Skip to content

Twin Lakes Community

3701 Wade Coble Drive, Burlington, North Carolina 27215 · Community website

Operator:
Lutheran Retirement Ministries of Alamance County, North Carolina
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Lutheran (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, through Macedonia Evangelical Lutheran Church)
Opened:
1983
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$67,000 to $599,000p. 23

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,033 to $3,860p. 23

Refund plans offered

  • Standard RefundCan decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundNever less than 50% of the fee

Days cash on hand

410.29 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Margin caution: the 13.29% net operating margin is the NC statutory ratio from the Key Financial Metrics table (p2), which does not mark its years as audited; the audited statement of operations shows a GAAP operating loss of $4,039,041 on $46,100,888 of operating revenue for FY2025 (p36), about -8.8%, after $10.9M of depreciation and $4.0M of interest.

Independent living occupancy

96.6% (2025)p. 16

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Care is paid at Twin Lakes' daily and monthly rates, but residents pay $402 a day for a private skilled nursing room against a $432 market rate for non-community members (about 7% less), and get up to three grace days a year of temporary care without an extra occupancy charge (not cumulative, ending on a long-term move to health care). Residents have priority over outside admissions; during a temporary stay they also keep paying their independent living fee.p. 23

Assisted living
Deacon Pointe assisted living at its monthly fee ($6,540 small, $6,958 large apartment)
Nursing care
Coble Creek skilled nursing private room $402/day for community members versus $432/day market rate for non-community members; memory care $373 semi-private / $384 private per day
Care days included
3
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 14
Independent living482
Assisted living36
Memory care32
Nursing care104

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Contract · Type B (modified) (44 prices, $67,000 to $599,000)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Aldersgate & Brandenburg Apartments - Heather 1BR/1BA600Standard Refund$67,000p. 23$6,500
Aldersgate & Brandenburg Apartments - Heather 1BR/1BA60050% Refund$101,000p. 23$6,500
Aldersgate & Brandenburg Apartments - Laurel 2BR/1BA800Standard Refund$79,000p. 23$6,500
Aldersgate & Brandenburg Apartments - Laurel 2BR/1BA80050% Refund$119,000p. 23$6,500
Wittenberg Apartments - Edelweiss 1BR/1BA819Standard Refund$98,000p. 23$6,500
Wittenberg Apartments - Edelweiss 1BR/1BA81950% Refund$148,000p. 23$6,500
Wittenberg Apartments - Iris 2BR/2BA969Standard Refund$118,000p. 23$6,500
Wittenberg Apartments - Iris 2BR/2BA96950% Refund$176,000p. 23$6,500
Wittenberg Apartments - Valerian 2BR/2BA1,007Standard Refund$118,000p. 23$6,500
Wittenberg Apartments - Valerian 2BR/2BA1,00750% Refund$176,000p. 23$6,500
Villa 2BR/2BA - Acacia1,311Standard Refund$163,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Acacia1,31150% Refund$245,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Chestnut1,311Standard Refund$174,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Chestnut1,31150% Refund$262,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Aspen1,311Standard Refund$182,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Aspen1,31150% Refund$273,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Birch1,602Standard Refund$227,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Birch1,60250% Refund$340,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Dogwood1,677Standard Refund$242,000p. 23$13,000
Villa 2BR/2BA - Dogwood1,67750% Refund$363,000p. 23$13,000
Stockton Apartments - Magnolia 1BR/1BA/study1,046Standard Refund$182,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Magnolia 1BR/1BA/study1,04650% Refund$265,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Oak 2BR/2BA1,460Standard Refund$249,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Oak 2BR/2BA1,46050% Refund$369,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Poplar 2BR/2BA/study1,672Standard Refund$293,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Poplar 2BR/2BA/study1,67250% Refund$434,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Redbud 2BR/2BA/study1,726Standard Refund$333,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Redbud 2BR/2BA/study1,72650% Refund$492,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Sycamore 2BR/2BA/study1,780Standard Refund$353,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Sycamore 2BR/2BA/study1,78050% Refund$520,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Tupelo 2BR/2BA/study1,939Standard Refund$374,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Tupelo 2BR/2BA/study1,93950% Refund$556,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Willow 2BR/2.5BA/study1,950Standard Refund$381,000p. 23$18,000
Stockton Apartments - Willow 2BR/2.5BA/study1,95050% Refund$563,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Juniper1,750Standard Refund$306,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Juniper1,75050% Refund$458,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Evergreen1,888Standard Refund$331,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Evergreen1,88850% Refund$496,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Forsythia1,960Standard Refund$348,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Forsythia1,96050% Refund$524,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Gardenia2,000Standard Refund$362,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Gardenia2,00050% Refund$543,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Holly2,200Standard Refund$399,000p. 23$18,000
Garden Home 3BR - Holly2,20050% Refund$599,000p. 23$18,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Contract · Type B (modified) (24 prices, $2,033 to $6,958)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Aldersgate & Brandenburg Apartments - Heather 1BR/1BAIndependent living$2,033p. 23$249
Aldersgate & Brandenburg Apartments - Laurel 2BR/1BAIndependent living$2,296p. 23$795
Wittenberg Apartments - Edelweiss 1BR/1BAIndependent living$2,547p. 23$795
Wittenberg Apartments - Iris 2BR/2BAIndependent living$2,657p. 23$795
Wittenberg Apartments - Valerian 2BR/2BAIndependent living$2,657p. 23$795
Villa 2BR/2BA - AcaciaIndependent living$2,884p. 23$795
Villa 2BR/2BA - ChestnutIndependent living$2,884p. 23$795
Villa 2BR/2BA - AspenIndependent living$2,884p. 23$795
Villa 2BR/2BA - BirchIndependent living$2,998p. 23$795
Villa 2BR/2BA - DogwoodIndependent living$2,998p. 23$795
Stockton Apartments - Magnolia 1BR/1BA/studyIndependent living$2,931p. 23$818
Stockton Apartments - Oak 2BR/2BAIndependent living$2,994p. 23$818
Stockton Apartments - Poplar 2BR/2BA/studyIndependent living$3,079p. 23$800
Stockton Apartments - Redbud 2BR/2BA/studyIndependent living$3,179p. 23$818
Stockton Apartments - Sycamore 2BR/2BA/studyIndependent living$3,328p. 23$818
Stockton Apartments - Tupelo 2BR/2BA/studyIndependent living$3,572p. 23$818
Stockton Apartments - Willow 2BR/2.5BA/studyIndependent living$3,592p. 23$818
Garden Home 3BR - JuniperIndependent living$3,207p. 23$818
Garden Home 3BR - EvergreenIndependent living$3,429p. 23$818
Garden Home 3BR - ForsythiaIndependent living$3,429p. 23$818
Garden Home 3BR - GardeniaIndependent living$3,647p. 23$818
Garden Home 3BR - HollyIndependent living$3,860p. 23$818
Deacon Pointe Assisted Living - Small apartmentAssisted living$6,540p. 23Not listed
Deacon Pointe Assisted Living - Large apartmentAssisted living$6,958p. 23Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3%20212022: 3%20222023: 4%20232024: 5%20242025: 5%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 24
2025Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 24
2025Nursing careAll units6%Percent onlyp. 24
2025Memory careAll units7%Percent onlyp. 24
2024Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 24
2024Assisted livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 24
2024Nursing careAll units6%Percent onlyp. 24
2024Memory careAll units6%Percent onlyp. 24
2023Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 24
2023Assisted livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 24
2023Nursing careAll units6%Percent onlyp. 24
2023Memory careAll units4%Percent onlyp. 24
2022Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 24
2022Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 24
2022Nursing careAll units3%Percent onlyp. 24
2022Memory careAll units0%Percent onlyp. 24
2021Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 24
2021Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 24
2021Nursing careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 24
2021Memory careAll units1%Percent onlyp. 24

