Skip to content

The Village at Orchard Ridge

400 Clocktower Ridge Drive, Winchester, Virginia 22603

Operator:
The Village at Orchard Ridge, Inc. (managed by National Lutheran Communities and Services)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Lutheran (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America)
Opened:
2013
  • Type C (fee for service)
  • Rental

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for The Village at Orchard Ridge, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$276,610 to $1,268,780p. 14

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,902 to $4,949p. 14p. 15

Refund plans offered

  • Traditional Declining RefundCan decline to nothing
  • 50% RefundNever less than 50% of the fee
  • 80% RefundNever less than 80% of the fee

Days cash on hand

217 (FY2024, interim, unaudited)p. 88Its lenders require at least 125.
Read the note on this figure

The reported 217 days cash on hand is management's figure from the disclosure narrative, not an audited ratio, and it only holds by counting outside money: a $13.96M beneficial interest in investments held by affiliate National Lutheran Home for the Aged under a debt support agreement. On its own cash and investments ($2.84M on the audited balance sheet) Orchard Ridge had about 42 days of cash operating expenses.

Independent living occupancy

95% (2024)p. 92

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.
  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it Type C contract (fee for service); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Entrance-fee residents get priority access to assisted living, memory care and nursing but pay the then-published rates. A guaranteed refundable entrance fee balance may be applied to care at the community once other resources are depleted. Rental residents have no contractual priority access.p. 12

Assisted living
Then-current published rates (2025: $7,971 to $10,798 a month by unit and level)
Nursing care
Then-current published rates (2025 private pay: $575 a day)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 9
Independent living308
Assisted living17
Memory care18
Nursing care20

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (63 prices, $276,610 to $1,268,780)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Apt - Cameo786Traditional Declining Refundfrom $276,610p. 14$9,780
Apt - Cameo78650% Refundfrom $363,410p. 14$13,830
Apt - Cameo78680% Refundfrom $555,280p. 14$20,190
Apt - Cortland790Traditional Declining Refundfrom $287,390p. 14$9,780
Apt - Cortland79050% Refundfrom $377,620p. 14$13,830
Apt - Cortland79080% Refundfrom $576,720p. 14$20,190
Apt - Wellington892Traditional Declining Refundfrom $310,040p. 14$9,780
Apt - Wellington89250% Refundfrom $407,330p. 14$13,830
Apt - Wellington89280% Refundfrom $622,390p. 14$20,190
Apt - Geneva938Traditional Declining Refundfrom $314,020p. 14$9,780
Apt - Geneva93850% Refundfrom $412,540p. 14$13,830
Apt - Geneva93880% Refundfrom $630,410p. 14$20,190
Apt - Braeburn949Traditional Declining Refundfrom $327,820p. 14$9,780
Apt - Braeburn94950% Refundfrom $430,730p. 14$13,830
Apt - Braeburn94980% Refundfrom $658,120p. 14$20,190
Apt - York1,170Traditional Declining Refundfrom $402,590p. 14$9,780
Apt - York1,17050% Refundfrom $528,940p. 14$13,830
Apt - York1,17080% Refundfrom $738,940p. 14$20,190
Apt - Winesap1,173Traditional Declining Refundfrom $412,840p. 14$9,780
Apt - Winesap1,17350% Refundfrom $542,360p. 14$13,830
Apt - Winesap1,17380% Refundfrom $789,350p. 14$20,190
Apt - McIntosh1,187Traditional Declining Refundfrom $417,690p. 14$9,780
Apt - McIntosh1,18750% Refundfrom $548,770p. 14$13,830
Apt - McIntosh1,18780% Refundfrom $798,490p. 14$20,190
Apt - McIntosh II1,223Traditional Declining Refundfrom $417,690p. 14$9,780
Apt - McIntosh II1,22350% Refundfrom $548,770p. 14$13,830
Apt - McIntosh II1,22380% Refundfrom $798,490p. 14$20,190
Apt - Melrose1,311Traditional Declining Refundfrom $437,820p. 14$9,780
Apt - Melrose1,31150% Refundfrom $575,220p. 14$13,830
Apt - Melrose1,31180% Refundfrom $837,080p. 14$20,190
Apt - Gala1,311Traditional Declining Refundfrom $442,860p. 14$9,780
Apt - Gala1,31150% Refundfrom $581,820p. 14$13,830
Apt - Gala1,31180% Refundfrom $846,700p. 14$20,190
Apt - Rome1,368Traditional Declining Refundfrom $447,900p. 14$9,780
Apt - Rome1,36850% Refundfrom $588,450p. 14$13,830
Apt - Rome1,36880% Refundfrom $856,320p. 14$20,190
Apt - Beacon1,497Traditional Declining Refundfrom $585,280p. 14$9,780
Apt - Beacon1,49750% Refundfrom $766,710p. 14$13,830
Apt - Beacon1,49780% Refundfrom $1,170,550p. 14$20,190
Apt - Empire1,502Traditional Declining Refundfrom $489,150p. 14$9,780
Apt - Empire1,50250% Refundfrom $632,340p. 14$13,830
Apt - Empire1,50280% Refundfrom $935,220p. 14$20,190
Cottage - Mulberry1,339Traditional Declining Refundfrom $425,760p. 14$9,780
Cottage - Mulberry1,33950% Refundfrom $560,410p. 14$13,830
Cottage - Mulberry1,33980% Refundfrom $835,560p. 14$20,190
Cottage - Dogwood1,355Traditional Declining Refundfrom $468,300p. 14$9,780
Cottage - Dogwood1,35550% Refundfrom $616,420p. 14$13,830
Cottage - Dogwood1,35580% Refundfrom $919,120p. 14$20,190
Cottage - Dogwood II1,602Traditional Declining Refundfrom $515,730p. 14$9,780
Cottage - Dogwood II1,60250% Refundfrom $657,000p. 14$13,830
Cottage - Dogwood II1,60280% Refundfrom $953,230p. 14$20,190
Cottage - Redbud1,533Traditional Declining Refundfrom $498,950p. 14$9,780
Cottage - Redbud1,53350% Refundfrom $656,770p. 14$13,830
Cottage - Redbud1,53380% Refundfrom $979,080p. 14$20,190
Cottage - Sycamore1,664Traditional Declining Refundfrom $511,950p. 14$9,780
Cottage - Sycamore1,66450% Refundfrom $673,870p. 14$13,830
Cottage - Sycamore1,66480% Refundfrom $1,004,660p. 14$20,190
Cottage - Aspen1,686Traditional Declining Refundfrom $634,390p. 14$9,780
Cottage - Aspen1,68650% Refundfrom $831,050p. 14$13,830
Cottage - Aspen1,68680% Refundfrom $1,268,780p. 14$20,190
Cottage - Hickory1,712Traditional Declining Refundfrom $537,280p. 15$9,780
Cottage - Hickory1,71250% Refundfrom $707,200p. 15$13,830
Cottage - Hickory1,71280% Refundfrom $1,054,410p. 15$20,190

