Skip to content

Home › Compare

Avery Point and Lakewood compared

Two communities in Richmond, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureAvery PointLakewood
LocationRichmond, VARichmond, VA
Filing used2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType C (fee for service)Type A (life care), Type B (modified)
Entrance fee, one person$201,000 to $854,000p. 132$78,000 to $1,410,000p. 14p. 15
Monthly fee, independent living$2,295 to $5,205p. 132$3,091 to $9,349p. 14p. 15
Refund plans80% Refundable; Declining Balancep. 26p. 59Standard; 90% Refundablep. 60p. 61
Highest guaranteed refund80% of the feep. 26p. 5990% of the feep. 60p. 61
When a refund is paidIn turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees; Within a fixed number of daysp. 26p. 59When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paidp. 60p. 61
Days cash on hand17 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 141Calculated by us from FY2023 statements in which Avery Point, Inc. operated the community only from July 1, 2023, so expenses cover about half a year; a full year of expenses would roughly halve this figure.266 days (FY2025, interim)p. 98Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2024 filingAt least 120 daysp. 24
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2024 filingCalculated by us from FY2023 statements in which Avery Point, Inc. operated the community only from July 1, 2023, so expenses cover about half a year; a full year of expenses would roughly halve this figure.2.31x (FY2025, interim)p. 98Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.
Independent living occupancy99% (2023)p. 21395.8% (2025)p. 23
Net position−$2.3 million (FY2023)p. 141−$7.9 million (FY2025)p. 98
Whose financesAvery Point, Inc.p. 141Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia and Subsidiaries (consolidated); ratios for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Groupp. 98
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLPp. 141Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 98
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked3 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Avery Point

Type C (fee for service): Assisted living, memory care and nursing are planned (up to 120 assisted living and 60 nursing units) but not yet built; until they open, Avery Point arranges care through transfer agreements with local facilities. No care rates are published in this statement.p. 19

Lakewood

Type A (life care): Life-Care residents keep paying their independent-living monthly fee, plus two meals a day, in assisted living or the Health Care Center; the couples rate still applies when one or both are in care. Residents get priority admittance when the Health Care Center is full.p. 16

Type B (modified): Fee for Service residents pay the published daily rate for assisted living, memory support and nursing, less 10%. Residents transferred out for lack of space get priority admittance when a bed becomes available.p. 46

Questions to ask both communities before you sign