Skip to content

The Woodlands

4320 Forest Hill Drive, Fairfax, Virginia 22030

Operator:
The Woodlands Retirement Community, LLC
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing
Opened:
2008

Virginia LLC owned in six equal 16.67% shares by members of the Bainum family; not tax-exempt. Assisted living is provided next door by Virginia Gardens, L.L.C. (The Gardens), a separate company with similar ownership.

  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2023 disclosure statement (fiscal 2021 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2021; this is the newest statement we have for The Woodlands, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$346,000 to $765,000p. 123

Monthly fee, independent living

$5,031 to $7,190p. 124

Refund plans offered

  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee
  • 70% RefundableNever less than 70% of the fee

Days cash on hand

15 (FY2021, calculated by us)p. 135Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Computed by us: $195,401 of unrestricted cash (cash $359,528 less $164,127 restricted for deposits) over FY2021 cash operating expenses. Counting the escrowed deposits it would be about 27 days. The community holds no investments or reserve fund.

Independent living occupancy

83% (2021)p. 149

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type B (modified)

Independent living only. Both the entrance-fee and rental agreements include a total of 5 days of respite care at The Gardens assisted living for the life of the agreement, plus priority admission there; any other assisted living is paid by the resident, and no nursing care is provided.p. 18

Assisted living
Five lifetime days of respite care at The Gardens (affiliated assisted living) included; otherwise assisted living at The Gardens under a separate agreement at the resident's own expense
Nursing care
Not offered; The Woodlands provides no health care
Care days included
5
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 6
Independent living102
Assisted livingNone on campus
Memory careNone on campus
Nursing careNone on campus

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

90% Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (15 prices, $346,000 to $765,000)
UnitSq ftRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
The Willows (One Bedroom) III (1 Bath)93290% Refundablefrom $372,000p. 123Not listed
The Willows (One Bedroom) IV (1 Bath)88790% Refundablefrom $346,000p. 123Not listed
The Maples (One Bedroom/Study) II (1 Bath)94790% Refundablefrom $384,000p. 123Not listed
The Maples (One Bedroom/Study) III (1 1/2 Bath)1,25190% Refundablefrom $500,000p. 123Not listed
The Maples (One Bedroom/Study) IV (1 Bath)98090% Refundablefrom $397,000p. 123Not listed
The Maples (One Bedroom/Study) V (1 1/2 Bath)1,02090% Refundablefrom $410,000p. 123Not listed
The Elms (Two Bedroom) I (1 Bath)87490% Refundablefrom $360,000p. 123Not listed
The Elms (Two Bedroom) II (2 Bath)1,24090% Refundablefrom $510,000p. 123Not listed
The Elms (Two Bedroom) III (2 Bath)1,45190% Refundablefrom $580,000p. 123Not listed
The Elms (Two Bedroom) IV (2 Bath)1,46290% Refundablefrom $595,000p. 123Not listed
The Oaks (Two Bedroom/Study) I (2 Bath)1,43490% Refundablefrom $574,000p. 123Not listed
The Oaks (Two Bedroom/Study) II (2 Bath)1,50090% Refundablefrom $630,000p. 123Not listed
The Oaks (Two Bedroom/Study) III (2 Bath)1,57390% Refundablefrom $640,000p. 123Not listed
The Oaks (Two Bedroom/Study) IV (2 Bath)1,68790% Refundablefrom $685,000p. 123Not listed
The Oaks (Two Bedroom/Study) V (2 1/2 Bath)1,89490% Refundablefrom $765,000p. 123Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

90% / 70% Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (4 prices, $5,031 to $7,190)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
The WillowsIndependent livingfrom $5,031p. 124Not listed
The MaplesIndependent livingfrom $5,895p. 124Not listed
The ElmsIndependent livingfrom $5,579p. 124Not listed
The OaksIndependent livingfrom $7,190p. 124Not listed
Rental Residence and Care Agreement · Type B (modified) (1 prices, $6,931)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Rental apartment (single resident)Independent livingfrom $6,931p. 161Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

No year-by-year increase history was recorded from the 2023 filing.

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

90% Refundablep. 23

90% of the entrance fee is refunded (no monthly decline) within 60 days after you vacate and a new resident pays the full entrance fee for your apartment. If the unit is not re-occupied in a reasonable time, it may be re-marketed at a discount and the refund becomes 90% of the discounted fee.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

70% Refundablep. 77

Same terms as the 90% plan with a 70% refund: paid after a new resident pays for the vacated apartment, and reduced to 70% of a discounted fee if the unit is re-marketed at a discount.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2023 filing
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
70% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $311,400 (90% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: The Woodlands Retirement Community, LLC.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

15 days FY2021p. 135

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2023 filing

Read with these figuresComputed by us: $195,401 of unrestricted cash (cash $359,528 less $164,127 restricted for deposits) over FY2021 cash operating expenses. Counting the escrowed deposits it would be about 27 days. The community holds no investments or reserve fund.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2021p. 132FY2020p. 132
Days cash on hand15 daysNot disclosed
Operating margin1.4%Not disclosed
Total assets$31.3 million$31.7 million
Total liabilities$25.1 million$26.4 million
Long-term debt$5.0 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$18.3 millionNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$6.2 million$5.3 million

Auditor: Foote and Lloyd, Certified Public Accountants. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 132

Occupancy

Level of care2021p. 149
Independent living83%
Assisted livingNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2020-10 Obtained a $6,000,000 line of credit from Diamond Bank maturing October 8, 2023; $5,033,367 outstanding net of loan costs at 12/31/2021.p. 140

Nursing care on campus

The filing lists no nursing beds on campus, so there is no CMS nursing-home record to show.

In brief

The Woodlands is a for-profit, independent-living-only community of 102 apartments in Fairfax, opened in 2008, with assisted living available next door at the affiliated Virginia Gardens. Entrance fees in 2023 started at $346,000 to $765,000, 90% refunded once a new resident pays the entrance fee for the vacated apartment, plus monthly fees from $5,031; rentals start at $6,931 a month. Both contracts include 5 lifetime respite days at The Gardens and no nursing care, and the latest audited figures in the filing are for 2021, when occupancy averaged 83%.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • The Virginian

    Fairfax · 4 miles away

    Entrance fee: None: rental

  • The Mather

    Tysons · 8 miles away

    Entrance fee: $698,500 to $4,783,800

  • Greenspring Village

    Springfield · 9 miles away

    Entrance fee: $144,000 to $1,280,000

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.