Skip to content

The Village at Brookwood

1860 Brookwood Ave, Burlington, North Carolina 27215 · Community website

Operator:
Alamance Extended Care, Inc. d/b/a The Village at Brookwood (sole member Well-Spring Services, Inc.; parent Kintura)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
2003
  • Type A (life care)
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$162,000 to $567,000p. 27p. 26

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,081 to $6,104p. 25

Refund plans offered

  • Standard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

100 (FY2025)p. 2Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for The Village at Brookwood (community only); the bond covenants apply to the Well-Spring Services obligated group
Read the note on this figure

The 100 days counts the $4.0M statutory operating reserve: Brookwood's cash ($0.84M) + investments ($0.13M) + the reserve ($4.01M) = the $4.98M of 'unrestricted cash and investments' the statement cites (p35, p86). Cash and investments alone are about $0.97M, roughly 20 days at the same daily expense rate the statement used for its 100. The Well-Spring Services obligated group, which owes the bonds, reports 433 days and 3.97x coverage for FY2025 (p40, p42).

Independent living occupancy

95.51% (2025)p. 21

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)The filing calls it Life Care (Type A); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Life Care residents get 14 free Health Care Center days a calendar year (the contract limits its 14-day respite benefit to skilled nursing), then pay one Lifecare rate, set at the weighted-average single Lifecare monthly fee ($5,594 in 2026), whatever the level of care. Fee-for-service residents pay $7,635-$13,740 a month for the same care.p. 154

Assisted living
Life Care Benefit monthly fee of $5,594 ($186 a day) in 2026, the same for assisted living, memory care and skilled nursing, plus two extra daily meals and ancillaries; 14 free Health Care Center days a year first.
Nursing care
Same $5,594 Life Care Benefit monthly fee, plus meals and ancillaries.
Care days included
14

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it Fee For Service (Type B-Modified Life Care); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Fee-for-service residents pay the published per diem rate for assisted living, memory care and skilled nursing, with priority access to the Health Care Center. No free days or discount are stated in the contract or projections.p. 169

Assisted living
Per diem rates: assisted living $7,635 a month ($255 a day), memory support $9,880 ($329 a day) in 2026.
Nursing care
Per diem rate: $13,740 a month ($458 a day) in 2026.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 20
Independent living176
Assisted living12
Memory care12
Nursing care24

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Life Care Residence & Services Agreement · Type A (life care) (10 prices, $257,000 to $567,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Azalea (One Bedroom) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$257,000p. 26$46,000
Birch (One Bedroom + Den) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$315,000p. 26$46,000
Camellia (Two Bedroom) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$347,000p. 26$46,000
Dogwood (Two Bedroom + Den) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$388,000p. 26$46,000
Elm (Two Bedroom Deluxe) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$430,000p. 26$46,000
Holly (Two Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$440,000p. 26$46,000
Juniper (Two Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$506,000p. 26$53,000
Magnolia or Maple (Three Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$473,000p. 26$46,000
Oak (Two Bedroom + Den/Office) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$493,000p. 26$46,000
Pine (Three Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$567,000p. 26$53,000
Fee for Service Residence & Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (10 prices, $162,000 to $431,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Azalea (One Bedroom) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$162,000p. 27$29,000
Birch (One Bedroom + Den) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$205,000p. 27$30,000
Camellia (Two Bedroom) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$243,000p. 27$32,000
Dogwood (Two Bedroom + Den) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$272,000p. 27$32,000
Elm (Two Bedroom Deluxe) - IL AptStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$301,000p. 27$32,000
Holly (Two Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$335,000p. 27$35,000
Juniper (Two Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$385,000p. 27$40,000
Magnolia or Maple (Three Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$360,000p. 27$35,000
Oak (Two Bedroom + Den/Office) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$375,000p. 27$35,000
Pine (Three Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeStandard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)$431,000p. 27$40,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Life Care Residence & Services Agreement · Type A (life care) (13 prices, $3,667 to $6,104)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Azalea (One Bedroom) - IL AptIndependent living$3,667p. 25$1,796
Birch (One Bedroom + Den) - IL AptIndependent living$3,988p. 25$1,796
Camellia (Two Bedroom) - IL AptIndependent living$4,359p. 25$1,796
Dogwood (Two Bedroom + Den) - IL AptIndependent living$4,730p. 25$1,796
Elm (Two Bedroom Deluxe) - IL AptIndependent living$5,129p. 25$1,796
Holly (Two Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,601p. 25$1,796
Juniper (Two Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,672p. 25$1,796
Magnolia or Maple (Three Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,860p. 25$1,796
Oak (Two Bedroom + Den/Office) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$6,030p. 25$1,796
Pine (Three Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$6,104p. 25$1,796
Assisted Living (Life Care Benefit)Assisted living$5,594p. 25Not listed
Memory Care (Life Care Benefit)Memory care$5,594p. 25Not listed
Skilled Nursing (Life Care Benefit)Nursing care$5,594p. 25Not listed
Fee for Service Residence & Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (13 prices, $3,081 to $13,740)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Azalea (One Bedroom) - IL AptIndependent living$3,081p. 25$1,148
Birch (One Bedroom + Den) - IL AptIndependent living$3,399p. 25$1,148
Camellia (Two Bedroom) - IL AptIndependent living$3,771p. 25$1,148
Dogwood (Two Bedroom + Den) - IL AptIndependent living$4,177p. 25$1,148
Elm (Two Bedroom Deluxe) - IL AptIndependent living$4,580p. 25$1,148
Holly (Two Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$4,621p. 25$1,148
Juniper (Two Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$4,697p. 26$1,148
Magnolia or Maple (Three Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$4,917p. 26$1,148
Oak (Two Bedroom + Den/Office) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,084p. 26$1,148
Pine (Three Bedroom) - IL Garden HomeIndependent living$5,162p. 26$1,148
Assisted Living (per diem rate)Assisted living$7,635p. 26Not listed
Memory Support (per diem rate)Memory care$9,880p. 26Not listed
Skilled Nursing (per diem rate)Nursing care$13,740p. 26Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5.01%20222023: 7%20232024: 5.75%20242025: 5.25%20252026: 4.75%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 26
2025Independent livingAll units5.25%Percent onlyp. 26
2024Independent livingAll units5.75%Percent onlyp. 26
2023Independent livingAll units7%Percent onlyp. 26
2022Independent livingAll units5.01%Percent onlyp. 26

