Skip to content

Ardenwoods

2400 Appalachian Boulevard, Arden, North Carolina 28704 · Community website

Operator:
ThriveMore (Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Incorporated)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Baptist (historical relationship with the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina)
Opened:
2002

Acquired by ThriveMore in October 2023.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$271,000 to $484,000p. 22

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,310 to $4,180p. 22

Refund plans offered

  • Standard (Traditional) 24-monthCan decline to nothing
  • Ninety Percent RefundNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

475.24 (FY2025)p. 5Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for ThriveMore (consolidated)
Read the note on this figure

Ratios are for all of ThriveMore, not Ardenwoods alone. The operating ratio was 116.3% and the net operating margin -15.4% in FY2025 (p5). The operating reserve shown is ThriveMore's; the statement gives Ardenwoods' operating reserve at 9/30/2025 as $1,751,435 (p27).

Independent living occupancy

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Residents get priority admission to Heather Glen assisted living with no extra entrance payment and 14 free days of care over the life of the contract; after that they pay the full per diem rate.p. 48

Assisted living
14 free health care days, then 100% of the published per diem rate. Heather Glen base private room $6,070 a month plus $560 (Level 1) or $840 (Level 2) for care; temporary stays keep paying the independent living monthly fee.
Nursing care
Not offered on campus; Ardenwoods is not licensed for long-term skilled nursing and residents needing it must relocate.
Care days included
14
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 15
Independent living95
Assisted living48
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing careNone on campus

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (6 prices, $271,000 to $484,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
One BedroomNinety Percent Refund$271,000p. 22$25,000
One Bedroom w/ PatioNinety Percent Refund$306,000p. 22$25,000
Two BedroomNinety Percent Refund$371,000p. 22$25,000
Two Bedroom w/ PatioNinety Percent Refund$406,000p. 22$25,000
Three BedroomNinety Percent Refund$449,000p. 22$25,000
Three Bedroom w/ PatioNinety Percent Refund$484,000p. 22$25,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type B (modified) (7 prices, $3,310 to $6,070)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
One BedroomIndependent living$3,310p. 22$1,000
One Bedroom w/ PatioIndependent living$3,310p. 22$1,000
Two BedroomIndependent living$3,900p. 22$1,000
Two Bedroom w/ PatioIndependent living$3,900p. 22$1,000
Three BedroomIndependent living$4,180p. 22$1,000
Three Bedroom w/ PatioIndependent living$4,180p. 22$1,000
Heather Glen Base Level, PrivateAssisted living$6,070p. 22$1,770

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingOne Bedroom5.1%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,150 to $3,310p. 22
2026Assisted livingBase Level, Private7.1%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,670 to $6,070p. 22
2025Independent livingOne Bedroom2.1%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,085 to $3,150p. 22
2025Assisted livingBase Level, Private2.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,508 to $5,670p. 22
2024Independent livingOne Bedroom3.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,969 to $3,085p. 22
2024Assisted livingBase Level, Private4.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$5,251 to $5,508p. 22
2023Independent livingOne Bedroom5.6%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,812 to $2,969p. 22
2023Assisted livingBase Level, Private5.3%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,989 to $5,251p. 22

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standard (Traditional) 24-monthp. 53

4% of the entry fee is lost on the move-in date and another 4% for each month the agreement is in effect; after 24 months nothing is refundable. Any refund is paid when the unit is re-occupied or within two years of termination, whichever is sooner. The document gives no Ardenwoods price under this plan, and its projection notes say Ardenwoods offers only the Ninety Percent Refund Plan.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
4% a month for 24 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
24 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first

Ninety Percent Refundp. 41

4% of the entry fee is non-refundable and the refund declines 1% a month for 6 months, so it never falls below 90% of the original fee. The refund is paid on re-occupancy of the unit or 36 months after termination, whichever is earlier; the 2026 Ardenwoods entry fees are priced under this plan.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 6 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
36 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 36 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: 0%

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Ardenwoods is part of ThriveMore (also Brookridge, The Gardens of Taylor Glen, Taylor House).
  • Balance sheet: Baptist Retirement Homes of North Carolina, Inc. dba ThriveMore and Affiliate (consolidated).
  • Ratios: ThriveMore (consolidated).

Days cash on hand

475.24 days FY2025p. 5

Debt service coverage

1.36x FY2025p. 5

Read with these figuresRatios are for all of ThriveMore, not Ardenwoods alone. The operating ratio was 116.3% and the net operating margin -15.4% in FY2025 (p5). The operating reserve shown is ThriveMore's; the statement gives Ardenwoods' operating reserve at 9/30/2025 as $1,751,435 (p27).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 5FY2024p. 5FY2023p. 5
Days cash on hand475.24 days509.74 days471.21 days
Debt service coverage1.36x2.47xNot disclosed
Operating margin-15.4%-10.42%-15.77%
Total assets$230.0 million$189.3 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$154.8 million$109.0 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$82.4 million$46.2 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$22.9 million$22.0 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$27.6 million$25.2 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$75.2 million$80.3 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 5

Occupancy

The 2026 filing does not report occupancy.

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2023-10Ownership change ThriveMore acquired Ardenwoods.p. 3

Nursing care on campus

The filing lists no nursing beds on campus, so there is no CMS nursing-home record to show.

In brief

Ardenwoods in Arden, NC, about 12 miles south of Asheville, is a continuing care retirement community owned by the nonprofit ThriveMore since October 2023, with about 95 independent living apartments and the Heather Glen assisted living residence, and no skilled nursing. 2026 entry fees run from $271,000 to $484,000 under a plan that refunds at least 90% of the fee, and the contract includes 14 free days of health care before full per diem rates apply.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.