Skip to content

The Cardinal at North Hills

4030 The Cardinal at North Hills Street, Raleigh, North Carolina 27609 · Community website

Operator:
The Cardinal at North Hills, LLC (managed by Kisco Senior Living, LLC; health center run by The Cardinal at North Hills Healthcare, LLC)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2017

For-profit LLC wholly owned by KSL Toledo Tenant, LLC, which also owns the campus and leases it to the operator and to the health center affiliate (leases through April 2036). Kisco Senior Living, LLC provides management.

  • Rental

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

None: rental

Monthly fee, independent living

$7,405 to $13,240p. 19

Refund plans offered

None: rental contract

Days cash on hand

11 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for The Cardinal at North Hills, LLC and The Cardinal at North Hills Healthcare, LLC (excludes the East Tower; FS-1 does not name the entities, but the 11 days and 5.96% margin reproduce only from these two columns)
Read the note on this figure

The 11 days covers The Cardinal at North Hills, LLC and its health center LLC only ($772,582 of cash), not the East Tower included in the combined balance sheet (combined: $1.31M cash, about 9 days). There is no debt, but both LLCs lease the campus from the affiliated landlord KSL Toledo Tenant, LLC (rent $9.6M in FY2025; lease liabilities $78.4M). The statutory operating reserve is met with a $6.9M bank letter of credit, not cash.

Independent living occupancy

98.7% (2025)p. 16

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

3 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Rental

No care days or discounts: residents who need assisted living, memory care or nursing sign a separate agreement with The Cardinal at North Hills Healthcare, LLC and pay its published rates in addition to (or instead of) the apartment fee. Independent living residents get priority admission to the Health Center.p. 122

Assisted living
Separate Health Center agreement at published rates: assisted living $7,750-$9,890 a month plus level-of-care fees of $1,775-$4,800 (more over 380 points); memory care $8,465 plus $4,685-$5,630 (as of 1/1/26).
Nursing care
Separate Health Center agreement at $575 a day (as of 1/1/26). During a temporary stay the apartment Monthly Fee also continues.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 15
Independent living165
Assisted living55
Memory care18
Nursing care15

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Rental CCRC: a 12-month Residency Agreement with a one-time non-refundable $50,000 Community Fee and a monthly fee; no entrance fee. Assisted living, memory care and nursing are under separate Health Center agreements at published rates, with priority admission for residents. One-time community fee: $50,000 (p. 21), non-refundable after the 30-day cancellation period (p. 22) — not an entrance fee.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement (rental) · Rental (17 prices, $7,405 to $13,240)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Plan A The Salisbury – 1 Bedroom/1 Bath (~800 sq ft)Independent living$7,405p. 19$1,105
Plan A+ The Salisbury Plus – 1 Bedroom/1 Bath/Den (~1,005 sq ft)Independent living$7,935p. 19$1,105
Plan B The Glenwood – 1 Bedroom/1 Bath/Den (~950 sq ft)Independent living$8,260p. 19$1,105
Plan C The Dawson – 1 Bedroom/1.5 Bath/Den (~1,110 sq ft)Independent living$8,610p. 19$1,105
Plan D The Cameron – 1 Bedroom/1.5 Bath/Den (~1,220 sq ft)Independent living$9,210p. 19$1,105
Plan E The Morgan – 2 Bedroom/2 Bath (~1,200 sq ft)Independent living$9,485p. 19$1,105
Plan E+ The Morgan Plus – 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den (~1,525 sq ft)Independent living$10,330p. 19$1,105
Plan F The Marlowe – 2 Bedroom/2 Bath (~1,265 sq ft)Independent living$9,700p. 19$1,105
Plan F+ The Marlowe Plus – 2 Bedroom/2 Bath (~1,330 sq ft)Independent living$9,875p. 19$1,105
Plan J The Hillsborough – 2 Bedroom/2 Bath (~1,375 sq ft)Independent living$10,005p. 19$1,105
Plan G The Oxford – 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den (~1,555 sq ft)Independent living$10,790p. 19$1,105
Plan K The Granville – 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den (~1,610 sq ft)Independent living$11,580p. 19$1,105
Plan H The Churchill – 2 Bedroom/2 Bath/Den (~1,720 sq ft)Independent living$11,810p. 19$1,105
Plan I The Edenton – 3 Bedroom/3 Bath (~2,080 sq ft)Independent living$13,240p. 19$1,105
Assisted Living – Studio (335 sq ft)Assisted living$7,750 to $8,120p. 19$1,300
Assisted Living – 1 Bedroom (570-731 sq ft)Assisted living$8,515 to $9,890p. 19$1,300
Memory Care – Studio (330-354 sq ft)Memory care$8,465p. 19$1,300

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 7.2%20212022: 2%20222023: 6.8%20232024: 5.3%20242025: 6.9%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units6.9%Percent onlyp. 21
2024Independent livingAll units5.3%Percent onlyp. 21
2023Independent livingAll units6.8%Percent onlyp. 21
2022Independent livingAll units2%Percent onlyp. 21
2021Independent livingAll units7.2%Percent onlyp. 21

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents rent.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Cardinal at North Hills is part of The Cardinal at North Hills, LLC and Affiliates (audited together with Tower at the Cardinal, LLC, operator of the adjacent East Tower at Cardinal North Hills).
  • Balance sheet: Combined balance sheet of The Cardinal at North Hills, LLC and Affiliates, which also includes the separately licensed East Tower at Cardinal North Hills (Tower at the Cardinal, LLC) and The Cardinal at North Hills Healthcare, LLC.
  • Ratios: The Cardinal at North Hills, LLC and The Cardinal at North Hills Healthcare, LLC (excludes the East Tower; FS-1 does not name the entities, but the 11 days and 5.96% margin reproduce only from these two columns).

Days cash on hand

11 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Read with these figuresThe 11 days covers The Cardinal at North Hills, LLC and its health center LLC only ($772,582 of cash), not the East Tower included in the combined balance sheet (combined: $1.31M cash, about 9 days). There is no debt, but both LLCs lease the campus from the affiliated landlord KSL Toledo Tenant, LLC (rent $9.6M in FY2025; lease liabilities $78.4M). The statutory operating reserve is met with a $6.9M bank letter of credit, not cash.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 39FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand11 days14 days6 days
Operating margin5.96%1.32%1.44%
Total assets$84.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$81.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$3.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Withum Smith+Brown, PC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 39

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 162024p. 162023p. 162022p. 162021p. 16
Independent living98.7%95.5%95.7%98.4%99%
Assisted living96.2%89%91.9%95.2%94.4%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care85.2%84.1%81%89%82.1%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
No rating
Quality measures
1 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $7,901. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 2. The Cardinal at North Hills on Care Compare

In brief

The Cardinal at North Hills is a for-profit rental continuing care retirement community in Raleigh's North Hills with 165 independent living residences, 55 assisted living units (including 18 for memory care) and 15 nursing beds, connected to the separately licensed East Tower. Residents pay a one-time non-refundable $50,000 community fee and monthly fees averaging $7,405 to $13,240 for one person, and pay the health center's published rates for any care. The provider has no debt but leases the campus from an affiliate; it reported 11 days cash on hand for FY2025 (the Cardinal and its health center LLC), with its statutory reserve met by a bank letter of credit.PDF

Also in Raleigh

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.