Skip to content

The Pines at Davidson

400 Avinger Lane, Davidson, North Carolina 28036 · Community website

Operator:
The Pines at Davidson, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1988
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$40,000 to $1,150,000p. 25p. 24

Monthly fee, independent living

$700 to $8,183p. 25p. 22

Refund plans offered

  • Range across refund plans (plan not specified)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing
  • Standard Entrance Fee Option (declining balance)Can decline to nothing
  • 50% Refund Entrance Fee OptionNever less than 45% of the fee
  • 90% Refund Entrance Fee OptionNever less than 85% of the fee
  • Early Advantage declining balance (0% after 12 months)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

630 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Counts the $8,025,000 statutory operating reserve, which cannot be used without regulatory approval; cash ($5.3M) and investments ($39.8M) alone ≈ 534 days. Section 29 also gives unrestricted cash and investments as both $53.2M and $47.8M.

Independent living occupancy

94.7% (2025)p. 18

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

14 days each calendar year in assisted living, memory care or nursing with no per diem charge (meals excepted). After that, residents who signed on or after July 1, 2018 pay the published per diem: $246 a day for private assisted living, $367 or $381 for private long-term nursing. A permanent transfer means giving up the independent living unit; after more than 30 nursing days in a 90-day period a temporary resident may surrender the unit or keep paying its monthly fee on top of the per diem. Residents who signed before July 1, 2018 pay a discounted daily rate. Priority access on a space-available basis.p. 19

Assisted living
Up to 14 days a year with no per diem (meals charged), then the published per diem ($246/day private); a temporary stay keeps the IL monthly fee, a permanent transfer gives up the IL unit
Nursing care
Up to 14 days a year with no per diem (meals charged), then the published per diem ($367 or $381/day private); a temporary stay keeps the IL monthly fee, a permanent transfer gives up the IL unit
Care days included
14
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 16
Independent living292
Assisted living30
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care82

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (20 prices, $59,360 to $1,150,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
StudioRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$59,360p. 23$36,000
Deluxe StudioRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$81,760p. 23$36,000
One-BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$191,535p. 23$36,000
Two-BedroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$330,400p. 24$36,000
Two-Bedroom SuiteRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$359,310p. 24$36,000
Two-Bedroom DeluxeRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$371,700p. 24$36,000
CottageRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$427,200p. 24$36,000
Large CottageRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$482,400p. 24$36,000
Large Cottage with SunroomRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$519,600p. 24$36,000
Large Cottage with Sunroom / Study and GarageRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$679,140p. 24$36,000
Villa (Laurel Ridge/Hickory Crest) - 2 Bedroom Villa (Unit A)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$610,000p. 24$36,000
Villa (Laurel Ridge/Hickory Crest) - 2 Bedroom Deluxe Villa (Unit B)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$660,000p. 24$36,000
Villa (Laurel Ridge/Hickory Crest) - 2 Bedroom with Den Villa (Unit C)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$732,500p. 24$36,000
Villa (Laurel Ridge/Hickory Crest) - 2 Bedroom with Den Deluxe Villa (Unit D)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$747,500p. 24$36,000
Villa (Poplar Hill) - 1 Bedroom Deluxe Villa with Sunroom/Study (1.5 Bath) (Green)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$466,800p. 24$36,000
Villa (Poplar Hill) - 2 Bedroom Villa with Porch or Balcony (2 Bath) (Blue)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$586,800p. 24$36,000
Villa (Poplar Hill) - 2 Bedroom Villa with Sunroom/Study (2 Bath) (Red)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$661,200p. 24$36,000
Villa (Poplar Hill) - 2 Bedroom Villa with Sunroom/Study and Balcony (2 Bath) (Yellow)Range across refund plans (plan not specified)$682,800p. 24$36,000
Chartwell EstateRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$720,000p. 24Not listed
Shaw PropertyRange across refund plans (plan not specified)$1,150,000p. 24Not listed
Early Advantage Agreement (continuing care at home) · Type B (modified) (1 prices, $40,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Early Advantage (lives off campus)Early Advantage declining balance (0% after 12 months)$40,000p. 25$40,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (20 prices, $3,385 to $8,183)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
StudioIndependent living$3,385p. 22$1,802
Deluxe StudioIndependent living$3,550p. 22$1,799
One-BedroomIndependent living$4,218p. 22$1,976
Two-BedroomIndependent living$4,631p. 22$2,170
Two-Bedroom SuiteIndependent living$4,755p. 22$2,168
Two-Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$4,992p. 22$2,172
CottageIndependent living$5,022p. 22$2,371
Large CottageIndependent living$5,420p. 22$2,375
Large Cottage with SunroomIndependent living$5,420p. 22$2,375
Large Cottage with Sunroom / Study and GarageIndependent living$5,793p. 22$2,390
Villa (Laurel Ridge/Hickory Crest) - 2 Bedroom Villa (Unit A)Independent living$5,450p. 22$2,392
Villa (Laurel Ridge/Hickory Crest) - 2 Bedroom Deluxe Villa (Unit B)Independent living$5,549p. 22$2,390
Villa (Laurel Ridge/Hickory Crest) - 2 Bedroom with Den Villa (Unit C)Independent living$5,701p. 22$2,391
Villa (Laurel Ridge/Hickory Crest) - 2 Bedroom with Den Deluxe Villa (Unit D)Independent living$5,777p. 22$2,366
Villa (Poplar Hill) - 1 Bedroom Deluxe Villa with Sunroom/Study (1.5 Bath) (Green)Independent living$4,754p. 23$2,173
Villa (Poplar Hill) - 2 Bedroom Villa with Porch or Balcony (2 Bath) (Blue)Independent living$5,436p. 23$2,392
Villa (Poplar Hill) - 2 Bedroom Villa with Sunroom/Study (2 Bath) (Red)Independent living$5,535p. 23$2,390
Villa (Poplar Hill) - 2 Bedroom Villa with Sunroom/Study and Balcony (2 Bath) (Yellow)Independent living$5,549p. 23$2,390
Chartwell EstateIndependent living$8,183p. 22Not listed
Shaw PropertyIndependent living$8,183p. 22Not listed
Early Advantage Agreement (continuing care at home) · Type B (modified) (1 prices, $700)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Early Advantage (lives off campus)Independent living$700p. 25$700

