Home › Compare
Ashby Ponds and The Woodlands compared
Two Virginia communities about 14 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Ashby Ponds | The Woodlands |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Ashburn, VA | Fairfax, VA |
| Filing used | 2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF | 2023 statement, fiscal 2021 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Type C (fee for service) | Type B (modified) |
| Entrance fee, one person | $274,000 to $1,417,000p. 102 | $346,000 to $765,000p. 123 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $2,988 to $5,004p. 102 | $5,031 to $7,190p. 124 |
| Refund plans | 90% Refund Amountp. 25 | 90% Refundable; 70% Refundablep. 23p. 77 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | 90% of the feep. 25 | 90% of the feep. 23p. 77 |
| When a refund is paid | In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance feesp. 25 | When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 23p. 77 |
| Days cash on hand | 137 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 114 | 15 days (FY2021, calculated)p. 135Computed by us: $195,401 of unrestricted cash (cash $359,528 less $164,127 restricted for deposits) over FY2021 cash operating expenses. Counting the escrowed deposits it would be about 27 days. The community holds no investments or reserve fund. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing | Not disclosed in the 2023 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2024 filing | Not disclosed in the 2023 filingComputed by us: $195,401 of unrestricted cash (cash $359,528 less $164,127 restricted for deposits) over FY2021 cash operating expenses. Counting the escrowed deposits it would be about 27 days. The community holds no investments or reserve fund. |
| Independent living occupancy | 97.4% (2023)p. 192 | 83% (2021)p. 149 |
| Net position | −$88.0 million (FY2023)p. 114 | $6.2 million (FY2021)p. 132 |
| Whose finances | Ashby Ponds, Inc.p. 114 | The Woodlands Retirement Community, LLCp. 132 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLPp. 114 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Foote and Lloyd, Certified Public Accountantsp. 132 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 4 of 5 (CMS overall) | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
Ashby Ponds
Type C (fee for service): Residents who move to assisted living, memory care or nursing pay that level's monthly package or daily rate; there is no life-care discount. If those units are full, the Medical Director arranges services in the resident's apartment or a transfer to an off-site facility.p. 104
The Woodlands
Type B (modified): Independent living only. Both the entrance-fee and rental agreements include a total of 5 days of respite care at The Gardens assisted living for the life of the agreement, plus priority admission there; any other assisted living is paid by the resident, and no nursing care is provided.p. 18