Skip to content

Abernethy Laurels

102 Leonard Avenue, Newton, North Carolina 28658 · Community website

Operator:
EveryAge
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Church of Christ (Southern Conference)
Opened:
1971
  • Type B (modified)
  • Rental

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$40,500 to $543,000p. 28

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,949 to $5,094p. 26

Refund plans offered

  • Fully Declining (0% Refundable)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundableNever less than 50% of the fee

Days cash on hand

566 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for EveryAge (provider only; includes Piedmont Crossing)
Read the note on this figure

Provider-level ratios for EveryAge. The bond obligated group (which adds Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p46). Provider-level days cash rests on $78,345,214 of unrestricted cash and investments held by EveryAge (Table 29.1-29.2, p39-40).

Independent living occupancy

91.98% (2025)p. 23

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)The filing calls it fee-for-service or limited-benefit; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Assisted living and nursing are paid at the per diem rates with a fixed daily discount for contract holders; residential living residents also get 12 non-cumulative nurse visits a year. If no bed is available, residents get priority application at other EveryAge nursing facilities.p. 27

Assisted living
Per diem assisted living rate less a $5/day discount for contracted residents (Assisted Living Studio A $6,418/month, B $6,935/month before discount).
Nursing care
Per diem skilled nursing rate less a $10/day discount for residents contracted after 10/01/2014 (companion suite $10,159/month, private rehab room $14,174/month before discount).
Units on campusp. 22
Independent living187
Assisted living18
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care174

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fully Declining Residential Living Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (8 prices, $40,500 to $362,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Pavilion Efficiency ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$40,500p. 28No extra charge
Pavillion Efficiency Deluxe ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$40,500p. 28No extra charge
Pavillion One Bedroom ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$55,500p. 28No extra charge
Pavillion One Bedroom Deluxe ApartmentFully Declining (0% Refundable)$83,500p. 28No extra charge
Village One Bedroom Patio HomeFully Declining (0% Refundable)$125,000 to $139,500p. 28No extra charge
Village Two Bedroom Patio HomeFully Declining (0% Refundable)$134,500 to $161,500p. 28No extra charge
VillaFully Declining (0% Refundable)$148,500 to $303,000p. 28No extra charge
CottageFully Declining (0% Refundable)$219,500 to $362,000p. 28No extra charge
50% Refund Residential Living Residency Agreement · Type B (modified) (8 prices, $60,750 to $543,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Pavilion Efficiency Apartment50% Refundable$60,750p. 28No extra charge
Pavillion Efficiency Deluxe Apartment50% Refundable$60,750p. 28No extra charge
Pavillion One Bedroom Apartment50% Refundable$83,250p. 28No extra charge
Pavillion One Bedroom Deluxe Apartment50% Refundable$125,250p. 28No extra charge
Village One Bedroom Patio Home50% Refundable$187,500 to $209,250p. 28No extra charge
Village Two Bedroom Patio Home50% Refundable$201,750 to $242,250p. 28No extra charge
Villa50% Refundable$222,750 to $454,500p. 28No extra charge
Cottage50% Refundable$329,250 to $543,000p. 28No extra charge

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residential Living Residency Agreement (both refund options) · Type B (modified) (13 prices, $1,949 to $14,174)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Residential Living – Pavilion 1-Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$5,094p. 26$1,396
Residential Living – Pavilion 1-Bedroom ApartmentIndependent living$4,868p. 26$1,396
Residential Living – Pavilion Deluxe Efficiency ApartmentIndependent living$4,192p. 26$1,396
Residential Living – Pavilion Efficiency ApartmentIndependent living$3,771p. 26$1,396
Residential Living – Village 1-Bedroom Patio HomeIndependent living$1,949p. 26$859
Residential Living – Village 2-Bedroom Patio HomeIndependent living$2,101p. 27$859
Residential Living – Village VillaIndependent living$2,246p. 27$859
Residential Living – Village CottageIndependent living$2,450p. 27$859
Skilled Nursing Rehab – Private RoomNursing care$14,174p. 27Not listed
Skilled Nursing Companion SuiteNursing care$10,159p. 27Not listed
Memory SupportMemory care$11,467p. 27Not listed
Assisted Living Studio AAssisted living$6,418p. 27Not listed
Assisted Living BAssisted living$6,935p. 27Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 4%20212022: 6%20222023: 4%20232024: 4%20242025: 4%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 27
2024Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 27
2023Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 27
2022Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 27
2021Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 27

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Fully Declining (0% Refundable)p. 49

From day 91 the refundable amount drops to 90% of the entrance fee, then falls 2.73% a month and reaches nothing after month 36. Any refund is paid within 30 days after the unit is remarketed and the new resident's fee is paid in full.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
2.73% a month for 36 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundablep. 48

From day 91 the refundable amount drops to 90% of the entrance fee, then falls 1.21% a month until month 36 and stays at 50% after that. The refund is paid within 30 days after the unit is remarketed and the new resident's fee is paid in full.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
1.21% a month for 36 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Abernethy Laurels is part of EveryAge (also operates Piedmont Crossing; obligated group with Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place and others).
  • Balance sheet: EveryAge and Affiliates (combined).
  • Ratios: EveryAge (provider only; includes Piedmont Crossing).

Days cash on hand

566 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

5.26x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresProvider-level ratios for EveryAge. The bond obligated group (which adds Lake Prince Woods, Providence Place, BellaAge Hickory and others) reported 342 days cash on hand and 2.72x debt service coverage for FY2025 (p44, p46). Provider-level days cash rests on $78,345,214 of unrestricted cash and investments held by EveryAge (Table 29.1-29.2, p39-40).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 2FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand566 days584 days508.8 days
Debt service coverage5.26x2.74x1.88x
Operating margin6.35%7.13%11%
Total assets$321.4 million$246.6 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$251.7 million$185.6 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$176.4 million$116.1 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$49.3 million$43.7 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$7.3 million$7.7 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$69.6 million$61.0 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 2

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 232024p. 232023p. 232022p. 232021p. 23
Independent living91.98%90.91%84.65%80.21%79.37%
Assisted living94.44%88.89%83.87%81.32%86.54%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care90.8%91.38%86.71%79.89%78.69%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 3. Abernathy Laurels on Care Compare

In brief

Abernethy Laurels in Newton, NC is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community run by EveryAge, opened in 1971, with 187 residential living units, 18 assisted living units and 174 skilled nursing beds. Entrance fees run from $40,500 to $362,000 under a fully declining contract or $60,750 to $543,000 under a 50% refundable contract, and contracted residents pay the per diem rates for assisted living and nursing less a $5/day (assisted living) or $10/day (skilled nursing) discount.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.