Skip to content

Covenant Woods

7090 Covenant Woods Drive, Mechanicsville, Virginia 23111

Operator:
Covenant Woods
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
  • Type A (life care)
  • Type C (fee for service)
  • Rental

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$233,200 to $1,381,311p. 12

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,202 to $7,975p. 13

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (Full Life Care)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)Never less than 42% of the fee
  • 90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)Never less than 82% of the fee
  • Fee for Service (declining refund)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

397 (FY2025)p. 23Its lenders require at least 150.

Independent living occupancy

91.3% (2025)p. 49

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.
  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

Lifecare residents keep paying their independent-living monthly fee (plus a meal charge) when they move to assisted living, memory support or nursing.p. 56

Assisted living
Monthly Service Fee does not change on transfer, plus a $450/month Health & Wellness meal charge.
Nursing care
Same Monthly Service Fee plus the $450/month meal charge.

Type C (fee for service)

Fee for Service residents stop paying the independent-living monthly fee and pay the daily rate for the level of care they need.p. 14

Assisted living
Daily fee: $253 assisted living, $294 memory support (from 4/1/2025).
Nursing care
Daily fee: $412 private nursing (from 4/1/2025).
Units on campusp. 9
Independent living231
Assisted living39
Memory care21
Nursing care62

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Lifecare · Type A (life care) (78 prices, $291,500 to $1,381,311)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Rowan/Primrose/Bayberry — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$291,500p. 12$99,600
Rowan/Primrose/Bayberry — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$408,100p. 12$136,800
Rowan/Primrose/Bayberry — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$539,275p. 12$189,600
Hawthorn — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$372,712p. 12$99,600
Hawthorn — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$521,797p. 12$136,800
Hawthorn — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$689,517p. 12$189,600
Laurel — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$416,566p. 12$99,600
Laurel — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$583,193p. 12$136,800
Laurel — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$770,647p. 12$189,600
Laurel Deluxe — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$459,737p. 12$99,600
Laurel Deluxe — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$643,632p. 12$136,800
Laurel Deluxe — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$850,515p. 12$189,600
Aster — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$428,306p. 12$99,600
Aster — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$599,628p. 12$136,800
Aster — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$792,365p. 12$189,600
Camellia — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$491,927p. 12$99,600
Camellia — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$688,697p. 12$136,800
Camellia — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$910,064p. 12$189,600
Cypress — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$499,500p. 12$99,600
Cypress — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$699,301p. 12$136,800
Cypress — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$924,076p. 12$189,600
Holly — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$498,743p. 12$99,600
Holly — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$698,240p. 12$136,800
Holly — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$922,675p. 12$189,600
Holly II — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$498,743p. 12$99,600
Holly II — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$698,240p. 12$136,800
Holly II — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$922,675p. 12$189,600
Willow — Apartments (The Manor)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$504,424p. 12$99,600
Willow — Apartments (The Manor)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$706,193p. 12$136,800
Willow — Apartments (The Manor)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$933,184p. 12$189,600
Iris — Apartments (The Lodge)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$385,627p. 12$99,600
Iris — Apartments (The Lodge)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$539,878p. 12$136,800
Iris — Apartments (The Lodge)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$713,411p. 12$189,600
Azalea — Apartments (The Lodge)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$465,796p. 12$99,600
Azalea — Apartments (The Lodge)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$652,115p. 12$136,800
Azalea — Apartments (The Lodge)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$861,724p. 12$189,600
Violet — Apartments (The Lodge)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$505,938p. 12$99,600
Violet — Apartments (The Lodge)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$708,314p. 12$136,800
Violet — Apartments (The Lodge)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$935,986p. 12$189,600
Sage — Apartments (The Lodge)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$564,101p. 12$99,600
Sage — Apartments (The Lodge)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$789,741p. 12$136,800
Sage — Apartments (The Lodge)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,043,585p. 12$189,600