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Services Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (21 prices, $2,902 to $4,949)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apt - CameoIndependent living$2,902p. 14$891
Apt - CortlandIndependent living$2,988p. 14$891
Apt - WellingtonIndependent living$3,019p. 14$891
Apt - GenevaIndependent living$3,070p. 14$891
Apt - BraeburnIndependent living$3,070p. 14$891
Apt - YorkIndependent living$3,551p. 14$891
Apt - WinesapIndependent living$3,551p. 14$891
Apt - McIntoshIndependent living$3,585p. 14$891
Apt - McIntosh IIIndependent living$3,698p. 14$891
Apt - MelroseIndependent living$3,752p. 14$891
Apt - GalaIndependent living$3,752p. 14$891
Apt - RomeIndependent living$3,841p. 14$891
Apt - BeaconIndependent living$3,925p. 14$891
Apt - EmpireIndependent living$4,097p. 14$891
Cottage - MulberryIndependent living$3,925p. 14$891
Cottage - DogwoodIndependent living$4,265p. 14$891
Cottage - Dogwood IIIndependent living$4,540p. 14$891
Cottage - RedbudIndependent living$4,437p. 14$891
Cottage - SycamoreIndependent living$4,607p. 14$891
Cottage - AspenIndependent living$4,778p. 14$891
Cottage - HickoryIndependent living$4,949p. 15$891
Rental Service Agreement · Rental (9 prices, $4,017 to $4,542)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Cl Apt Goodland (rental)Independent living$4,312p. 93$891
Cl Apt Redcort (rental)Independent living$4,339p. 93$891
Cl Apt Harcourt (rental)Independent living$4,459p. 93$891
Pro Apt Creston (rental)Independent living$4,017p. 93$891
Pro Apt Stayman (rental)Independent living$4,265p. 93$891
Pro Apt Westland (rental)Independent living$4,283p. 93$891
Pro Apt Westland II (rental)Independent living$4,283p. 93$891
Pro Apt Liberty (rental)Independent living$4,538p. 93$891
Pro Apt Parkland (rental)Independent living$4,542p. 93$891
Assisted Living Rates · Type C (fee for service) (9 prices, $7,971 to $10,798)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apt - Pippin (studio) (500 sq ft)Assisted living$7,971 to $9,420p. 15$2,644
Apt - Creston (711-720 sq ft)Assisted living$8,840 to $10,289p. 15$2,644
Apt - Westland (739 sq ft)Assisted living$9,098 to $10,547p. 15$2,644
Apt - Goodland (763 sq ft)Assisted living$9,125 to $10,574p. 15$2,644
Apt - Redcort (768 sq ft)Assisted living$9,151 to $10,600p. 15$2,644
Apt - Westland II (776 sq ft)Assisted living$9,098 to $10,547p. 15$2,644
Apt - Harcourt (789 sq ft)Assisted living$9,268 to $10,717p. 15$2,644
Apt - Liberty (801 sq ft)Assisted living$9,346 to $10,795p. 15$2,644
Apt - Parkland (807 sq ft)Assisted living$9,349 to $10,798p. 15$2,644
Assisted Living Memory Care Rates · Type C (fee for service) (2 prices, $9,090 to $12,006)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Private suiteMemory care$10,486 to $12,006p. 15Not listed
Semi-private suiteMemory care$9,090 to $10,612p. 15Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingApt - Cameo6.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,725 to $2,902p. 93
2024Independent livingApt - Cameo4.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,601 to $2,725p. 93
2023Independent livingApt - Cameo6.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,438 to $2,601p. 93
2022Independent livingApt - Cameo4.8%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,326 to $2,438p. 93

