Skip to content

Warwick Forest

1004 Old Denbigh Blvd., Newport News, Virginia 23602

Operator:
Riverside Retirement Services, Inc. (subsidiary of Riverside Healthcare Association, d/b/a Riverside Health)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
1988

Riverside Retirement Services is a nonprofit nonstock 501(c)(3) whose sole member is Riverside Healthcare Association; Riverside Health has no responsibility for its obligations. The ~20-acre site is leased from Patrick Henry Hospital, Inc.; buildings are owned by Riverside Retirement Services (p3, p23-24).

  • Type B (modified)
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for Warwick Forest, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$148,328 to $377,659p. 127

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,388 to $4,486p. 127

Refund plans offered

  • BASE Plan (Declining Refund)Can decline to nothing
  • Plan 90Never less than 90% of the fee
  • Plan 50Never less than 50% of the fee

Days cash on hand

609 (FY2024, calculated by us)p. 40Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for Warwick Forest division
Read the note on this figure

Computed by us from Riverside Health's divisional schedule (p176-178): Warwick Forest's $26.0M of investments and $1K cash over cash operating expenses. The same column shows a net $14.9M due to Riverside affiliates; net of that, cash and investments cover about 260 days.

Independent living occupancy

93% (2024)p. 40

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

2 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it LifeCare; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

LifeCare residents get 10 free days of assisted living or nursing over the life of the contract, then pay a flat monthly Health Services Resident Rate ($4,282 in 2025) that the agreement calls a discounted rate; during temporary stays they also keep paying their apartment's monthly fee.p. 50

Assisted living
10 lifetime 'Benefit' days of temporary care at no additional charge; after that a flat Health Services Resident Rate ($4,282/month in 2025) for an assisted living suite; independent-living monthly fee stops on a permanent move
Nursing care
Same flat Health Services Resident Rate ($4,282/month in 2025) for a semi-private bed at Lifelong Health and Rehabilitation Warwick Forest, including nursing care and meals
Care days included
10
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it LifePlan; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

LifePlan residents have priority access to assisted living and the nursing center but pay the published daily market rates. The market rates are not stated in the document.p. 89

Assisted living
Current published daily market rate
Nursing care
Current published daily market rate
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 23
Independent living127
Assisted living137
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

LifeCare Agreement · Type B (modified) (8 prices, $191,748 to $377,659)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Cottage - Poplar (1BR/1BA)680BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $191,748p. 127$44,715
Cottage - Dogwood (2BR/2BA)816BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $230,499p. 127$44,715
Cottage - Sycamore (2BR/2BA, sunroom)1,100BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $282,280p. 127$44,715
Cottage - Maple (2BR or BR+den/2BA, two patios)1,350BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $307,678p. 127$44,715
Apartment - Birch (1BR/2BA)930BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $253,948p. 127$44,715
Apartment - Willow (BR + second BR/den, 2BA)1,221BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $300,954p. 127$44,715
Apartment - Cypress (BR + second BR/den, 2BA)1,320BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $313,834p. 127$44,715
Apartment - Oaks (2BR + den/2BA, breakfast room)1,581BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $377,659p. 127$44,715
LifePlan Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (8 prices, $148,328 to $273,666)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Cottage - Poplar (1BR/1BA)680BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $148,328p. 127$4,064
Cottage - Dogwood (2BR/2BA)816BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $186,320p. 127$4,064
Cottage - Sycamore (2BR/2BA, sunroom)1,100BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $219,885p. 127$4,064
Cottage - Maple (2BR or BR+den/2BA, two patios)1,350BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $236,180p. 127$4,064
Apartment - Birch (1BR/2BA)930BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $204,525p. 127$4,064
Apartment - Willow (BR + second BR/den, 2BA)1,221BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $226,491p. 127$4,064
Apartment - Cypress (BR + second BR/den, 2BA)1,320BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $236,811p. 127$4,064
Apartment - Oaks (2BR + den/2BA, breakfast room)1,581BASE Plan (Declining Refund)from $273,666p. 127$4,064