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 3.5%20212022: 5.9%20222023: 7.5%20232024: 5%20242025: 4%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units4%Percent onlyp. 23
2024Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 23
2023Independent livingAll units7.5%Percent onlyp. 23
2022Independent livingAll units5.9%Percent onlyp. 23
2021Independent livingAll units3.5%Percent onlyp. 23

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 24

Table 21.3 prints one price per unit without naming the refund plan. The 50% and 90% refund options are priced from an age-based actuarial schedule that the statement does not print.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Standard Entrance Fee Option (declining balance)p. 30

5% of the fee is non-refundable and the refund falls a further 5% of the fee per month of occupancy; after 12 months nothing is refunded (the drop from about 35% to zero happens at month 12). Paid within 60 days after your unit is resold and the new entrance fee is received.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month for 12 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refund Entrance Fee Optionp. 31

At least 50% of the entrance fee comes back; the other half amortizes like the standard plan. Paid within 60 days after your unit is resold and the new entrance fee is received.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month
Never less than
45% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refund Entrance Fee Optionp. 31

At least 90% of the entrance fee comes back; the other 10% amortizes like the standard plan. Paid within 60 days after your unit is resold and the new entrance fee is received.

Kept on move-in
5% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month
Never less than
85% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Early Advantage declining balance (0% after 12 months)p. 27

The refundable portion amortizes to zero over 12 months; 50% and 90% options are not offered. If the member later moves on campus the fee is credited toward the campus entrance fee rather than refunded.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: The Pines at Davidson, Inc. (consolidated).
  • Ratios: The Pines at Davidson, Inc. (sole member of its obligated group).

Days cash on hand

630 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

4.10x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresCounts the $8,025,000 statutory operating reserve, which cannot be used without regulatory approval; cash ($5.3M) and investments ($39.8M) alone ≈ 534 days. Section 29 also gives unrestricted cash and investments as both $53.2M and $47.8M.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 54FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand630 days572 days603 days
Debt service coverage4.10x2.68x3.14x
Operating margin8.47%9.17%11.19%
Total assets$180.9 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$119.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$58.0 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$49.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$5.3 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$61.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 54

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 182024p. 182023p. 182022p. 182021p. 18
Independent living94.7%96.3%97%97.7%90.1%
Assisted living95.4%94.7%97%94.2%88.5%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care97.2%94.8%98%96.2%82.3%

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

The Pines at Davidson is a nonprofit continuing care retirement community on about 52 acres in Davidson, opened in 1988, with 292 independent living units, 30 assisted living beds and 82 nursing beds including memory care. Its contract includes 14 Health Center days a year, then published per diem rates; entrance fees run from $59,360 for a studio to $1,150,000 for the Shaw Property residence, with standard, 50% and 90% refund options. Audited FY2025 ratios show 630 days cash on hand and 4.10x debt service coverage, and independent living occupancy averaged 94.7%.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.