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Traditional Declining Refundp. 25

A 10% administrative charge is kept, then the refund falls 5% a month for 18 months, after which nothing is refunded. Any refund is paid once the residence has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month for 18 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

50% Refundp. 25

A 10% administrative charge is kept, then the refund falls 5% a month for 8 months and never below 50% of the entrance fee. Paid once the residence has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
10% of the fee
Declines by
5% a month for 8 months
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

80% Refundp. 25

A 20% administrative charge is kept and the remaining 80% is refundable. Paid once the residence has been reserved by a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
80% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: The Village at Orchard Ridge, Inc.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

217 days FY2024p. 88

Debt service coverage

2.10x FY2024p. 88

Read with these figuresThe reported 217 days cash on hand is management's figure from the disclosure narrative, not an audited ratio, and it only holds by counting outside money: a $13.96M beneficial interest in investments held by affiliate National Lutheran Home for the Aged under a debt support agreement. On its own cash and investments ($2.84M on the audited balance sheet) Orchard Ridge had about 42 days of cash operating expenses.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 63FY2023p. 88
Days cash on hand217 days128 days
Debt service coverage2.10x1.38x
Total assets$145.7 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$165.0 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$72.9 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$34.6 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$51.9 millionNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$19.3 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: Baker Tilly US, LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 63

Occupancy

Level of care2024p. 922023p. 922022p. 922021p. 922020p. 92
Independent living95%92.1%96.4%96%97.4%
Assisted living96%95.3%Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Memory care96%81.7%78.3%97%97.2%
Nursing care92%86.5%85%69%73.5%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025-05 The Executive Director position at Orchard Ridge was vacant as of May 14, 2025.p. 7
  • 2022-12 Independent living units were affected by water damage in December 2022, lowering FY2023 independent living occupancy.p. 92

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
4 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 4. THE VILLAGE AT ORCHARD RIDGE on Care Compare

In brief

The Village at Orchard Ridge is a Lutheran-affiliated nonprofit retirement community in Winchester, Virginia, opened in 2013, with 308 independent living residences plus assisted living, memory care and skilled nursing. Residents choose an entrance-fee contract with fee-for-service care (2025 entrance fees from $276,610, with traditional declining, 50% or 80% refund options) or a rental apartment. Management reported 217 days cash on hand and 2.10x debt service coverage for 2024, above its 125-day and 1.20x covenants, but the days figure counts a $13.96M interest in investments held by an affiliate; on its own cash and investments it had about 42 days. It carried a $19.3M net deficit.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.