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard (6% nonrefundable, 2% per month, 0% after 47 months)p. 153

An initial 6% of the entrance fee is nonrefundable and the rest amortizes at 2% a month, reaching no refund after 47 months. Any refund is paid when the residence is reserved by a new resident who has paid the full entrance fee, or within one year of termination, whichever comes first, less restoration costs and unpaid charges.

Kept on move-in
6% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 47 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • The Village at Brookwood is part of Well-Spring Services obligated group (with Well-Spring Retirement Community), part of Kintura.
  • Balance sheet: Alamance Extended Care, Inc. d/b/a The Village at Brookwood (column of the Well-Spring Services, Inc. consolidating balance sheet).
  • Ratios: The Village at Brookwood (community only); the bond covenants apply to the Well-Spring Services obligated group.

Days cash on hand

100 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.72x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe 100 days counts the $4.0M statutory operating reserve: Brookwood's cash ($0.84M) + investments ($0.13M) + the reserve ($4.01M) = the $4.98M of 'unrestricted cash and investments' the statement cites (p35, p86). Cash and investments alone are about $0.97M, roughly 20 days at the same daily expense rate the statement used for its 100. The Well-Spring Services obligated group, which owes the bonds, reports 433 days and 3.97x coverage for FY2025 (p40, p42).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 87FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand100 days98 days144 days
Debt service coverage2.72x3.19x1.56x
Operating margin5.45%3.55%-5.57%
Total assets$60.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$61.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$23.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$15.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$3.6 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$946,758Not disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 87

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 212024p. 212023p. 212022p. 212021p. 21
Independent living95.51%97.16%95.63%94.19%95.48%
Assisted living73.57%79.17%70.83%70.83%79.17%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care82.47%91.67%70.83%91.67%75%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024Ownership change Kintura was formed through the affiliation of The Presbyterian Homes, Inc. (Brightspire) and Well-Spring Services, Inc.; Kintura is now the controlling corporate parent and appoints the board.p. 8
  • 2022-07Ownership change The Village at Brookwood became part of the nonprofit Well-Spring Group family, after being a member of the Cone Health family and managed by Well-Spring from 2017 to 2022.p. 142

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 1. Edgewood Place at the Village at Brookwood on Care Compare

In brief

The Village at Brookwood in Burlington, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community on about 50 acres with 176 independent living apartments and garden homes, 24 assisted living units (12 for memory care) and 24 skilled nursing beds, part of Kintura and the Well-Spring Services obligated group. It sells a Life Care contract (2026 entrance fees $257,000-$567,000, care at a flat $5,594 a month after 14 free days a year) and a Fee for Service contract ($162,000-$431,000, care at per diem rates), both declining to no refund after 47 months. Its own balance sheet showed net assets of about -$0.9M at the end of 2025.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.