Skip to content

Home › Compare

Ardenwoods and Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community compared

Two North Carolina communities about 5 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureArdenwoodsDeerfield Episcopal Retirement Community
LocationArden, NCAsheville, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType B (modified)Type A (life care)
Entrance fee, one person$271,000 to $484,000p. 22$325,485 to $989,573p. 21p. 22
Monthly fee, independent living$3,310 to $4,180p. 22$3,917 to $6,664p. 19p. 20
Refund plansStandard (Traditional) 24-month; Ninety Percent Refundp. 53p. 41Standard Entrance Fee Option; 50% Refund Option; 90% Refund Optionp. 131p. 132
Highest guaranteed refund90% of the feep. 53p. 4190% of the feep. 131p. 132
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first; When your unit is re-occupied or after 36 months, whichever is firstp. 53p. 41Within a fixed number of days; When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is firstp. 131p. 132
Days cash on hand475.24 days (FY2025)p. 5Figures for ThriveMore (consolidated). Ratios are for all of ThriveMore, not Ardenwoods alone. The operating ratio was 116.3% and the net operating margin -15.4% in FY2025 (p5). The operating reserve shown is ThriveMore's; the statement gives Ardenwoods' operating reserve at 9/30/2025 as $1,751,435 (p27).1276 days (FY2025)p. 2The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation).
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverage1.36x (FY2025)p. 5Figures for ThriveMore (consolidated). Ratios are for all of ThriveMore, not Ardenwoods alone. The operating ratio was 116.3% and the net operating margin -15.4% in FY2025 (p5). The operating reserve shown is ThriveMore's; the statement gives Ardenwoods' operating reserve at 9/30/2025 as $1,751,435 (p27).7.41x (FY2025)p. 2The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation).
Independent living occupancyNot disclosed in the 2026 filing97% (2025)p. 17
Net position$75.2 million (FY2025)p. 5$124.8 million (FY2025)p. 49
Whose financesBaptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Inc. dba ThriveMore and Affiliate (consolidated); ratios for ThriveMore (consolidated)p. 5Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. and Affiliate (Deerfield Charitable Foundation), consolidated; ratios for Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. (provider only)p. 49
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 5Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 49
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Ardenwoods

Type B (modified): Residents get priority admission to Heather Glen assisted living with no extra entrance payment and 14 free days of care over the life of the contract; after that they pay the full per diem rate.p. 48

Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community

Type A (life care): On moving to assisted living or skilled nursing, a resident continues to pay the monthly fee for the residence they occupied at the time of transfer, plus two extra meals a day and ancillary services such as medications and therapy. Upgraded care accommodations cost the difference between direct-admission rates.p. 126

Questions to ask both communities before you sign