Wisteria — Apartments (The Lodge)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$610,401p. 12$99,600
Wisteria — Apartments (The Lodge)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$854,563p. 12$136,800
Wisteria — Apartments (The Lodge)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,129,242p. 12$189,600
Heather — Apartments (The Lodge)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$615,382p. 12$99,600
Heather — Apartments (The Lodge)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$861,534p. 12$136,800
Heather — Apartments (The Lodge)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,139,556p. 12$189,600
Hyacinth — Apartments (The Lodge)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$621,842p. 12$99,600
Hyacinth — Apartments (The Lodge)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$870,579p. 12$136,800
Hyacinth — Apartments (The Lodge)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,150,408p. 12$189,600
Garden Hyacinth — Apartments (The Lodge)Declining Balance (Full Life Care)$569,938p. 12$99,600
Garden Hyacinth — Apartments (The Lodge)50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$797,914p. 12$136,800
Garden Hyacinth — Apartments (The Lodge)90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,054,385p. 12$189,600
Bartlett — CottagesDeclining Balance (Full Life Care)$584,434p. 12$99,600
Bartlett — Cottages50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$818,209p. 12$136,800
Bartlett — Cottages90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,081,204p. 12$189,600
Cortland — CottagesDeclining Balance (Full Life Care)$630,105p. 12$99,600
Cortland — Cottages50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$882,148p. 12$136,800
Cortland — Cottages90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,165,695p. 12$189,600
York — CottagesDeclining Balance (Full Life Care)$681,969p. 12$99,600
York — Cottages50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$954,757p. 12$136,800
York — Cottages90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,260,543p. 12$189,600
Magnolia — CottagesDeclining Balance (Full Life Care)$746,655p. 12$99,600
Magnolia — Cottages50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,045,316p. 12$136,800
Magnolia — Cottages90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,381,311p. 12$189,600
Mulberry — CottagesDeclining Balance (Full Life Care)$588,305p. 12$99,600
Mulberry — Cottages50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$823,627p. 12$136,800
Mulberry — Cottages90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,088,364p. 12$189,600
Spruce — CottagesDeclining Balance (Full Life Care)$661,844p. 12$99,600
Spruce — Cottages50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$926,581p. 12$136,800
Spruce — Cottages90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,224,410p. 12$189,600
Poplar — CottagesDeclining Balance (Full Life Care)$690,872p. 12$99,600
Poplar — Cottages50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$967,220p. 12$136,800
Poplar — Cottages90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,278,112p. 12$189,600
Hickory — CottagesDeclining Balance (Full Life Care)$717,965p. 12$99,600
Hickory — Cottages50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,005,150p. 12$136,800
Hickory — Cottages90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)$1,328,234p. 12$189,600
Fee for Service · Type C (fee for service) (26 prices, $233,200 to $656,723)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Rowan/Primrose/Bayberry — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$233,200p. 12$64,800
Hawthorn — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$298,169p. 12$64,800
Laurel — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$333,253p. 12$64,800
Laurel Deluxe — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$367,789p. 12$64,800
Aster — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$342,645p. 12$64,800
Camellia — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$393,542p. 12$64,800
Cypress — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$399,600p. 12$64,800
Holly — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$398,994p. 12$64,800
Holly II — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$398,994p. 12$64,800
Willow — Apartments (The Manor)Fee for Service (declining refund)$403,539p. 12$64,800
Iris — Apartments (The Lodge)Fee for Service (declining refund)$308,502p. 12$64,800
Azalea — Apartments (The Lodge)Fee for Service (declining refund)$372,637p. 12$64,800
Violet — Apartments (The Lodge)Fee for Service (declining refund)$404,751p. 12$64,800
Sage — Apartments (The Lodge)Fee for Service (declining refund)$451,281p. 12$64,800
Wisteria — Apartments (The Lodge)Fee for Service (declining refund)$488,321p. 12$64,800
Heather — Apartments (The Lodge)Fee for Service (declining refund)$492,305p. 12$64,800
Hyacinth — Apartments (The Lodge)Fee for Service (declining refund)$497,474p. 12$64,800
Garden Hyacinth — Apartments (The Lodge)Fee for Service (declining refund)$455,950p. 12$64,800
Bartlett — CottagesFee for Service (declining refund)$467,547p. 12$64,800
Cortland — CottagesFee for Service (declining refund)$504,085p. 12$64,800
York — CottagesFee for Service (declining refund)$545,576p. 12$64,800
Magnolia — CottagesFee for Service (declining refund)$656,723p. 12$64,800
Mulberry — CottagesFee for Service (declining refund)$470,644p. 12$64,800
Spruce — CottagesFee for Service (declining refund)$529,474p. 12$64,800
Poplar — CottagesFee for Service (declining refund)$612,097p. 12$64,800
Hickory — CottagesFee for Service (declining refund)$633,772p. 12$64,800

