Skip to content

Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community

1617 Hendersonville Road, Asheville, North Carolina 28803 · Community website

Operator:
Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc.
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Episcopal Diocese of Western North Carolina
Opened:
1955
  • Type A (life care)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$325,485 to $989,573p. 21p. 22

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,917 to $6,664p. 19p. 20

Refund plans offered

  • Standard Entrance Fee OptionCan decline to nothing
  • 50% Refund OptionNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 90% Refund OptionNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

1,276 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation).

Independent living occupancy

97% (2025)p. 17

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

On moving to assisted living or skilled nursing, a resident continues to pay the monthly fee for the residence they occupied at the time of transfer, plus two extra meals a day and ancillary services such as medications and therapy. Upgraded care accommodations cost the difference between direct-admission rates.p. 126

Assisted living
Resident keeps paying the monthly fee of the residence occupied at transfer, plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges. Direct-admission assisted living fees are $7,396-$9,877 a month.
Nursing care
Resident keeps paying the monthly fee of the residence occupied at transfer, plus two additional meals a day and ancillary charges. Direct-admission skilled nursing is $413-$513 a day.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 16
Independent living378
Assisted living62
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care62

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence & Services Agreement · Type A (life care) (21 prices, $325,485 to $989,573)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apartment AStandard Entrance Fee Option$325,485p. 21$110,416
Apartment B w/Carolina RoomStandard Entrance Fee Option$371,002p. 21$110,416
Apartment CStandard Entrance Fee Option$479,102p. 21$110,416
Apartment C-1 CornerStandard Entrance Fee Option$550,529p. 21$110,416
Apartment D w/Carolina RoomStandard Entrance Fee Option$528,919p. 21$110,417
Apartment E w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$571,862p. 21$110,416
Apartment F DeluxeStandard Entrance Fee Option$610,000p. 21$110,416
Apartment G GrandeStandard Entrance Fee Option$632,738p. 21$110,416
Apartment H Corner w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$424,779p. 21$110,416
Apartment L w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$875,449p. 21$110,416
Apartment P-1 Corner w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$972,719p. 21$110,417
Cottage A1Standard Entrance Fee Option$714,378p. 21$110,416
Cottage A2 w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$812,894p. 22$110,416
Cottage B w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$775,861p. 22$110,416
Cottage C w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$772,760p. 22$110,416
Cottage D w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$989,573p. 22$110,416
Villa I w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$689,385p. 22$110,417
Villa II w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$700,355p. 22$110,416
Villa III w/DenStandard Entrance Fee Option$829,923p. 22$110,416
Timbers A/BStandard Entrance Fee Option$496,416p. 22$110,416
Timbers DStandard Entrance Fee Option$560,919p. 22$110,417

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence & Services Agreement · Type A (life care) (21 prices, $3,917 to $6,664)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment AIndependent living$3,917p. 19$1,864
Apartment B w/Carolina RoomIndependent living$4,154p. 19$1,864
Apartment CIndependent living$4,766p. 19$1,864
Apartment C-1 CornerIndependent living$5,007p. 19$1,864
Apartment D w/Carolina RoomIndependent living$4,888p. 19$1,864
Apartment E w/DenIndependent living$5,064p. 19$1,864
Apartment F DeluxeIndependent living$5,282p. 20$1,864
Apartment G GrandeIndependent living$5,409p. 20$1,864
Apartment H Corner w/DenIndependent living$4,432p. 20$1,864
Apartment L w/DenIndependent living$6,251p. 20$1,864
Apartment P-1 Corner w/DenIndependent living$6,544p. 20$1,864
Cottage A1Independent living$5,705p. 20$1,864
Cottage A2 w/DenIndependent living$6,045p. 20$1,864
Cottage B w/DenIndependent living$5,809p. 20$1,864
Cottage C w/DenIndependent living$5,792p. 20$1,864
Cottage D w/DenIndependent living$6,664p. 20$1,864
Villa I w/DenIndependent living$5,497p. 20$1,864
Villa II w/DenIndependent living$5,573p. 20$1,864
Villa III w/DenIndependent living$6,245p. 20$1,864
Timbers A/BIndependent living$4,154p. 20$1,864
Timbers DIndependent living$4,888p. 20$1,864

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 3.75%20222023: 6.5%20232024: 5.75%20242025: 5%20252026: 9.73%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units9.73%Percent onlyp. 21
2025Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 21
2024Independent livingAll units5.75%Percent onlyp. 21
2023Independent livingAll units6.5%Percent onlyp. 21
2022Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 21

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard Entrance Fee Optionp. 131

4% of the entrance fee is non-refundable and the refund falls by a further 2% of the fee for each month of residency, so nothing is refunded after 48 months. Any refund is paid within 60 days after the residence is vacated, on move-out or death.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

50% Refund Optionp. 132

Costs 1.33 times the Standard entrance fee. 4% is non-refundable and the refund falls 2% a month for 23 months, never below 50% of the fee paid; paid within 60 days after the residence is vacated. Not available if the older resident is 85 or over.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 23 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

90% Refund Optionp. 132

Costs 1.85 times the Standard entrance fee. 4% is non-refundable and the refund falls 1% a month for 6 months, never below 90% of the fee paid. It is paid when a new resident has paid the full entrance fee for the residence, or one year after termination, whichever comes first. Not available if the older resident is 85 or over.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 6 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
12 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: within a fixed number of days. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. and Affiliate (Deerfield Charitable Foundation), consolidated.
  • Ratios: Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. (provider only).

Days cash on hand

1,276 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

7.41x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresThe reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 49FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand1276 days1233 days1112 days
Debt service coverage7.41x3.45x3.11x
Operating margin-1.8%-5.91%-8.09%
Total assets$299.0 million$270.4 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$174.2 million$160.8 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$39.9 million$40.6 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$97.0 million$93.1 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$15.3 million$14.8 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$124.8 million$109.6 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Forvis Mazars, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 49

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 172024p. 172023p. 172022p. 172021p. 17
Independent living97%98.5%97.9%97%97%
Assisted living93.5%85.4%90.7%84.5%80%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care96.4%90%85.8%81.6%81.1%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2026-01 Closed on bonds on January 13, 2026 to finance an expansion of 165 independent living units, 10 assisted living units, 12 memory care units and 12 skilled nursing units, with completion expected March-August 2028.p. 15

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
2 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 3. Deerfield Episcopal Retirement on Care Compare

CARF-accredited since 2003. Check on CARF’s site

In brief

Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community in Asheville, NC is a standalone nonprofit affiliated with the Episcopal Diocese of Western North Carolina, with 378 independent living units, 62 assisted living beds and 62 skilled nursing beds as of September 30, 2025. It offers one life-care contract: Standard entrance fees run from $325,485 to $989,573 for one person, with 50% and 90% refund options priced at 1.33 and 1.85 times those amounts, and assisted living and nursing are covered at the resident's existing monthly fee plus extra meals. A 199-unit expansion financed in January 2026 is scheduled to finish in 2028.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.