Skip to content

Masonic Home of Virginia

500 Masonic Lane, Richmond, Virginia 23223

Operator:
Masonic Home of Virginia
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Masonic: serves exclusively those affiliated with the Grand Lodge A.F. & A.M. of Virginia, which conveys an annual member dues assessment but does not guarantee the Home's obligations (p7).
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing

Nonprofit corporation chartered by the General Assembly of Virginia in 1890; 501(c)(3); owns all property on which the facility operates, about 93 acres in eastern Henrico County (p5, p7).

  • Type B (modified)
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2023 disclosure statement (fiscal 2022 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2022; this is the newest statement we have for Masonic Home of Virginia, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$36,000 to $279,900p. 79

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,355 to $5,623p. 79

Refund plans offered

  • Village / B-Wing Apartment pro-rata refundCan decline to nothing
  • Adult Home entrance fee (6-month proration)Terms not disclosed in the 2023 filing
  • C/D-Wing Suite fee prorationCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

1,295 (FY2022, calculated by us)p. 140Lenders' minimum not disclosed.

Independent living occupancy

69% (2022)p. 191

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Independent living residents may apply to the Adult Home or Care Center; admission requires Board approval and a new contract. 30 days of care a year are included, then standard rates.p. 12

Assisted living
Up to 30 days of care per calendar year at no additional charge; beyond that, the paying-resident rate for the level of care
Nursing care
Up to 30 days per calendar year included; then nursing home (Care Center) rates apply ($11,770/month in 2023)
Care days included
30

Type C (fee for service)

Adult Home paying residents pay a monthly fee that rises with their level of care and pay the established Care Center rate for nursing; they pay their own medical, physician and medication costs.p. 8

Assisted living
Per-person monthly fee by level: Residential $4,580, AL I $6,185, AL II $7,840 (2023)
Nursing care
Care Center / Memory Support II $11,770 per person per month (2023)
Units on campusp. 191
Independent living108
Assisted living168
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2023 filing
Nursing care67

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Resident Agreement for Independent Living Units (Masonic Village) · Type B (modified) (2 prices, $36,000 to $279,900)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Masonic Village patio home / two-story home, Plan AVillage / B-Wing Apartment pro-rata refundnull to $279,900p. 79Not listed
Masonic Village, Plan B (reduced entrance fee)Village / B-Wing Apartment pro-rata refundfrom $36,000p. 79Not listed
Contract of Paying Resident (Adult Home) · Type C (fee for service) (1 prices, $36,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Adult Home roomAdult Home entrance fee (6-month proration)from $36,000p. 10Not listed
Contract of Paying Resident for C-/D-Wing Suite · Type C (fee for service) (1 prices, $90,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
C- and D-Wing SuiteC/D-Wing Suite fee prorationfrom $90,000p. 10Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Resident Agreement for Independent Living Units (Masonic Village) · Type B (modified) (2 prices, $2,355 to $5,623)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Masonic Village, Plan AIndependent livingfrom $2,355p. 79$330
Masonic Village, Plan BIndependent livingfrom $5,623p. 79$330
Contract of Paying Resident (Adult Home) · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $4,580 to $15,301)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Residential (incl. C- and D-Wing Suites)Assisted livingfrom $4,580p. 11Not listed
Assisted Living I (incl. C- and D-Wing Suites)Assisted livingfrom $6,185p. 11Not listed
Assisted Living II (incl. C- and D-Wing Suites)Assisted livingfrom $7,840p. 11Not listed
Memory Support IMemory carefrom $9,790p. 12Not listed
Care Center and Memory Support IINursing care$11,770 to $15,301p. 12Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2023Independent livingMasonic Village, Plan A (per couple)7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,510 to $2,685p. 13
2023Assisted livingAssisted Living I (Adult Home)6%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,835 to $6,185p. 11
2023Memory careMemory Support I6%calculated from the dollar amounts$9,235 to $9,790p. 12
2023Nursing careCare Center and Memory Support II6%calculated from the dollar amounts$11,105 to $11,770p. 12
2022Independent livingMasonic Village, Plan A (per couple)4.1%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,411 to $2,510p. 13
2022Assisted livingAssisted Living I (Adult Home)4%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,610 to $5,835p. 11
2022Memory careMemory Support I4%calculated from the dollar amounts$8,880 to $9,235p. 12
2022Nursing careCare Center and Memory Support II4%calculated from the dollar amounts$10,680 to $11,105p. 12
2021Independent livingMasonic Village, Plan A (per couple)2.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,345 to $2,411p. 13
2021Assisted livingAssisted Living I (Adult Home)2.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,450 to $5,610p. 11
2021Memory careMemory Support I2.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$8,630 to $8,880p. 12
2021Nursing careCare Center and Memory Support II2.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$10,380 to $10,680p. 12
2020Independent livingMasonic Village, Plan A (per couple)3.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,260 to $2,345p. 13
2020Assisted livingAssisted Living I (Adult Home)3.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,250 to $5,450p. 11
2020Memory careMemory Support I3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$8,310 to $8,630p. 12
2020Nursing careCare Center and Memory Support II3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$9,995 to $10,380p. 12
2019Independent livingMasonic Village, Plan A (per couple)3.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,180 to $2,260p. 13
2019Assisted livingAssisted Living I (Adult Home)4%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,050 to $5,250p. 11
2019Memory careMemory Support I3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$7,995 to $8,310p. 12
2019Nursing careCare Center and Memory Support II4%calculated from the dollar amounts$9,615 to $9,995p. 12

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Village / B-Wing Apartment pro-rata refundp. 68

The refundable amount drops 10% on move-in and 1.5% of the original fee each month after, reaching zero after five years. Any refund is paid only after the unit is re-let and the new resident's entrance fee is paid in full.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
1.5% a month for 60 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Adult Home entrance fee (6-month proration)p. 10

If a resident leaves within six months of admission, 50% of the entrance fee is refunded on a prorated basis; after six months nothing is refundable.

Kept on move-in
50% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing

C/D-Wing Suite fee prorationp. 10

The base $36,000/$48,000 entrance fee follows the six-month 50% proration; the refundable amount declines 10% on admission and 1.5% a month, with no refund after five years.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
1.5% a month for 60 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Masonic Home of Virginia.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

1,295 days FY2022p. 140

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2023 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2022p. 140FY2021p. 191
Days cash on hand1295 days1823 days
Operating margin-92.4%-74%
Total assets$74.4 million$90.8 million
Total liabilities$7.2 million$7.5 million
Long-term debt$0Not disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$1.4 millionNot disclosed
Entrance-fee liabilities, not split in the filing$4.8 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$67.3 million$83.3 million

Auditor: Keiter. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 140

Occupancy

Level of care2022p. 191
Independent living69%
Assisted living46%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care15%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Masonic Home of Virginia is a nonprofit community in Richmond (Henrico County) that serves people affiliated with the Grand Lodge A.F. & A.M. of Virginia, with 108 independent living units, a 168-bed licensed home for adults and a 67-bed nursing home. Independent living residents pay an entrance fee that declines to no refund over five years and receive up to 30 days of care a year; Adult Home residents pay monthly fees by level of care. In 2022 it reported expenses of $13.6 million against $7.1 million of support and revenue, with no long-term debt and a $46.9 million securities portfolio.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.