Skip to content

Arbor Acres

1240 Arbor Road, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27104 · Community website

Operator:
Arbor Acres United Methodist Retirement Community, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Methodist (Western North Carolina Annual Conference)
Opened:
1980
  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$54,000 to $689,000p. 22p. 23

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,273 to $6,605p. 20p. 21

Refund plans offered

  • Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)Can decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

596 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Unrestricted cash and investments of $47.6M (p32, p45) include $10.2M held by the Home Care and Strategic Development subsidiaries for their own purposes. On that $47.6M and 2025 expenses less depreciation (p47) days cash is about 413; the reported 596 matches only if the board-designated endowments ($10.1M) and the $10.8M operating reserve on the balance sheet are also counted. The obligated group alone (Arbor Acres without those subsidiaries) reported 545 days and 2.88x for 2025 (p36, p39).

Independent living occupancy

97.2% (2025)p. 17

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Health care is charged at the community's prevailing per diem rates. Residents get priority access to assisted living, memory care and nursing beds, though access is not guaranteed; Medicare-certified skilled beds are available after 30 days of residence.p. 21

Assisted living
Per diem, including all meals: Asbury Place studio $281, one bedroom $326, two bedroom $387 a day; Arborview memory care $415 a day.
Nursing care
Fitzgerald Place private room $491 a day, including all meals.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 15
Independent living278
Assisted living65
Memory care30
Nursing care83

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Agreement (Declining Balance) · Type C (fee for service) (29 prices, $54,000 to $689,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Mid-Rise (Womble & McPherson) StudioDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$54,000p. 22Not listed
Mid-Rise (Womble & McPherson) Studio w/studyDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$54,000p. 22Not listed
Mid-Rise (Womble & McPherson) One bedroom apartmentDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$140,000p. 22$12,000
Corpening - One Bedroom AptDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$166,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 1BR, 1 Bath - 991 sf (Type A)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$284,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 1BR, Den, 1.5 Baths - 1,160sf (Type B)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$333,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 2BR, 2 Bath - 1,217 sf (Type C-1)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$349,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 2BR, 2 Bath - 1,397 sf (Type C-2)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$401,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 2BR, 2 Bath - 1,500 sf (Type C-3)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$431,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 2BR, Den, 2 Bath - 1,592sf (Type D-1)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$457,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 2BR, Den, 2 Bath - 1,602sf (Type D-2)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$460,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 2BR, Den, 2 Bath - 1,728sf (Type D-3)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$496,000p. 22$12,000
Stockton 2BR, Den, 2 Bath - 1,982sf (Type E-1)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)Not disclosedp. 22Not listed
Aldersgate Square DuoDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$489,000p. 22$12,000
Aldersgate Square CustomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$510,000p. 22$12,000
Aldersgate Square DeluxeDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$558,000p. 23$12,000
Aldersgate Square AlcoveDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$569,000p. 23$12,000
Aldersgate Square Den DeluxeDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$684,000p. 23$12,000
Patio Home 2BR, 2 Bath (1,326)Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)$381,000p. 23$12,000
Courtyard Home 1 BedroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$304,000p. 23$12,000
Courtyard Home 2 BedroomDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$341,000p. 23$12,000
Cottage - House 1 Bedroom <1,200 sfDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)null to $344,000p. 23$12,000
Cottage - House 2BR 1,200sf - 1,399sfDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$344,000 to $402,000p. 23$12,000
Cottage - House 2BR 1,400sf - 1,599sfDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$402,000 to $459,000p. 23$12,000
Cottage - House 2BR 1,600sf - 1,799sfDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$459,000 to $517,000p. 23$12,000
Cottage - House 2BR 1,800sf - 1,999sfDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$517,000 to $574,000p. 23$12,000
Cottage - House 2BR 2,000sf - 2,199sfDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$574,000 to $631,000p. 23$12,000
Cottage - House 2BR 2,200sf - 2,399sfDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)$631,000 to $689,000p. 23$12,000
Cottage - House 2BR over 2,400 sfDeclining Balance (0% after 50 months)from $689,000p. 23$12,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement (Declining Balance) · Type C (fee for service) (32 prices, $2,273 to $6,605)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Mid-Rise StudioIndependent living$2,273p. 20$1,231
Mid-Rise Studio w/studyIndependent living$2,355p. 20$1,231
Mid-Rise One bedroom apartmentIndependent living$3,316p. 20$1,231
Mid-Rise Studio (All Inclusive Meal Plan)Independent living$3,261p. 20$2,219
Mid-Rise Studio w/study (All Inclusive Meal Plan)Independent living$3,346p. 20$2,222
Mid-Rise One bedroom apartment (All Inclusive Meal Plan)Independent living$4,310p. 20$2,225
Corpening - One Bedroom AptIndependent living$3,412p. 20$1,231
Stockton 1BR, 1 Bath - 991 sf (Type A)Independent living$4,093p. 20$1,231
Stockton 1BR, Den, 1.5 Baths - 1,160sf (Type B)Independent living$4,380p. 20$1,231
Stockton 2BR, 2 Bath - 1,217 sf (Type C-1)Independent living$4,523p. 20$1,231
Stockton 2BR, 2 Bath - 1,397 sf (Type C-2)Independent living$4,616p. 20$1,231
Stockton 2BR, 2 Bath - 1,500 sf (Type C-3)Independent living$4,867p. 20$1,231
Stockton 2BR, Den, 2 Bath - 1,592sf (Type D-1)Independent living$4,893p. 20$1,231
Stockton 2BR, Den, 2 Bath - 1,602sf (Type D-2)Independent living$4,948p. 20$1,231
Stockton 2BR, Den, 2 Bath - 1,728sf (Type D-3)Independent living$5,265p. 21$1,231
Stockton 2BR, Den, 2 Bath - 1,982sf (Type E-1)Independent living$5,465p. 21$1,231
Aldersgate Square DuoIndependent living$5,289p. 21$1,231
Aldersgate Square CustomIndependent living$5,431p. 21$1,231
Aldersgate Square DeluxeIndependent living$5,514p. 21$1,231
Aldersgate Square AlcoveIndependent living$5,564p. 21$1,231
Aldersgate Square Den DeluxeIndependent living$6,199p. 21$1,231
Patio Home 2BR, 2 Bath (1,326)Independent living$4,146p. 21$1,231
Courtyard Home 1 BedroomIndependent living$3,647p. 21$1,231
Courtyard Home 2 BedroomIndependent living$3,873p. 21$1,231
Cottage - House 1 BedroomIndependent living$3,868p. 21$1,231
Cottage - House 2BR less than 1,400sfIndependent living$4,218p. 21$1,231
Cottage - House 2BR 1,400sf - 1,599sfIndependent living$4,690p. 21$1,231
Cottage - House 2BR 1,600sf - 1,799sfIndependent living$5,115p. 21$1,231
Cottage - House 2BR 1,800sf - 1,999sfIndependent living$5,260p. 21$1,231
Cottage - House 2BR 2,000sf - 2,199sfIndependent living$5,510p. 21$1,231
Cottage - House 2BR 2,200sf - 2,399sfIndependent living$5,990p. 21$1,231
Cottage - House 2BR over 2,400 sfIndependent living$6,605p. 21$1,231

