Skip to content

The Chesapeake

955 Harpersville Road, Newport News, Virginia 23601

Operator:
Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Baptist (Baptist General Association of Virginia)
Opened:
1969

Newport News Baptist Retirement Community, Inc., a LifeSpire subsidiary, owns the improvements; LifeSpire owns the land.

  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$149,000 to $855,000p. 15p. 17

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,520 to $6,751p. 15p. 17

Refund plans offered

  • Standard RefundableCan decline to nothing
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

266 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 100Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group

Independent living occupancy

96.8% (2025)p. 24

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

3 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

Life-Care residents keep paying their independent-living monthly fee in assisted living, memory care or the Health Care Center, plus two extra meals a day and ancillary charges. If the Health Care Center is full, residents get priority admittance when a bed opens.p. 82

Assisted living
Same Monthly Fee as the residence held at transfer (or the last one held at least a year), plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges
Nursing care
Same Monthly Fee plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges (non-Medicare stay)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Fee for Service; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Fee for Service residents pay the published daily rate for assisted living, memory support and the Health Care Center, less 10%. If the Health Care Center is full, residents get priority admittance when a bed opens.p. 15

Assisted living
Discounted Daily Rate (daily rate less 10%); 2026 daily rates $270-$313 assisted living, $325-$337 memory support
Nursing care
Discounted Daily Rate (daily rate less 10%); 2026 Health Care daily rate $450
Discount on care
10%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 24
Independent living251
Assisted living57
Memory care16
Nursing care52

