Skip to content

Springmoor Life Care Retirement Community

1500 Sawmill Road, Raleigh, North Carolina 27615 · Community website

Operator:
Springmoor, Inc. (managed by Ammons Springmoor Associates, Inc.)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1984

Nonprofit provider that leases its land and buildings from Ammons family companies (Ammons, Inc. and Ammons-Springmoor Assoc., LLC). All staff are employed by the for-profit manager Ammons Springmoor Associates, Inc., 90% owned by the CEO, David Ammons.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

In this filing

  • 2026-05-19: First Citizens Bank granted Springmoor a $13,000,000 letter of credit, approved by the Insurance Commissioner, to fund its statutory operating reserve requirement.p. 62
  • 2025-12: Springmoor did not meet the North Carolina statutory operating reserve requirement on December 31, 2025 ($12,382,000 per audit Note B; the disclosure's Table 29.1 shows $13,018,000 required and a $5.5 million deficit). The Department of Insurance had notified it on November 21, 2025 that, from December 1, 2025, notes receivable no longer counted as qualifying reserve assets.p. 62

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$144,500 to $622,800p. 18p. 19

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,811 to $6,703p. 17p. 18

Refund plans offered

  • Life OccupancyCan decline to nothing
  • 50% Refund Entry FeeNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 100% Refund Entry FeeNever less than 100% of the fee

Days cash on hand

80 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The 80 days counts $2.28M of certificates of deposit held toward the statutory operating reserve; cash alone ($7.81M) is about 62 days. Springmoor leases its campus from Ammons family entities, and its largest assets ($35.3M) are notes receivable from those landlords, which are not counted in days cash.

Independent living occupancy

98% (2025)p. 14

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Type B; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

30 days of Health Center care included each year (bankable to 90). Short-term stays after that are at 30% of the daily rate; permanent stays are at the full daily rate under the contract, though the disclosure narrative says 60% (see notes).p. 104

Assisted living
Assisted living and skilled nursing are both in Stewart Health Center and use the same eligible-day rules; the document publishes no Health Center daily rate.
Nursing care
30 eligible days a year with no per diem (up to 90 can be banked; not usable on a direct admission until 90 days of residence). After they run out, a short-term stay costs the monthly fee plus 30% of the Health Center daily rate; a permanent ('continuing care') stay costs the full daily rate per the contract, plus the old residence's monthly fee until it is vacated.
Care days included
30
Units on campusp. 13
Independent living388
Assisted living18
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care173

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (48 prices, $144,500 to $622,800)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – AlcoveLife Occupancyfrom $144,500p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Alcove50% Refund Entry Feefrom $191,800p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Alcove100% Refund Entry Feefrom $259,300p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One BedroomLife Occupancyfrom $206,200p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom50% Refund Entry Feefrom $274,200p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom100% Refund Entry Feefrom $370,200p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom DeluxeLife Occupancyfrom $221,400p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom Deluxe50% Refund Entry Feefrom $294,400p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom Deluxe100% Refund Entry Feefrom $397,200p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom Deluxe PlusLife Occupancyfrom $247,500p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom Deluxe Plus50% Refund Entry Feefrom $328,900p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom Deluxe Plus100% Refund Entry Feefrom $443,800p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two BedroomLife Occupancyfrom $267,500p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom50% Refund Entry Feefrom $355,900p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom100% Refund Entry Feefrom $480,200p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom DeluxeLife Occupancyfrom $298,000p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom Deluxe50% Refund Entry Feefrom $396,700p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom Deluxe100% Refund Entry Feefrom $535,200p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom with DenLife Occupancyfrom $245,100p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom with Den50% Refund Entry Feefrom $326,200p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom with Den100% Refund Entry Feefrom $440,400p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom with DenLife Occupancyfrom $317,000p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom with Den50% Refund Entry Feefrom $417,800p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom with Den100% Refund Entry Feefrom $564,000p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom with Den (second of two rows so named)Life Occupancyfrom $332,700p. 18$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom with Den (second of two rows so named)50% Refund Entry Feefrom $442,300p. 18$20,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom with Den (second of two rows so named)100% Refund Entry Feefrom $597,200p. 18$22,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom Deluxe with DenLife Occupancyfrom $346,800p. 19$18,000
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom Deluxe with Den50% Refund Entry Feefrom $461,000p. 19$20,200
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom Deluxe with Den100% Refund Entry Feefrom $622,800p. 19$22,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – EfficiencyLife Occupancyfrom $157,500p. 19$18,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Efficiency50% Refund Entry Feefrom $209,400p. 19$20,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Efficiency100% Refund Entry Feefrom $282,900p. 19$22,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – AlcoveLife Occupancyfrom $170,300p. 19$18,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Alcove50% Refund Entry Feefrom $226,800p. 19$20,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Alcove100% Refund Entry Feefrom $306,000p. 19$22,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Efficiency DeluxeLife Occupancyfrom $176,800p. 19$18,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Efficiency Deluxe50% Refund Entry Feefrom $234,800p. 19$20,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Efficiency Deluxe100% Refund Entry Feefrom $317,000p. 19$22,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – One BedroomLife Occupancyfrom $242,400p. 19$18,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – One Bedroom50% Refund Entry Feefrom $332,400p. 19$20,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – One Bedroom100% Refund Entry Feefrom $435,300p. 19$22,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – One Bedroom PlusLife Occupancyfrom $247,500p. 19$18,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – One Bedroom Plus50% Refund Entry Feefrom $328,900p. 19$20,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – One Bedroom Plus100% Refund Entry Feefrom $443,800p. 19$22,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Two BedroomLife Occupancyfrom $305,900p. 19$18,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Two Bedroom50% Refund Entry Feefrom $406,800p. 19$20,000
Independent Supportive Living Center/The Pointe – Two Bedroom100% Refund Entry Feefrom $549,200p. 19$22,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (16 prices, $3,811 to $6,703)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – AlcoveIndependent living$3,811p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One BedroomIndependent living$4,370p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$4,865p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom Deluxe PlusIndependent living$5,386p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two BedroomIndependent living$5,760p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$6,065p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – One Bedroom with DenIndependent living$4,851p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom with DenIndependent living$6,021p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom with Den (second of two rows so named)Independent living$6,161p. 17$1,175
Independent Living Homes/Villas/Apartments – Two Bedroom Deluxe with DenIndependent living$6,634p. 18$1,175
Independent Living Supportive Living Center – EfficiencyIndependent living$4,907p. 18$2,022
Independent Living Supportive Living Center – AlcoveIndependent living$5,394p. 18$2,022
Independent Living Supportive Living Center – Efficiency DeluxeIndependent living$5,394p. 18$2,022
Independent Living Supportive Living Center – One BedroomIndependent living$6,001p. 18$2,022
Independent Living Supportive Living Center – One Bedroom PlusIndependent living$6,221p. 18$2,022
Independent Living Supportive Living Center – Two BedroomIndependent living$6,703p. 18$2,022

