Skip to content

Lake Prince Woods

100 Anna Goode Way, Suffolk, Virginia 23434

Operator:
Lake Prince Center, Inc. (managed by EveryAge)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Southern Conference of the United Church of Christ
Opened:
2002

Lake Prince Center, Inc. is a North Carolina nonprofit and a wholly controlled subsidiary of EveryAge (formerly United Church Homes and Services), which provides management and employs staff.

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$70,500 to $792,750p. 103

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,692 to $3,137p. 103

Refund plans offered

  • Fully DecliningCan decline to nothing
  • Minimum 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee

Days cash on hand

340 (FY2025)p. 86Its lenders require at least 200.Figures for EveryAge Obligated Group
Read the note on this figure

Days cash and coverage are the EveryAge obligated group's (p101), not Lake Prince Center's alone: its own balance sheet shows $2,020 of cash and $1,659,510 of assets limited as to use at 9/30/2025 (p86).

Independent living occupancy

88.02% (2025)p. 13

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Fee-for-service: assisted living, memory care and nursing are available 'at fees current at such time as said services are needed and according to available space.' Any residency-fee refund due is escrowed to pay the resident's healthcare costs.p. 28

Assisted living
Per diem at current rates: Assisted Living studio $202/day, one bedroom $276/day single ($552 double), memory care $279/day (FY25/26).
Nursing care
Per diem at current rates: private $364/day, companion (semiprivate) $306/day (FY25/26).
Units on campusp. 96
Independent living192
Assisted living36
Memory care16
Nursing care40

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fully Declining Residential Living Unit Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (13 prices, $70,500 to $528,000)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Villa Homes1,350 to 1,680Fully Declining$257,500 to $528,000p. 103Not listed
Cottage1,535 to 1,680Fully Declining$324,000 to $496,500p. 103Not listed
Studio425Fully Declining$70,500 to $88,500p. 103Not listed
One Bedroom-One Bath660Fully Declining$80,000 to $133,000p. 103Not listed
One Bedroom-Bay700Fully Declining$96,500 to $141,500p. 103Not listed
One Bedroom Grand803Fully Declining$144,500 to $160,000p. 103Not listed
One Bedroom/Living/Dining965Fully Declining$169,500 to $193,000p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom/Den/Two Baths965Fully Declining$141,500 to $186,500p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom/Bay1,000Fully Declining$150,500 to $195,500p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom/Two Baths1,075Fully Declining$172,000 to $205,500p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom Deluxe1,107Fully Declining$202,500p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom Contemporary1,158Fully Declining$195,500 to $229,000p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom/Study1,256Fully Declining$211,000 to $242,000p. 103Not listed
50% Refundable Residential Living Unit Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (13 prices, $105,000 to $792,750)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Villa Homes1,350 to 1,680Minimum 50% Refundable$386,250 to $792,750p. 103Not listed
Cottage1,535 to 1,680Minimum 50% Refundable$486,000 to $744,750p. 103Not listed
Studio425Minimum 50% Refundable$105,000 to $132,750p. 103Not listed
One Bedroom-One Bath660Minimum 50% Refundable$120,000 to $199,500p. 103Not listed
One Bedroom-Bay700Minimum 50% Refundable$144,750 to $212,250p. 103Not listed
One Bedroom Grand803Minimum 50% Refundable$216,750 to $240,000p. 103Not listed
One Bedroom/Living/Dining965Minimum 50% Refundable$254,250 to $289,500p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom/Den/Two Baths965Minimum 50% Refundable$212,250 to $279,750p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom/Bay1,000Minimum 50% Refundable$225,750 to $293,250p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom/Two Baths1,075Minimum 50% Refundable$258,000 to $308,250p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom Deluxe1,107Minimum 50% Refundable$303,750p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom Contemporary1,158Minimum 50% Refundable$293,250 to $343,500p. 103Not listed
Two Bedroom/Study1,256Minimum 50% Refundable$316,500 to $363,000p. 103Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement (both refund options) · Type C (fee for service) (13 prices, $1,692 to $3,137)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Villa HomesIndependent living$2,417p. 103$886
CottageIndependent living$2,807p. 103$886
StudioIndependent living$1,692p. 103$1,015
One Bedroom-One BathIndependent living$2,737p. 103$1,015
One Bedroom-BayIndependent living$2,737p. 103$1,015
One Bedroom GrandIndependent living$2,857p. 103$1,015
One Bedroom/Living/DiningIndependent living$2,857p. 103$1,015
Two Bedroom/Den/Two BathsIndependent living$3,012p. 103$1,015
Two Bedroom/BayIndependent living$3,017p. 103$1,015
Two Bedroom/Two BathsIndependent living$3,017p. 103$1,015
Two Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$3,017p. 103$1,015
Two Bedroom ContemporaryIndependent living$3,137p. 103$1,015
Two Bedroom/StudyIndependent living$3,137p. 103$1,015