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fee for Service · Type B (modified) (54 prices, $149,000 to $713,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
The VirginianStandard Refundable$149,000p. 15$41,000
The Virginian90% Refundable$290,000p. 15$79,000
The AberdeenStandard Refundable$153,000p. 15$41,000
The Aberdeen90% Refundable$298,000p. 15$79,000
The HarrisStandard Refundable$153,000p. 15$41,000
The Harris90% Refundable$298,000p. 15$79,000
The ChesterStandard Refundable$169,000p. 15$41,000
The Chester90% Refundable$330,000p. 15$79,000
The YorkStandard Refundable$175,000p. 15$41,000
The York90% Refundable$339,000p. 15$79,000
The MobjackStandard Refundable$205,000p. 16$41,000
The Mobjack90% Refundable$400,000p. 16$79,000
The BennettStandard Refundable$185,000p. 16$41,000
The Bennett90% Refundable$361,000p. 16$79,000
The EastonStandard Refundable$225,000p. 16$41,000
The Easton90% Refundable$438,000p. 16$79,000
The PatrickStandard Refundable$215,000p. 16$41,000
The Patrick90% Refundable$419,000p. 16$79,000
The PotomacStandard Refundable$223,000p. 16$41,000
The Potomac90% Refundable$434,000p. 16$79,000
The WarwickStandard Refundable$234,000p. 16$41,000
The Warwick90% Refundable$458,000p. 16$79,000
The ElizabethStandard Refundable$215,000p. 16$41,000
The Elizabeth90% Refundable$419,000p. 16$79,000
The Elizabeth DeluxeStandard Refundable$366,000p. 16$41,000
The Elizabeth Deluxe90% Refundable$713,000p. 16$79,000
The JamesStandard Refundable$254,000p. 16$41,000
The James90% Refundable$495,000p. 16$79,000
The BryantStandard Refundable$254,000p. 16$41,000
The Bryant90% Refundable$495,000p. 16$79,000
The LawsonStandard Refundable$229,000p. 16$41,000
The Lawson90% Refundable$446,000p. 16$79,000
The RappahannockStandard Refundable$287,000p. 16$41,000
The Rappahannock90% Refundable$559,000p. 16$79,000
The WilloughbyStandard Refundable$299,000p. 16$41,000
The Willoughby90% Refundable$582,000p. 16$79,000
The BethelStandard Refundable$227,000p. 16$41,000
The Bethel90% Refundable$442,000p. 16$79,000
The LynnhavenStandard Refundable$338,000p. 16$41,000
The Lynnhaven90% Refundable$660,000p. 16$79,000
The Lancaster I/Gloucester IStandard Refundable$313,000p. 16$41,000
The Lancaster I/Gloucester I90% Refundable$610,000p. 16$79,000
The Lancaster II/Gloucester IIStandard Refundable$332,000p. 16$41,000
The Lancaster II/Gloucester II90% Refundable$645,000p. 16$79,000
The Lancaster III/Gloucester IIIStandard Refundable$343,000p. 16$41,000
The Lancaster III/Gloucester III90% Refundable$669,000p. 16$79,000
The SmithfieldStandard Refundable$307,000p. 16$41,000
The Smithfield90% Refundable$598,000p. 16$79,000
The Smithfield II/IIIStandard Refundable$325,000p. 16$41,000
The Smithfield II/III90% Refundable$633,000p. 16$79,000
The MadisonStandard Refundable$224,000p. 16$41,000
The Madison90% Refundable$436,000p. 16$79,000
The NottowayStandard Refundable$309,000p. 16$41,000
The Nottoway90% Refundable$603,000p. 16$79,000
Life-Care · Type A (life care) (54 prices, $175,000 to $855,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
The VirginianStandard Refundable$175,000p. 17$47,000
The Virginian90% Refundable$345,000p. 17$91,000
The AberdeenStandard Refundable$179,000p. 17$47,000
The Aberdeen90% Refundable$356,000p. 17$91,000
The HarrisStandard Refundable$179,000p. 17$47,000
The Harris90% Refundable$356,000p. 17$91,000
The ChesterStandard Refundable$198,000p. 17$47,000
The Chester90% Refundable$398,000p. 17$91,000
The BennettStandard Refundable$218,000p. 17$47,000
The Bennett90% Refundable$438,000p. 17$91,000
The YorkStandard Refundable$204,000p. 17$47,000
The York90% Refundable$414,000p. 17$91,000
The MobjackStandard Refundable$240,000p. 17$47,000
The Mobjack90% Refundable$480,000p. 17$91,000
The EastonStandard Refundable$263,000p. 17$47,000
The Easton90% Refundable$525,000p. 17$91,000
The PatrickStandard Refundable$253,000p. 17$47,000
The Patrick90% Refundable$505,000p. 17$91,000
The PotomacStandard Refundable$261,000p. 17$47,000
The Potomac90% Refundable$521,000p. 17$91,000
The WarwickStandard Refundable$276,000p. 17$47,000
The Warwick90% Refundable$553,000p. 17$91,000
The ElizabethStandard Refundable$253,000p. 17$47,000
The Elizabeth90% Refundable$506,000p. 17$91,000
The Elizabeth DeluxeStandard Refundable$431,000p. 17$47,000
The Elizabeth Deluxe90% Refundable$855,000p. 17$91,000
The JamesStandard Refundable$298,000p. 17$47,000
The James90% Refundable$597,000p. 17$91,000
The BryantStandard Refundable$298,000p. 17$47,000
The Bryant90% Refundable$597,000p. 17$91,000
The LawsonStandard Refundable$268,000p. 17$47,000
The Lawson90% Refundable$539,000p. 17$91,000
The RappahannockStandard Refundable$337,000p. 17$47,000
The Rappahannock90% Refundable$678,000p. 17$91,000
The LynnhavenStandard Refundable$397,000p. 17$47,000
The Lynnhaven90% Refundable$799,000p. 17$91,000
The Lancaster I/Gloucester IStandard Refundable$368,000p. 17$47,000
The Lancaster I/Gloucester I90% Refundable$737,000p. 17$91,000
The Lancaster II/Gloucester IIStandard Refundable$390,000p. 17$47,000
The Lancaster II/Gloucester II90% Refundable$783,000p. 17$91,000
The Lancaster III/Gloucester IIIStandard Refundable$402,000p. 17$47,000
The Lancaster III/Gloucester III90% Refundable$812,000p. 17$91,000
The SmithfieldStandard Refundable$360,000p. 17$47,000
The Smithfield90% Refundable$726,000p. 17$91,000
The Smithfield II/IIIStandard Refundable$382,000p. 17$47,000
The Smithfield II/III90% Refundable$764,000p. 17$91,000
The WilloughbyStandard Refundable$352,000p. 17$47,000
The Willoughby90% Refundable$708,000p. 17$91,000
The MadisonStandard Refundable$262,000p. 18$47,000
The Madison90% Refundable$523,000p. 18$91,000
The BethelStandard Refundable$266,000p. 18$47,000
The Bethel90% Refundable$534,000p. 18$91,000
The NottowayStandard Refundable$363,000p. 18$47,000
The Nottoway90% Refundable$727,000p. 18$91,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Fee for Service · Type B (modified) (27 prices, $3,520 to $5,443)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
The VirginianIndependent living$3,520p. 15$1,423
The AberdeenIndependent living$3,755p. 15$1,423
The HarrisIndependent living$3,755p. 15$1,423
The ChesterIndependent living$3,755p. 15$1,423
The YorkIndependent living$3,797p. 15$1,423
The MobjackIndependent living$4,098p. 16$1,423
The BennettIndependent living$3,952p. 16$1,423
The EastonIndependent living$3,952p. 16$1,423
The PatrickIndependent living$4,220p. 16$1,423
The PotomacIndependent living$4,282p. 16$1,423
The WarwickIndependent living$4,217p. 16$1,423
The ElizabethIndependent living$4,282p. 16$1,423
The Elizabeth DeluxeIndependent living$5,443p. 16$1,423
The JamesIndependent living$4,282p. 16$1,423
The BryantIndependent living$4,282p. 16$1,423
The LawsonIndependent living$4,220p. 16$1,423
The RappahannockIndependent living$4,623p. 16$1,423
The WilloughbyIndependent living$4,702p. 16$1,423
The BethelIndependent living$3,911p. 16$1,423
The LynnhavenIndependent living$5,054p. 16$1,423
The Lancaster I/Gloucester IIndependent living$4,605p. 16$1,423
The Lancaster II/Gloucester IIIndependent living$4,742p. 16$1,423
The Lancaster III/Gloucester IIIIndependent living$4,900p. 16$1,423
The SmithfieldIndependent living$4,582p. 16$1,423
The Smithfield II/IIIIndependent living$4,707p. 16$1,423
The MadisonIndependent living$3,599p. 16$1,423
The NottowayIndependent living$4,477p. 16$1,423
Life-Care · Type A (life care) (27 prices, $4,371 to $6,751)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
The VirginianIndependent living$4,371p. 17$1,755
The AberdeenIndependent living$4,665p. 17$1,755
The HarrisIndependent living$4,665p. 17$1,755
The ChesterIndependent living$4,665p. 17$1,755
The BennettIndependent living$4,908p. 17$1,755
The YorkIndependent living$4,714p. 17$1,755
The MobjackIndependent living$5,092p. 17$1,755
The EastonIndependent living$4,908p. 17$1,755
The PatrickIndependent living$5,241p. 17$1,755
The PotomacIndependent living$5,318p. 17$1,755
The WarwickIndependent living$5,241p. 17$1,755
The ElizabethIndependent living$5,318p. 17$1,755
The Elizabeth DeluxeIndependent living$6,751p. 17$1,755
The JamesIndependent living$5,318p. 17$1,755
The BryantIndependent living$5,318p. 17$1,755
The LawsonIndependent living$5,241p. 17$1,755
The RappahannockIndependent living$5,742p. 17$1,755
The LynnhavenIndependent living$6,276p. 17$1,755
The Lancaster I/Gloucester IIndependent living$5,723p. 17$1,755
The Lancaster II/Gloucester IIIndependent living$5,891p. 17$1,755
The Lancaster III/Gloucester IIIIndependent living$6,084p. 17$1,755
The SmithfieldIndependent living$5,692p. 17$1,755
The Smithfield II/IIIIndependent living$5,845p. 17$1,755
The WilloughbyIndependent living$5,839p. 17$1,755
The MadisonIndependent living$4,497p. 18$1,755
The BethelIndependent living$4,854p. 18$1,755
The NottowayIndependent living$5,562p. 18$1,755

