunroomIndependent living$5,851 to $5,990p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR w Den/Carolina RoomIndependent living$5,910p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 1 BR DuplexIndependent living$6,053p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 1 BR Duplex w DenIndependent living$6,395p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR Duplex w DenIndependent living$6,341p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR Duplex w SunroomIndependent living$6,683p. 188$1,577
Garden Cottage 2 BR Duplex w Den SunroomIndependent living$6,858p. 188$1,577
Central Apartment StudioIndependent living$2,905p. 189Not listed
Central Apartment Studio ExpandedIndependent living$2,968p. 189Not listed
Central Apartment 1 BR SmallIndependent living$3,898p. 189$1,577
Central Apartment 1 BRIndependent living$4,082p. 189$1,577
Central Apartment 1 BR LargeIndependent living$4,226p. 189$1,577
Central Apartment 2 BRIndependent living$5,127p. 189$1,577
Central Apartment 2 BR LargeIndependent living$5,433p. 189$1,577
Central Apartment 2 BR Extra LargeIndependent living$5,657p. 189$1,577
Central Apartment 2 BR w DenIndependent living$5,987p. 189$1,577
Central Apartment 2 BR w Den LargeIndependent living$6,143p. 189$1,577
Central Apartment 2 BR w Den Extra LargeIndependent living$6,225p. 189$1,577
TownhomesIndependent living$5,542 to $6,858p. 189$1,577
Assisted Living Building 5 (base level), Unit Types 1-5Assisted living$6,085 to $7,105p. 191Not listed
Assisted Living Building 6/7, base level of careAssisted living$6,280p. 191Not listed
Assisted Nursing (Building 4 semi-private/private; Building 6/7)Assisted living$6,610 to $7,030p. 191Not listed
Skilled Nursing Building 4, semi-privateNursing care$6,940p. 191Not listed
Skilled Nursing Building 4, privateNursing care$7,270p. 191Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 1.5%20212022: 2.9%20222023: 4.5%20232024: 4%20242025: 4%20252026: 6.5%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units6.5%Percent onlyp. 28
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 28
2024Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 28
2023Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 28
2022Independent livingAll units2.9%Percent onlyp. 28
2021Independent livingAll units1.5%Percent onlyp. 28
2026Assisted livingAll units9.9%Percent onlyp. 28
2026Nursing careAll units9.9%Percent onlyp. 28
2025Assisted livingAll units4.1%Percent onlyp. 28
2025Nursing careAll units4.1%Percent onlyp. 28
2024Assisted livingAll units5.2%Percent onlyp. 28
2024Nursing careAll units5.2%Percent onlyp. 28
2023Assisted livingAll units3.6%Percent onlyp. 28
2023Nursing careAll units3.6%Percent onlyp. 28
2022Assisted livingAll units3.2%Percent onlyp. 28
2022Nursing careAll units3.2%Percent onlyp. 28
2021Assisted livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 28
2021Nursing careAll units0%Percent onlyp. 28

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)p. 152

The 4% Acceptance Fee is kept from the start, and the refund falls by 2% of the entry fee for each month of residency; after 50 months nothing is refundable. Any refund is paid within 30 days after a new resident has paid a full entry fee for your residence, and nothing is refunded on a move to assisted living or nursing.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: The Chapel Hill Residential Retirement Center, Inc. (Carol Woods) and The Carol Woods Charitable Fund, Inc. (consolidated).
  • Ratios: Carol Woods (provider only, sole member of the obligated group).

Days cash on hand

690 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

1.47x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe reported 690 days counts the $8.76M statutory operating reserve: Carol Woods' own cash ($0.58M) + investments ($53.62M) + the reserve ($8.76M) = the $62.95M of 'unrestricted cash and investments' the statement cites (p42, p91). Cash and investments alone ($54.2M) on 2025 expenses less depreciation are about 593 days for Carol Woods alone (p91-93) and about 586 days consolidated (p61-62).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 61FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 51
Days cash on hand690 days617 days664 days
Debt service coverage1.47x3.28x2.52x
Operating margin-12%-9.6%-9.7%
Total assets$158.7 million$130.4 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$116.7 million$92.4 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$58.4 million$26.4 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$52.2 million$53.6 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$42.0 million$38.0 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 61

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 232024p. 232023p. 232022p. 232021p. 23
Independent living95.6%96.5%96.3%96.7%96.7%
Assisted living79.5%85.3%82.3%86.3%90.9%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care66.5%62%58%61.9%60%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-11 Entered a $34,000,000 Series 2025 bond financing with the North Carolina Medical Care Commission to fund campus capital projects (including the dining expansion) and refinance a construction loan; the bonds amortize through December 2055.p. 82

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 5. Carol Woods on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 1988. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Carol Woods in Chapel Hill, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community on 120 acres with 315 independent living residences, 89 assisted living accommodations and 30 skilled nursing beds. It offers one declining-balance contract (entry fees from $116,600 to $671,700 in 2026, no refund after 50 months) with 15 accumulating free days a year and discounted daily rates for assisted living and nursing, plus an Early Acceptance continuing-care-at-home program.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.