Home › Compare
Arbor Acres and Brookridge Retirement Community compared
Two North Carolina communities about 2 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Arbor Acres | Brookridge Retirement Community |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Winston-Salem, NC | Winston-Salem, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $54,000 to $689,000p. 22p. 23 | $54,700 to $475,000p. 20 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $2,273 to $6,605p. 20p. 21 | $1,750 to $5,220p. 20 |
| Refund plans | Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)p. 101 | Traditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month); Fifty Percent Refund Program; Ninety Percent Refund Programp. 154p. 12 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 0% of the feep. 101 | 0% of the feep. 154p. 12 |
| When a refund is paid | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 101 | When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 154p. 12 |
| Days cash on hand | 596 days (FY2025)p. 2Unrestricted cash and investments of $47.6M (p32, p45) include $10.2M held by the Home Care and Strategic Development subsidiaries for their own purposes. On that $47.6M and 2025 expenses less depreciation (p47) days cash is about 413; the reported 596 matches only if the board-designated endowments ($10.1M) and the $10.8M operating reserve on the balance sheet are also counted. The obligated group alone (Arbor Acres without those subsidiaries) reported 545 days and 2.88x for 2025 (p36, p39). | 475.24 days (FY2025)p. 4Figures for ThriveMore (consolidated). Ratios are for all of ThriveMore (Brookridge, The Gardens of Taylor Glen, Ardenwoods, The Taylor House and ThriveMore at Home), not Brookridge alone. ThriveMore had an $8.8M operating loss in FY2025 (p34); its operating ratio was 116.3% and net operating margin -15.4% (p4). |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 3.03x (FY2025)p. 2Unrestricted cash and investments of $47.6M (p32, p45) include $10.2M held by the Home Care and Strategic Development subsidiaries for their own purposes. On that $47.6M and 2025 expenses less depreciation (p47) days cash is about 413; the reported 596 matches only if the board-designated endowments ($10.1M) and the $10.8M operating reserve on the balance sheet are also counted. The obligated group alone (Arbor Acres without those subsidiaries) reported 545 days and 2.88x for 2025 (p36, p39). | 1.36x (FY2025)p. 4Figures for ThriveMore (consolidated). Ratios are for all of ThriveMore (Brookridge, The Gardens of Taylor Glen, Ardenwoods, The Taylor House and ThriveMore at Home), not Brookridge alone. ThriveMore had an $8.8M operating loss in FY2025 (p34); its operating ratio was 116.3% and net operating margin -15.4% (p4). |
| Independent living occupancy | 97.2% (2025)p. 17 | 95% (2025)p. 8 |
| Net position | $89.4 million (FY2025)p. 2 | $75.2 million (FY2025)p. 32 |
| Whose finances | Arbor Acres United Methodist Retirement Community, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated); ratios for Arbor Acres (provider, consolidated with Home Care and Strategic Development LLCs)p. 2 | Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Inc. dba ThriveMore and Affiliate (consolidated); ratios for ThriveMore (consolidated)p. 32 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 2 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 32 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Arbor Acres
Type C (fee for service): Health care is charged at the community's prevailing per diem rates. Residents get priority access to assisted living, memory care and nursing beds, though access is not guaranteed; Medicare-certified skilled beds are available after 30 days of residence.p. 21
Brookridge Retirement Community
Type B (modified): 14 pre-paid days in the Health Care Center in total from the date of occupancy, during which you keep paying the monthly fee. After that, assisted living, memory care and nursing are charged at 100% of the published rate; the assisted living rate for entrance-fee payers is $1,220 a month below the rate without an entrance fee.p. 149