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5%20222023: 8%20232024: 4.45%20242025: 3.95%20252026: 3.75%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 18
2026Assisted livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 18
2026Memory careAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 18
2026Nursing careAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 18
2025Independent livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 18
2025Assisted livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 18
2025Memory careAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 18
2025Nursing careAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 18
2024Independent livingAll units4.45%Percent onlyp. 18
2024Assisted livingAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 18
2024Memory careAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 18
2024Nursing careAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 18
2023Independent livingAll units8%Percent onlyp. 18
2023Assisted livingAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 18
2023Memory careAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 18
2023Nursing careAll units10%Percent onlyp. 18
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 18
2022Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 18
2022Memory careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 18
2022Nursing careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 18

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard Refundablep. 89

A 4% administrative charge is kept; the rest amortizes at 2% a month and nothing is refundable after 50 months. Any refund is paid only after your residence is sold to a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundablep. 65

A 4% administrative charge is kept; the rest amortizes 1% a month for 10 months, leaving at least 90% of the fee net of the charge. The refund is paid only after your residence is sold to a new resident who has paid their entrance fee; if you later need financial assistance, the refundable balance is applied to your care first.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 10 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Chesapeake is part of LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group (LifeSpire, The Culpeper, Lakewood, The Chesapeake, The Glebe, The Summit).
  • Balance sheet: Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

266 days FY2025p. 100

Debt service coverage

2.31x FY2025p. 100

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 100FY2024p. 100
Days cash on hand266 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage2.31xNot disclosed
Total assets$561.3 million$548.6 million
Total liabilities$569.2 million$576.6 million
Long-term debt$329.7 million$356.0 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$154.4 million$120.5 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$56.7 million$68.3 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$7.9 million−$28.0 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 100

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 24
Independent living96.8%
Assisted living94.7%
Memory care93.8%
Nursing care94.2%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025Credit rating Fitch reaffirmed LifeSpire’s BBB rating with a stable outlook.p. 22
  • 2024-10 The Obligated Group issued a $168,825,000 note (Series 2024A and Entrance Fee Principal Redemption Series 2024B-1/B-2) to refund the Series 2014A bonds and 2021 Taxable Loan and fund expansions at The Glebe and The Summit.p. 20

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
1 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 12. THE CHESAPEAKE on Care Compare

In brief

The Chesapeake is a LifeSpire of Virginia community on a 40-acre campus in Newport News, opened in 1969, with 251 independent living, 57 assisted living, 16 memory support and 52 Health Care Center units. It offers a Life-Care contract and a Fee for Service contract (care at the daily rate less 10%), each with a Standard Refundable or 90% Refundable entrance fee; 2026 entrance fees run from $149,000 to $855,000. Finances are reported for LifeSpire and its subsidiaries together, which ended 2025 with a net deficit of $7.9 million; the Obligated Group reported 266 days cash on hand against a 120-day covenant.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.