Skip to content

The Cypress of Raleigh

8801 Cypress Lakes Drive, Raleigh, North Carolina 27615 · Community website

Operator:
The Cypress of Raleigh Club, Inc. and The Cypress of Raleigh, LLC (managed by Life Care Services LLC)
Ownership:
Mixed nonprofit and for-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2008

Members own their Villa or Cottage as condominiums and, through The Cypress of Raleigh Owners' Association, Inc. (501(c)(3)), the common property including the Clubhouse and The Rosewood health center. The Club (501(c)(4) nonprofit) and The Cypress of Raleigh, LLC (developer, receives the 10% Membership Fee) hold the Membership Agreements; Life Care Services LLC manages day-to-day operations.

  • Equity

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Purchase + membership fee

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,828 to $6,560p. 38p. 39

Refund plans offered

None: residents buy their homes

Days cash on hand

182.08 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Debt service coverage is left blank: FS-1 prints 187.08x for FY2025, but the only debt is vehicle leases (FS-1 footnote, p2), so the ratio says nothing about the community's ability to carry debt. Days cash includes the reserves held under state statute ($6.4M) and the asset replacement reserve ($8.4M); unrestricted cash and cash equivalents alone were $905,060 at year-end, about 11 days.

Independent living occupancy

100% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Equity: You buy your unit.

How the contract types compare

EquityThe filing calls it Cypress Membership Agreement; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

For Membership Agreements signed on or after January 1, 2025, the included care was cut from 90 to 45 lifetime cumulative days in The Rosewood at the regular Monthly Payment; agreements signed before that date keep 90 days. During those days Members pay only extra meals and any room upgrade; after them they pay daily Member rates (2026: $220 private assisted living, $280 semi-private nursing) on top of the Monthly Payment, versus $365 and $450 for non-members. If The Rosewood is full the Club pays any extra cost of care elsewhere.p. 28

Assisted living
45 lifetime cumulative days at the regular Monthly Payment plus $76/day (private suite upgrade + 2 meals); after that $220/day Member rate (private AL suite) plus the Monthly Payment less an absence credit until the home is resold; non-member rate $365/day
Nursing care
45 lifetime cumulative days at the regular Monthly Payment plus $26/day for 2 extra meals (semi-private); after that $280/day Member rate (semi-private) plus the Monthly Payment less an absence credit until the home is resold; non-member rate $450/day
Care days included
45
Units on campusp. 18
Independent living319
Assisted living4
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care57

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residents buy their homes here rather than pay an entrance fee.

Residents buy a Villa or Cottage at a resale price set between seller and buyer (p36) and pay a separate, non-refundable Membership Fee of 10% of the gross purchase price to The Cypress of Raleigh, LLC at closing; each later buyer pays it again (Section 21.2, p36). There is no entrance fee and no refund (Section 22, p40). Purchasers who signed on or after January 1, 2012 also deposit a $14,000 Operating Reserve Deposit, refundable without interest on resale if unused (p45). Members whose Membership Agreements are signed on or after January 1, 2025 get 45 lifetime cumulative days in The Rosewood at the regular Monthly Payment; agreements signed before that date keep 90 days (pp28, 32). After that, Member daily rates apply on top of the Monthly Payment until the home is resold (p29).PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Cypress Membership Agreement · Equity (28 prices, $3,828 to $6,560)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
The Arbor – Building B VillaIndependent living$3,828p. 38$2,025
The Ascot – Building B VillaIndependent living$4,274p. 38$2,025
The Bayberry I – Building B VillaIndependent living$4,510p. 38$2,025
The Bayberry II – Building B VillaIndependent living$4,510p. 38$2,025
The Camden – Building B VillaIndependent living$4,919p. 38$2,025
The Covington – Building B VillaIndependent living$4,919p. 38$2,025
The Dogwood – Building B VillaIndependent living$4,857p. 38$2,025
The Rosewalk – Building B VillaIndependent living$5,197p. 38$2,025
The Indigo I – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$3,957p. 38$2,025
The Indigo II – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$3,957p. 38$2,025
The Park – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$4,884p. 38$2,025
The Azalea I – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$5,197p. 38$2,025
The Azalea II – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$5,197p. 39$2,025
The Gallery I – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$5,565p. 39$2,025
The Gallery II – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$5,565p. 39$2,025
The Osprey I – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$5,954p. 39$2,025
The Osprey III – Building A & C VillasIndependent living$5,954p. 39$2,025
The Ashcroft – Buildings D & E VillasIndependent living$4,510p. 39$2,025
The Bradford I – Buildings D & E VillasIndependent living$4,510p. 39$2,025
The Bradford II – Buildings D & E VillasIndependent living$4,510p. 39$2,025
The Caldwell – Buildings D & E VillasIndependent living$4,919p. 39$2,025
The Danbury – Buildings D & E VillasIndependent living$5,059p. 39$2,025
The Newport – Buildings D & E VillasIndependent living$5,197p. 39$2,025
The Prescott – Buildings D & E VillasIndependent living$5,382p. 39$2,025
The Holly – CottageIndependent living$6,072p. 39$2,025
The Laurel – CottageIndependent living$6,240p. 39$2,025
The Poplar – CottageIndependent living$6,240p. 39$2,025
The Magnolia – CottageIndependent living$6,560p. 39$2,025

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units+$227 a monthDollar change onlyp. 39
2024Independent livingAll units+$258 a monthDollar change onlyp. 39
2023Independent livingAll units+$392 a monthDollar change onlyp. 39
2022Independent livingAll units+$214 a monthDollar change onlyp. 39
2021Independent livingAll units+$91 a monthDollar change onlyp. 39

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents buy their homes, and the membership fee terms are under Entrance fees.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: The Cypress of Raleigh Club, Inc. and The Cypress of Raleigh Owners' Association, Inc. (combined).

Days cash on hand

182.08 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Read with these figuresDebt service coverage is left blank: FS-1 prints 187.08x for FY2025, but the only debt is vehicle leases (FS-1 footnote, p2), so the ratio says nothing about the community's ability to carry debt. Days cash includes the reserves held under state statute ($6.4M) and the asset replacement reserve ($8.4M); unrestricted cash and cash equivalents alone were $905,060 at year-end, about 11 days.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 104FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand182.08 days165.44 days129.82 days
Total assets$34.7 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$2.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$16,479Not disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$31.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: Dreher Martin CPAs, P.A.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 104

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living100%100%100%100%100%
Assisted living93%100%75%75%100%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care82%81%84%86%75%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

The Cypress of Raleigh is an ownership community where residents buy a Villa or Cottage and pay a non-refundable membership fee of 10% of the purchase price instead of an entrance fee. At the end of 2025 it had 319 independent homes, 4 adult care home beds and 57 nursing beds in The Rosewood, with independent living 100% occupied. Agreements signed on or after January 1, 2025 include 45 lifetime days of health-center care at the regular monthly payment (down from 90 for earlier agreements), after which Member daily rates below the non-member rates apply.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.