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard Refundp. 95

4% of the entry fee is never refundable; the other 96% declines day by day over 912 days (about 30 months, roughly 3.2% a month), after which nothing is refunded. Any refund is paid within 60 days after the later of moving out or the unit being re-leased and its new entry fee received.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
3.2% a month for 30 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundp. 19

Half of the entry fee is always refundable. Of the other half, 96% declines day by day over 912 days (about 30 months), so the refund starts near 98% and reaches 50% after 30 months. It is paid within 60 days after the later of moving out or the unit being re-leased and its new entry fee received.

Kept on move-in
2% of the fee
Declines by
1.6% a month for 30 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Lutheran Retirement Ministries of Alamance County, North Carolina.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

410.29 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.91x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresMargin caution: the 13.29% net operating margin is the NC statutory ratio from the Key Financial Metrics table (p2), which does not mark its years as audited; the audited statement of operations shows a GAAP operating loss of $4,039,041 on $46,100,888 of operating revenue for FY2025 (p36), about -8.8%, after $10.9M of depreciation and $4.0M of interest.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 35FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand410.29 days317.95 days299.84 days
Debt service coverage2.91x4.96x2.29x
Operating margin13.29%8.59%1.66%
Total assets$295.9 million$254.3 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$226.0 million$184.3 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$135.2 million$111.1 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$57.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$17.2 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$69.9 million$70.0 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Gilliam Bell Moser LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 35

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 162024p. 162023p. 162022p. 162021p. 16
Independent living96.6%97.9%97.1%96.3%95.9%
Assisted living89.4%91.2%90.3%80.3%80.9%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care91.5%91.6%92.3%88.1%73.7%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $6,152. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 7. Twin Lakes Community on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 1998. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Twin Lakes Community, a single-site Lutheran CCRC on about 215 acres in Elon, has 482 independent living homes, 36 assisted living apartments, 32 memory care beds and 104 skilled nursing beds, with 36 more apartments due in 2026. Entry fees run from $67,000 to $599,000 on two plans: Standard, which declines to no refund over 30 months, and 50% Refund. Residents pay for care at daily and monthly rates: skilled nursing is $402 a day for residents against a $432 market rate, plus up to three grace days a year of temporary care without an occupancy charge.PDF

Also in Burlington

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.