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Lifecare · Type A (life care) (30 prices, $4,525 to $7,975)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
BayberryIndependent living$4,525p. 13$2,057
Primrose/RowanIndependent living$4,525p. 13$2,057
HawthornIndependent living$5,021p. 13$2,057
LaurelIndependent living$5,664p. 13$2,057
Laurel DeluxeIndependent living$6,012p. 13$2,057
AsterIndependent living$5,599p. 13$2,057
CamelliaIndependent living$6,174p. 13$2,057
CypressIndependent living$6,269p. 13$2,057
HollyIndependent living$6,260p. 13$2,057
Holly IIIndependent living$6,260p. 13$2,057
WillowIndependent living$6,331p. 13$2,057
IrisIndependent living$5,293p. 13$2,057
AzaeleaIndependent living$6,091p. 13$2,057
VioletIndependent living$6,615p. 13$2,057
SageIndependent living$7,239p. 13$2,057
WisteriaIndependent living$7,519p. 13$2,057
HeatherIndependent living$7,724p. 13$2,057
HyacinthIndependent living$7,890p. 13$2,057
Garden HyacinthIndependent living$6,459p. 13$2,057
*BradfordIndependent living$7,010p. 13$2,057
*Bradford ExpandedIndependent living$7,212p. 13$2,057
*Bradford DeluxeIndependent living$7,328p. 13$2,057
BartlettIndependent living$6,060p. 13$2,057
CortlandIndependent living$6,535p. 13$2,057
YorkIndependent living$7,072p. 13$2,057
MagnoliaIndependent living$7,975p. 13$2,057
MulberryIndependent living$6,101p. 13$2,057
SpruceIndependent living$6,863p. 13$2,057
PoplarIndependent living$7,163p. 13$2,057
HickoryIndependent living$7,445p. 13$2,057
Fee for Service · Type C (fee for service) (27 prices, $3,202 to $5,981)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
BayberryIndependent living$3,202p. 13$2,057
Primrose/RowanIndependent living$3,202p. 13$2,057
HawthornIndependent living$3,765p. 13$2,057
LaurelIndependent living$4,248p. 13$2,057
Laurel DeluxeIndependent living$4,509p. 13$2,057
AsterIndependent living$4,200p. 13$2,057
CamelliaIndependent living$4,630p. 13$2,057
CypressIndependent living$4,702p. 13$2,057
HollyIndependent living$4,695p. 13$2,057
Holly IIIndependent living$4,695p. 13$2,057
WillowIndependent living$4,749p. 13$2,057
IrisIndependent living$3,970p. 13$2,057
AzaeleaIndependent living$4,568p. 13$2,057
VioletIndependent living$4,962p. 13$2,057
SageIndependent living$5,430p. 13$2,057
WisteriaIndependent living$5,639p. 13$2,057
HeatherIndependent living$5,793p. 13$2,057
HyacinthIndependent living$5,917p. 13$2,057
Garden HyacinthIndependent living$4,845p. 13$2,057
BartlettIndependent living$4,545p. 13$2,057
CortlandIndependent living$4,902p. 13$2,057
YorkIndependent living$5,303p. 13$2,057
MagnoliaIndependent living$5,981p. 13$2,057
MulberryIndependent living$4,576p. 13$2,057
SpruceIndependent living$5,147p. 13$2,057
PoplarIndependent living$5,373p. 13$2,057
HickoryIndependent living$5,584p. 13$2,057

