Skip to content

Lakewood

1900 Lauderdale Drive, Richmond, Virginia 23238

Operator:
Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Baptist (Baptist General Association of Virginia)
Opened:
1977
  • Type A (life care)
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$78,000 to $1,410,000p. 14p. 15

Monthly fee, independent living

$3,091 to $9,349p. 14p. 15

Refund plans offered

  • StandardCan decline to nothing
  • 90% RefundableNever less than 90% of the fee

Days cash on hand

266 (FY2025, interim, unaudited)p. 98Its lenders require at least 120.Figures for LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group

Independent living occupancy

95.8% (2025)p. 23

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

3 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type A (life care): Moving to assisted living or nursing leaves your monthly fee essentially unchanged.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

Type A (life care)

Life-Care residents keep paying their independent-living monthly fee, plus two meals a day, in assisted living or the Health Care Center; the couples rate still applies when one or both are in care. Residents get priority admittance when the Health Care Center is full.p. 16

Assisted living
Same monthly fee as the residence previously occupied, plus the cost of two additional meals a day
Nursing care
Same monthly fee as the residence previously occupied, plus the cost of two additional meals a day
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Fee for Service; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Fee for Service residents pay the published daily rate for assisted living, memory support and nursing, less 10%. Residents transferred out for lack of space get priority admittance when a bed becomes available.p. 46

Assisted living
Discounted Daily Rate (daily rate less 10%); 2026 daily rates $293-$336 assisted living, $336-$379 memory support
Nursing care
Discounted Daily Rate (daily rate less 10%); 2026 Health Care daily rate $446
Discount on care
10%
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 23
Independent living337
Assisted living41
Memory care20
Nursing care95

