Skip to content

Brookridge Retirement Community

1199 Hayes Forest Drive, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27106 · Community website

Operator:
Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Incorporated dba ThriveMore
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Baptist (historical relationship with the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina, which is not responsible for its obligations)
Opened:
1989
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$54,700 to $475,000p. 20

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,750 to $5,220p. 20

Refund plans offered

  • Traditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)Can decline to nothing
  • Fifty Percent Refund ProgramTerms not disclosed in the 2026 filing
  • Ninety Percent Refund ProgramTerms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

475.24 (FY2025)p. 4Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for ThriveMore (consolidated)
Read the note on this figure

Ratios are for all of ThriveMore (Brookridge, The Gardens of Taylor Glen, Ardenwoods, The Taylor House and ThriveMore at Home), not Brookridge alone. ThriveMore had an $8.8M operating loss in FY2025 (p34); its operating ratio was 116.3% and net operating margin -15.4% (p4).

Independent living occupancy

95% (2025)p. 8

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

14 pre-paid days in the Health Care Center in total from the date of occupancy, during which you keep paying the monthly fee. After that, assisted living, memory care and nursing are charged at 100% of the published rate; the assisted living rate for entrance-fee payers is $1,220 a month below the rate without an entrance fee.p. 149

Assisted living
After the 14 pre-paid days, 100% of the published rate: assisted living $6,560 a month for residents who paid an entrance fee ($7,780 without), plus $560 or $840 for higher care levels; memory-enhanced $9,690 a month.
Nursing care
After the 14 pre-paid days, 100% of the published per diem: private room $420 a day, nursing care suite $475 a day.
Care days included
14
Units on campusp. 9
Independent living131
Assisted living26
Memory care10
Nursing care77

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (9 prices, $54,700 to $475,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Garden Home – Single residenceTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$281,300p. 20$15,000
Garden Home – Single residence deluxeTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$475,000p. 20$15,000
Garden Home – Duplex residenceTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$181,300 to $281,300p. 20$15,000
Apartment – StudioTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$54,700p. 20Not listed
Apartment – One bedroomTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$86,600p. 20$15,000
Apartment – Deluxe one bedroomTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$144,600p. 20$15,000
Apartment – Two bedroomTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$144,600p. 20$15,000
Apartment – Two bedroom ClassicTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$156,000p. 20$15,000
Apartment – Deluxe two bedroomTraditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)$234,000 to $252,000p. 20$15,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (9 prices, $1,750 to $5,220)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Garden Home – Single residenceIndependent living$3,320p. 20$1,050
Garden Home – Single residence deluxeIndependent living$3,650p. 20$1,050
Garden Home – Duplex residenceIndependent living$5,220p. 20$1,050
Apartment – StudioIndependent living$1,750p. 20$1,050
Apartment – One bedroomIndependent living$2,280p. 20$1,050
Apartment – Deluxe one bedroomIndependent living$2,900p. 20$1,050
Apartment – Two bedroomIndependent living$2,900p. 20$1,050
Apartment – Two bedroom ClassicIndependent living$3,190p. 20$1,050
Apartment – Deluxe two bedroomIndependent living$3,650 to $3,960p. 20$1,050
Resident Care Agreement (Adult Care Home) · Type B (modified) (2 prices, $6,560 to $9,690)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Assisted Living – Regular (entrance fee paid)Assisted living$6,560p. 21Not listed
Memory-Enhanced residenceMemory care$9,690p. 21Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

No year-by-year increase history was recorded from the 2026 filing.

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Traditional Payment Program (Standard Plan – 24 Month)p. 154

4% of the entry fee is kept on the occupancy date and another 4% for each month of residence, so nothing is refundable after 24 months. Any refund is paid 30 days after your unit is re-occupied and its new entry fee received, or at the 24-month anniversary of termination, whichever is earlier.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 24 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Fifty Percent Refund Programp. 12

Costs 1.4 times the traditional entrance fee and carries a fifty percent refund 'for life', including to the estate on death. The disclosure does not attach the contract terms for this plan or say how the refund declines to 50%; timing follows the general rule of re-occupancy or two years after termination, whichever is earlier.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Ninety Percent Refund Programp. 12

Costs 1.8 times the traditional entrance fee and carries a ninety percent refund 'for life', including to the estate on death. The disclosure does not attach the contract terms for this plan; timing follows the general rule of re-occupancy or two years after termination, whichever is earlier.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Brookridge Retirement Community is part of ThriveMore (Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Inc.).
  • Balance sheet: Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Inc. dba ThriveMore and Affiliate (consolidated).
  • Ratios: ThriveMore (consolidated).

Days cash on hand

475.24 days FY2025p. 4

Debt service coverage

1.36x FY2025p. 4

Read with these figuresRatios are for all of ThriveMore (Brookridge, The Gardens of Taylor Glen, Ardenwoods, The Taylor House and ThriveMore at Home), not Brookridge alone. ThriveMore had an $8.8M operating loss in FY2025 (p34); its operating ratio was 116.3% and net operating margin -15.4% (p4).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 32FY2024p. 4FY2023p. 4
Days cash on hand475.24 days509.74 days471.21 days
Debt service coverage1.36x2.47xNot disclosed
Operating margin-15.4%-10.42%-15.77%
Total assets$230.0 million$189.3 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$154.8 million$109.0 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$82.4 million$46.2 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$22.9 million$22.0 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$27.6 million$25.2 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$75.2 million$80.3 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 32

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 8
Independent living95%
Assisted living92%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care84%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Brookridge Retirement Community on Care Compare

In brief

Brookridge Retirement Community is a nonprofit CCRC on 44 acres in Winston-Salem, completed in 1989 and run by ThriveMore (Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina), with 131 independent living residences, 36 assisted living and memory care residences and 77 nursing beds. Entrance fees on the traditional plan run $54,700 to $475,000, with 50% and 90% refund plans at 1.4 and 1.8 times those prices; monthly fees run $1,750 to $5,220. Residents get 14 pre-paid health care days, then pay the published rates.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

  • Salemtowne

    Winston-Salem · 1 miles away

    Entrance fee: $93,800 to $675,100

  • Arbor Acres

    Winston-Salem · 2 miles away

    Entrance fee: $54,000 to $689,000

  • Trinity Elms

    Clemmons · 11 miles away

    Entrance fee: None: rental

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.