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingHawthorn (Lifecare)5.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,759 to $5,021p. 13
2025Independent livingIris (Lifecare)5.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,017 to $5,293p. 13
2025Independent livingBartlett (Lifecare)5.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,744 to $6,060p. 13
2024Independent livingHawthorn (Lifecare)6%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,490 to $4,759p. 13
2024Independent livingIris (Lifecare)6%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,733 to $5,017p. 13
2024Independent livingBartlett (Lifecare)6%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,419 to $5,744p. 13
2023Independent livingHawthorn (Lifecare)6.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,206 to $4,490p. 13
2023Independent livingIris (Lifecare)6.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,434 to $4,733p. 13
2023Independent livingBartlett (Lifecare)6.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,077 to $5,419p. 13
2022Independent livingHawthorn (Lifecare)4%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,044 to $4,206p. 13
2022Independent livingIris (Lifecare)4%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,263 to $4,434p. 13
2022Independent livingBartlett (Lifecare)4%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,881 to $5,077p. 13

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (Full Life Care)p. 59

Refund = entrance fee less the 8% administrative fee and less 2% of the fee for each full or partial month of residency, until it reaches zero. Paid when another resident signs a Residency Agreement for the unit or 12 months after termination, whichever is first; unpaid charges and any financial assistance (with interest) are deducted.

Kept on move-in
8% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

50% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)p. 60

Refund declines by 2% of the entrance fee per month of residency after the 8% administrative fee, then stays at 50% of the entrance fee less the 8% administrative fee for life. Paid when another resident signs a Residency Agreement for the unit or 12 months after termination, whichever is first; unpaid charges and any financial assistance (with interest) are deducted.

Kept on move-in
8% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month
Never less than
42% of the fee
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

90% Guaranteed Refund (Full Life Care)p. 60

Refund declines by 2% of the entrance fee per month of residency after the 8% administrative fee, then stays at 90% of the entrance fee less the 8% administrative fee for life. Paid when another resident signs a Residency Agreement for the unit or 12 months after termination, whichever is first; unpaid charges and any financial assistance (with interest) are deducted.

Kept on move-in
8% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month
Never less than
82% of the fee
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

Fee for Service (declining refund)p. 84

Same as the Declining Balance plan: 8% administrative fee, then 2% per month of residency to zero. Paid when another resident signs a Residency Agreement for the unit or 12 months after termination, whichever is first; unpaid charges and any financial assistance (with interest) are deducted.

Kept on move-in
8% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Covenant Woods and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: Covenant Woods.

Days cash on hand

397 days FY2025p. 23

Debt service coverage

2.34x FY2025p. 23

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 23FY2024p. 23
Days cash on hand397 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage2.34xNot disclosed
Operating margin-0.3%Not disclosed
Total assets$151.7 million$149.1 million
Total liabilities$149.1 million$146.7 million
Long-term debt$82.4 million$84.3 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$58.1 million$53.9 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$2.6 million$2.7 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$2.6 million$2.4 million

Auditor: Baker Tilly US, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 23

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 49
Independent living91.3%
Assisted living83.4%
Memory care81.4%
Nursing care89%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-01 Subsidiaries Advance Care LLC (home health) and Advance Care Hospice LLC ceased operations; they are reported as discontinued operations.p. 5
  • 2022-04 Issued $54,540,000 of Series 2022 bonds through the Hanover County EDA to refinance the Series 2012A debt.p. 40

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
3 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 5. COVENANT WOODS NURSING HOME on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2004. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Covenant Woods is a nonprofit continuing care community on about 90 acres in Mechanicsville, Hanover County, with 231 independent living apartments and cottages, 39 assisted living rooms, 21 memory support rooms and 62 nursing beds. It offers a Lifecare contract with three refund plans and a lower-priced Fee for Service contract; entrance fees effective April 2025 range from $233,200 to $1,381,311. For the year ended March 31, 2025 it reported 397 days cash on hand, debt service coverage of 2.34 and an operating loss of $99,374.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.