Home › Compare
Abernethy Laurels and The Pines at Davidson compared
Two North Carolina communities about 22 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Abernethy Laurels | The Pines at Davidson |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Newton, NC | Davidson, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type B (modified), Rental | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $40,500 to $543,000p. 28 | $40,000 to $1,150,000p. 25p. 24 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $1,949 to $5,094p. 26 | $700 to $8,183p. 25p. 22 |
| Refund plans | Fully Declining (0% Refundable); 50% Refundablep. 49p. 48 | Range across refund plans (plan not specified); Standard Entrance Fee Option (declining balance); 50% Refund Entrance Fee Option; 90% Refund Entrance Fee Option; Early Advantage declining balance (0% after 12 months)p. 24p. 30p. 31p. 27 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 50% of the feep. 49p. 48 | 85% of the feep. 24p. 30p. 31p. 27 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 49p. 48 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 24p. 30p. 31p. 27 |
| Days cash on hand | 566 days (FY2025)p. 2Figures for EveryAge (provider only; includes Piedmont Crossing). Provider-level ratios for EveryAge. The bond obligated group (which adds Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p46). Provider-level days cash rests on $78,345,214 of unrestricted cash and investments held by EveryAge (Table 29.1-29.2, p39-40). | 630 days (FY2025)p. 2Counts the $8,025,000 statutory operating reserve, which cannot be used without regulatory approval; cash ($5.3M) and investments ($39.8M) alone ≈ 534 days. Section 29 also gives unrestricted cash and investments as both $53.2M and $47.8M. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 5.26x (FY2025)p. 2Figures for EveryAge (provider only; includes Piedmont Crossing). Provider-level ratios for EveryAge. The bond obligated group (which adds Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p46). Provider-level days cash rests on $78,345,214 of unrestricted cash and investments held by EveryAge (Table 29.1-29.2, p39-40). | 4.10x (FY2025)p. 2Counts the $8,025,000 statutory operating reserve, which cannot be used without regulatory approval; cash ($5.3M) and investments ($39.8M) alone ≈ 534 days. Section 29 also gives unrestricted cash and investments as both $53.2M and $47.8M. |
| Independent living occupancy | 91.98% (2025)p. 23 | 94.7% (2025)p. 18 |
| Net position | $69.6 million (FY2025)p. 2 | $61.5 million (FY2025)p. 54 |
| Whose finances | EveryAge and Affiliates (combined); ratios for EveryAge (provider only; includes Piedmont Crossing)p. 2 | The Pines at Davidson, Inc. (consolidated); ratios for The Pines at Davidson, Inc. (sole member of its obligated group)p. 54 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 2 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 54 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
Abernethy Laurels
Type B (modified): Assisted living and nursing are paid at the per diem rates with a fixed daily discount for contract holders; residential living residents also get 12 non-cumulative nurse visits a year. If no bed is available, residents get priority application at other EveryAge nursing facilities.p. 27
The Pines at Davidson
Type B (modified): 14 days each calendar year in assisted living, memory care or nursing with no per diem charge (meals excepted). After that, residents who signed on or after July 1, 2018 pay the published per diem: $246 a day for private assisted living, $367 or $381 for private long-term nursing. A permanent transfer means giving up the independent living unit; after more than 30 nursing days in a 90-day period a temporary resident may surrender the unit or keep paying its monthly fee on top of the per diem. Residents who signed before July 1, 2018 pay a discounted daily rate. Priority access on a space-available basis.p. 19