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

LifeCare Agreement · Type B (modified) (10 prices, $3,388 to $4,486)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Cottage - Poplar (1BR/1BA)Independent livingfrom $3,388p. 127$1,522
Cottage - Dogwood (2BR/2BA)Independent livingfrom $3,493p. 127$1,522
Cottage - Sycamore (2BR/2BA, sunroom)Independent livingfrom $3,741p. 127$1,522
Cottage - Maple (2BR or BR+den/2BA, two patios)Independent livingfrom $3,908p. 127$1,522
Apartment - Birch (1BR/2BA)Independent livingfrom $3,498p. 127$1,522
Apartment - Willow (BR + second BR/den, 2BA)Independent livingfrom $3,918p. 127$1,522
Apartment - Cypress (BR + second BR/den, 2BA)Independent livingfrom $4,104p. 127$1,522
Apartment - Oaks (2BR + den/2BA, breakfast room)Independent livingfrom $4,486p. 127$1,522
Assisted living or semi-private nursing (Health Services Resident Rate)Assisted livingfrom $4,282p. 127Not listed
Assisted living or semi-private nursing (Health Services Resident Rate)Nursing carefrom $4,282p. 127Not listed
LifePlan Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (8 prices, $3,388 to $4,486)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Cottage - Poplar (1BR/1BA)Independent livingfrom $3,388p. 127$1,522
Cottage - Dogwood (2BR/2BA)Independent livingfrom $3,493p. 127$1,522
Cottage - Sycamore (2BR/2BA, sunroom)Independent livingfrom $3,741p. 127$1,522
Cottage - Maple (2BR or BR+den/2BA, two patios)Independent livingfrom $3,908p. 127$1,522
Apartment - Birch (1BR/2BA)Independent livingfrom $3,498p. 127$1,522
Apartment - Willow (BR + second BR/den, 2BA)Independent livingfrom $3,918p. 127$1,522
Apartment - Cypress (BR + second BR/den, 2BA)Independent livingfrom $4,104p. 127$1,522
Apartment - Oaks (2BR + den/2BA, breakfast room)Independent livingfrom $4,486p. 127$1,522

Fee increases, year by year

2019: 3%20192020: 3%20202021: 2%20212022: 4%20222023: 6%20232024: 5%20242025: 5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 28
2024Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 28
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 28
2022Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 28
2021Independent livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 28
2020Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 28
2019Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 28

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

BASE Plan (Declining Refund)p. 45

After the first 30 days the refund falls 2% per calendar month of occupancy and nothing is refunded after 50 months. Paid within six weeks after the agreement ends, the residence is vacated and it is occupied by a new resident.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Plan 90p. 45

Full refund within the first 30 days; after that 90% of the entrance fee is refunded regardless of how long you lived there. Age-rated: higher price if anyone is 81-85, not available at 86+. Paid within six weeks after your residence is re-occupied.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Plan 50p. 46

Full refund within the first 30 days; after that the refund falls 2% per month of occupancy but never below 50%. Age-rated like Plan 90. Paid within six weeks after your residence is re-occupied.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Warwick Forest is part of Riverside Health (Riverside Healthcare Association, Inc.).
  • Balance sheet: Warwick Forest (division of Riverside Retirement Services, Inc.; supplementary consolidating schedule in Riverside Health's audit).
  • Ratios: Warwick Forest division.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

609 days FY2024p. 40

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Read with these figuresComputed by us from Riverside Health's divisional schedule (p176-178): Warwick Forest's $26.0M of investments and $1K cash over cash operating expenses. The same column shows a net $14.9M due to Riverside affiliates; net of that, cash and investments cover about 260 days.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 40FY2023p. 40
Days cash on hand609 daysNot disclosed
Total assets$34.7 million$35.7 million
Total liabilities$20.1 million$21.1 million
Long-term debt$0$0
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$18.8 million$18.2 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$14.6 million$14.6 million

Auditor: KPMG LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 40

Occupancy

Level of care2024p. 40
Independent living93%
Assisted living85%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-11Credit rating S&P Global Ratings affirmed parent Riverside Health's long-term credit rating at A- with a stable outlook.p. 4

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
2 of 5
Health inspections
2 of 5
Staffing
2 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $10,358. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 33. RIVERSIDE LIFELONG H & R WARWICK FOREST on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2023. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Warwick Forest is a nonprofit continuing care community in Newport News run by Riverside Retirement Services, part of Riverside Health, with 127 independent-living cottages and apartments and 137 assisted living units; nursing care is at the on-campus Lifelong Health and Rehabilitation Warwick Forest. A LifeCare contract includes 10 free care days and then a flat monthly health-services rate ($4,282 in 2025), while a LifePlan contract costs less up front and pays market rates. 2025 entrance fees run from $148,328 to $377,659 for one person, with declining, 50% and 90% refund options.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.