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 2.3%20212022: 3.2%20222023: 5.4%20232024: 6%20242025: 6%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 22
2024Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 22
2023Independent livingAll units5.4%Percent onlyp. 22
2022Independent livingAll units3.2%Percent onlyp. 22
2021Independent livingAll units2.3%Percent onlyp. 22

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Declining Balance (0% after 50 months)p. 101

4% of the entrance fee is kept from the start, and the rest loses 2% for each month of residency, so nothing is refundable after 50 months. Any refund is paid from the entrance fee of the next occupant of your unit, with no stated deadline.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Arbor Acres United Methodist Retirement Community, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated).
  • Ratios: Arbor Acres (provider, consolidated with Home Care and Strategic Development LLCs).

Days cash on hand

596 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

3.03x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresUnrestricted cash and investments of $47.6M (p32, p45) include $10.2M held by the Home Care and Strategic Development subsidiaries for their own purposes. On that $47.6M and 2025 expenses less depreciation (p47) days cash is about 413; the reported 596 matches only if the board-designated endowments ($10.1M) and the $10.8M operating reserve on the balance sheet are also counted. The obligated group alone (Arbor Acres without those subsidiaries) reported 545 days and 2.88x for 2025 (p36, p39).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 2FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand596 days532 days538 days
Debt service coverage3.03x2.83x2.93x
Operating margin8.9%6.6%4.4%
Total assets$213.8 million$206.4 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$124.4 million$126.7 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$59.3 million$62.4 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$56.9 million$57.6 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$757,565$1.0 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$89.4 million$79.7 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 2

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 172024p. 172023p. 172022p. 172021p. 17
Independent living97.2%93.3%95.2%95.1%94.5%
Assisted living96.8%94.9%94.3%92.2%93%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care96.7%93.7%94.4%77.1%79.9%

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
No rating
Quality measures
2 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 1. Arbor Acres United Methodist Retirement Community on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 1993. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Arbor Acres in Winston-Salem, NC is a nonprofit United Methodist-sponsored continuing care retirement community opened in 1980, with 278 independent living units, 65 assisted living and 30 memory care units, and 83 nursing beds. It offers one declining-balance contract with entrance fees from $54,000 to over $689,000 and charges per diem rates for assisted living and nursing.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.