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingOne Bedroom/One Bath4.19%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,627 to $2,737p. 94
2026Independent livingVilla Homes4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,313 to $2,417p. 94
2026Independent livingCottage4.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,686 to $2,807p. 94
2026Nursing carePrivate (daily rate)4%calculated from the dollar amounts$350 to $364p. 104
2026Assisted livingAssisted Living Studio (daily rate)4.12%calculated from the dollar amounts$194 to $202p. 104
2026Memory careMemory Care Studio (daily rate)4.1%calculated from the dollar amounts$268 to $279p. 104
2025Independent livingOne Bedroom/One Bath4.2%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,521 to $2,627p. 94
2025Independent livingVilla Homes4%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,224 to $2,313p. 94
2025Independent livingCottage3.99%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,583 to $2,686p. 94
2025Nursing carePrivate (daily rate)3.86%calculated from the dollar amounts$337 to $350p. 104
2025Assisted livingAssisted Living Studio (daily rate)3.74%calculated from the dollar amounts$187 to $194p. 104
2025Memory careMemory Care Studio (daily rate)3.88%calculated from the dollar amounts$258 to $268p. 104
2024Independent livingOne Bedroom/One Bath4.74%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,407 to $2,521p. 94
2024Independent livingVilla Homes4.51%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,128 to $2,224p. 94
2024Independent livingCottage4.49%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,472 to $2,583p. 94
2024Nursing carePrivate (daily rate)4.01%calculated from the dollar amounts$324 to $337p. 104
2024Assisted livingAssisted Living Studio (daily rate)3.89%calculated from the dollar amounts$180 to $187p. 104
2024Memory careMemory Care Studio (daily rate)4.03%calculated from the dollar amounts$248 to $258p. 104
2023Independent livingOne Bedroom/One Bath6.32%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,264 to $2,407p. 94
2023Independent livingVilla Homes5.98%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,008 to $2,128p. 94
2023Independent livingCottage6%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,332 to $2,472p. 94
2023Nursing carePrivate (daily rate)5.88%calculated from the dollar amounts$306 to $324p. 104
2023Assisted livingAssisted Living Studio (daily rate)4.05%calculated from the dollar amounts$173 to $180p. 104
2023Memory careMemory Care Studio (daily rate)4.2%calculated from the dollar amounts$238 to $248p. 104

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Fully Decliningp. 23

90% of the residency fee is refundable for the first 90 days; from day 91 the refundable amount falls by 2.73% of the original fee each month and reaches zero after month 36. A refund is paid only after a new Residency Agreement has been signed for the unit; if the resident moves permanently to assisted living or nursing, amortization stops and the refund is set aside for the resident's healthcare costs.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2.73% a month for 36 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Minimum 50% Refundablep. 37

90% of the residency fee is refundable for the first 90 days; from day 91 the refundable amount falls by 1.212% of the original fee each month until month 36, then stays at 50%. A refund is paid only after a new Residency Agreement has been signed for the unit; on a permanent move to assisted living or nursing the refund is set aside for healthcare costs.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
1.212% a month for 36 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Lake Prince Woods is part of EveryAge Obligated Group (all EveryAge divisions except the Foundation, EA Holding and Carolina SeniorCare).
  • Balance sheet: Lake Prince Center, Inc. (including Lake Prince At Home, LLC), column of the EveryAge combining statements.
  • Ratios: EveryAge Obligated Group.

Days cash on hand

340 days FY2025p. 86

Debt service coverage

3.84x FY2025p. 86

Read with these figuresDays cash and coverage are the EveryAge obligated group's (p101), not Lake Prince Center's alone: its own balance sheet shows $2,020 of cash and $1,659,510 of assets limited as to use at 9/30/2025 (p86).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 86FY2024p. 101
Days cash on hand340 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage3.84xNot disclosed
Operating margin-7.7%-4.5%
Total assets$37.0 million$36.2 million
Total liabilities$56.1 million$55.2 million
Long-term debt$24.3 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$25.3 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$2.0 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$19.1 million−$18.9 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 86

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 132024p. 132023p. 13
Independent living88.02%84.9%80%
Assisted living75%69.23%61.29%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care60%62.5%60.47%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-09Credit rating Fitch rating BBB- with negative outlook, affirmed 09/06/2024.p. 101

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 3. LAKE PRINCE WOODS, INC on Care Compare

In brief

Lake Prince Woods in Suffolk, Virginia is a fee-for-service continuing care community operated by Lake Prince Center, Inc., a subsidiary of EveryAge affiliated with the Southern Conference of the United Church of Christ, with 192 residential living units, 52 assisted living and memory care units and 40 nursing beds. Residency fees for contracts signed after October 1, 2025 range from $70,500 (fully declining) to $792,750 (50% refundable), with assisted living and nursing billed per day. Lake Prince Center reported negative net assets of $19.1 million at September 30, 2025, while the EveryAge obligated group reported 340 days cash on hand and 3.84x debt service coverage against covenants of 200 days and 1.20x.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • Harbor's Edge

    Norfolk · 18 miles away

    Entrance fee: $283,079 to $2,164,084

  • The Chesapeake

    Newport News · 23 miles away

    Entrance fee: $149,000 to $855,000

  • Warwick Forest

    Newport News · 26 miles away

    Entrance fee: $148,328 to $377,659

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.