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 5.25%20212022: 5.2%20222023: 6.8%20232024: 5.25%20242025: 5.85%20252026: 4.5%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 18
2025Independent livingAll units5.85%Percent onlyp. 18
2024Independent livingAll units5.25%Percent onlyp. 18
2023Independent livingAll units6.8%Percent onlyp. 18
2022Independent livingAll units5.2%Percent onlyp. 18
2021Independent livingAll units5.25%Percent onlyp. 18

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Life Occupancyp. 100

Fully refundable if either side cancels in the first 90 days. After that the refund drops 4% for each month from the move-in date and reaches nothing after 25 months. Any refund is paid within 30 days after your residence is reoccupied.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 25 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refund Entry Feep. 100

The contract calls it the 50% Life Equity Fee. Fully refundable in the 90-day probationary period, then the refund drops 2% a month from move-in until it reaches 50% after 25 months. Paid within 30 days after your residence is reoccupied.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 25 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

100% Refund Entry Feep. 102

The contract calls it the 100% Life Equity Fee. The whole fee comes back, but not before the later of six years after move-in or 30 days after your residence is reoccupied, so even a quick resale is not paid out before year six.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
100% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Springmoor, Inc.
  • Ratios: Springmoor, Inc. (provider only; not part of an obligated group).

Days cash on hand

80 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

3.09x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe 80 days counts $2.28M of certificates of deposit held toward the statutory operating reserve; cash alone ($7.81M) is about 62 days. Springmoor leases its campus from Ammons family entities, and its largest assets ($35.3M) are notes receivable from those landlords, which are not counted in days cash.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 46FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand80 days70 days63 days
Debt service coverage3.09x6.77x0.85x
Operating margin-22.4%-24.08%-33.89%
Total assets$109.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$135.1 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$6.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$30.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$37.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$25.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: James A. Lucas and Company, L.L.P.. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 46

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 142024p. 142023p. 142022p. 142021p. 14
Independent living98%96%95%95%96%
Assisted living89%59%74%81%84%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care55%51%47%51%43%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2026-07 Springmoor and its landlords (Ammons, Inc. and Ammons-Springmoor Assoc., LLC) agreed to amended leases from July 1, 2026, at a fixed rate with increases capped at 4% a year, running through June 30, 2041, replacing discretionary rent deferrals and forgiveness.p. 12
  • 2026-05-19 First Citizens Bank granted Springmoor a $13,000,000 letter of credit, approved by the Insurance Commissioner, to fund its statutory operating reserve requirement.p. 62
  • 2025-12 Springmoor did not meet the North Carolina statutory operating reserve requirement on December 31, 2025 ($12,382,000 per audit Note B; the disclosure's Table 29.1 shows $13,018,000 required and a $5.5 million deficit). The Department of Insurance had notified it on November 21, 2025 that, from December 1, 2025, notes receivable no longer counted as qualifying reserve assets.p. 62

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Springmoor is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community in Raleigh, opened in 1984, with 388 independent living units, 18 assisted living beds and 173 skilled nursing beds on land leased from Ammons family companies. Entrance fees run from $144,500 to $622,800 for one person under Life Occupancy, 50% and 100% refund plans, with 30 Health Center days included each year; after those days the contract charges permanent residents the full Health Center daily rate, while the disclosure narrative says 60% of it. Its audited FY2025 statements show liabilities exceeding assets by $25.2 million; it did not meet the state operating reserve requirement at December 31, 2025, and a $13 million bank letter of credit approved by the Insurance Commissioner was granted on May 19, 2026.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.