Home › Compare
Ashby Ponds and The Village at Orchard Ridge compared
Two Virginia communities about 42 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Ashby Ponds | The Village at Orchard Ridge |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Ashburn, VA | Winchester, VA |
| Filing used | 2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service) | Type C (fee for service), Rental |
| Entrance fee, one person | $274,000 to $1,417,000p. 102 | $276,610 to $1,268,780p. 14 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $2,988 to $5,004p. 102 | $2,902 to $4,949p. 14p. 15 |
| Refund plans | 90% Refund Amountp. 25 | Traditional Declining Refund; 50% Refund; 80% Refundp. 25 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 25 | 80% of the feep. 25 |
| When a refund is paid | In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 25 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 25 |
| Days cash on hand | 137 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 114 | 217 days (FY2024, interim)p. 88The reported 217 days cash on hand is management's figure from the disclosure narrative, not an audited ratio, and it only holds by counting outside money: a $13.96M beneficial interest in investments held by affiliate National Lutheran Home for the Aged under a debt support agreement. On its own cash and investments ($2.84M on the audited balance sheet) Orchard Ridge had about 42 days of cash operating expenses. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing | At least 125 daysp. 88 |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing | 2.10x (FY2024, interim)p. 88The reported 217 days cash on hand is management's figure from the disclosure narrative, not an audited ratio, and it only holds by counting outside money: a $13.96M beneficial interest in investments held by affiliate National Lutheran Home for the Aged under a debt support agreement. On its own cash and investments ($2.84M on the audited balance sheet) Orchard Ridge had about 42 days of cash operating expenses. |
| Independent living occupancy | 97.4% (2023)p. 192 | 95% (2024)p. 92 |
| Net position | −$88.0 million (FY2023)p. 114 | −$19.3 million (FY2024)p. 63 |
| Whose finances | Ashby Ponds, Inc.p. 114 | The Village at Orchard Ridge, Inc.p. 63 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLPp. 114 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Baker Tilly US, LLPp. 63 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Ashby Ponds
Type C (fee for service): Residents who move to assisted living, memory care or nursing pay that level's monthly package or daily rate; there is no life-care discount. If those units are full, the Medical Director arranges services in the resident's apartment or a transfer to an off-site facility.p. 104
The Village at Orchard Ridge
Type C (fee for service): Entrance-fee residents get priority access to assisted living, memory care and nursing but pay the then-published rates. A guaranteed refundable entrance fee balance may be applied to care at the community once other resources are depleted. Rental residents have no contractual priority access.p. 12