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Fee for Service · Type B (modified) (58 prices, $78,000 to $1,128,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Ashton Apt.Standard$78,000p. 14$41,000
Ashton Apt.90% Refundable$152,000p. 14$80,000
Berkley Apt.Standard$80,000p. 14$41,000
Berkley Apt.90% Refundable$156,000p. 14$80,000
Carlisle Apt.Standard$98,000p. 14$41,000
Carlisle Apt.90% Refundable$192,000p. 14$80,000
Davidson Apt.Standard$142,000p. 14$41,000
Davidson Apt.90% Refundable$276,000p. 14$80,000
Davenport Apt.Standard$147,000p. 14$41,000
Davenport Apt.90% Refundable$285,000p. 14$80,000
Easton Apt.Standard$159,000p. 14$41,000
Easton Apt.90% Refundable$309,000p. 14$80,000
Fairchild Apt.Standard$181,000p. 14$41,000
Fairchild Apt.90% Refundable$353,000p. 14$80,000
GathrightStandard$247,000p. 14$41,000
Gathright90% Refundable$480,000p. 14$80,000
Tuckahoe VillaStandard$433,000p. 14$41,000
Tuckahoe Villa90% Refundable$845,000p. 14$80,000
Copperas VillaStandard$471,000p. 14$41,000
Copperas Villa90% Refundable$919,000p. 14$80,000
Timbercrest VillaStandard$532,000p. 14$41,000
Timbercrest Villa90% Refundable$1,038,000p. 14$80,000
Lancaster CottageStandard$423,000p. 14$41,000
Lancaster Cottage90% Refundable$825,000p. 14$80,000
Jamestown I CottageStandard$463,000p. 14$41,000
Jamestown I Cottage90% Refundable$903,000p. 14$80,000
Jamestown II CottageStandard$493,000p. 14$41,000
Jamestown II Cottage90% Refundable$962,000p. 14$80,000
Kilmarnock II CottageStandard$512,000p. 14$41,000
Kilmarnock II Cottage90% Refundable$999,000p. 14$80,000
Irvington CottageStandard$526,000p. 14$41,000
Irvington Cottage90% Refundable$1,026,000p. 14$80,000
Birch HybridStandard$534,000p. 14$41,000
Birch Hybrid90% Refundable$1,042,000p. 14$80,000
Eagle 1& 2 ClubhouseStandard$279,000p. 14$41,000
Eagle 1& 2 Clubhouse90% Refundable$543,000p. 14$80,000
Heron ClubhouseStandard$401,000p. 14$41,000
Heron Clubhouse90% Refundable$782,000p. 14$80,000
Mallard ClubhouseStandard$399,000p. 14$41,000
Mallard Clubhouse90% Refundable$778,000p. 14$80,000
Maple HybridStandard$454,000p. 14$41,000
Maple Hybrid90% Refundable$884,000p. 14$80,000
Oak HybridStandard$547,000p. 14$41,000
Oak Hybrid90% Refundable$1,068,000p. 14$80,000
Osprey ClubhouseStandard$438,000p. 14$41,000
Osprey Clubhouse90% Refundable$854,000p. 14$80,000
Pelican ClubhouseStandard$394,000p. 14$41,000
Pelican Clubhouse90% Refundable$768,000p. 14$80,000
Pine HybridStandard$359,000p. 15$41,000
Pine Hybrid90% Refundable$700,000p. 15$80,000
Tern ClubhouseStandard$455,000p. 15$41,000
Tern Clubhouse90% Refundable$886,000p. 15$80,000
AmherstStandard$464,000p. 15$41,000
Amherst90% Refundable$905,000p. 15$80,000
KeswickStandard$521,000p. 15$41,000
Keswick90% Refundable$1,016,000p. 15$80,000
WinchesterStandard$578,000p. 15$41,000
Winchester90% Refundable$1,128,000p. 15$80,000
Life-Care · Type A (life care) (58 prices, $141,000 to $1,410,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Ashton Apt.Standard$141,000p. 15$91,000
Ashton Apt.90% Refundable$273,000p. 15$178,000
Berkley Apt.Standard$145,000p. 15$91,000
Berkley Apt.90% Refundable$282,000p. 15$178,000
Carlisle Apt.Standard$171,000p. 15$91,000
Carlisle Apt.90% Refundable$334,000p. 15$178,000
Davidson Apt.Standard$215,000p. 15$91,000
Davidson Apt.90% Refundable$417,000p. 15$178,000
Davenport Apt.Standard$226,000p. 15$91,000
Davenport Apt.90% Refundable$440,000p. 15$178,000
Easton Apt.Standard$233,000p. 15$91,000
Easton Apt.90% Refundable$454,000p. 15$178,000
Fairchild Apt.Standard$242,000p. 15$91,000
Fairchild Apt.90% Refundable$470,000p. 15$178,000
Gathright Apt.Standard$342,000p. 15$91,000
Gathright Apt.90% Refundable$667,000p. 15$178,000
Tuckahoe VillaStandard$558,000p. 15$91,000
Tuckahoe Villa90% Refundable$1,089,000p. 15$178,000
Copperas VillaStandard$602,000p. 15$91,000
Copperas Villa90% Refundable$1,174,000p. 15$178,000
Timbercrest VillaStandard$683,000p. 15$91,000
Timbercrest Villa90% Refundable$1,132,000p. 15$178,000
Lancaster CottageStandard$590,000p. 15$91,000
Lancaster Cottage90% Refundable$1,151,000p. 15$178,000
Jamestown I CottageStandard$638,000p. 15$91,000
Jamestown I Cottage90% Refundable$1,245,000p. 15$178,000
Jamestown II CottageStandard$678,000p. 15$91,000
Jamestown II Cottage90% Refundable$1,323,000p. 15$178,000
Kilmarnock II CottageStandard$705,000p. 15$91,000
Kilmarnock II Cottage90% Refundable$1,375,000p. 15$178,000
Irvington CottageStandard$723,000p. 15$91,000
Irvington Cottage90% Refundable$1,410,000p. 15$178,000
Birch HybridStandard$676,000p. 16$91,000
Birch Hybrid90% Refundable$1,319,000p. 16$178,000
Eagle 1 & 2 ClubhouseStandard$390,000p. 16$91,000
Eagle 1 & 2 Clubhouse90% Refundable$761,000p. 16$178,000
Heron ClubhouseStandard$529,000p. 16$91,000
Heron Clubhouse90% Refundable$1,032,000p. 16$178,000
Mallard ClubhouseStandard$527,000p. 16$91,000
Mallard Clubhouse90% Refundable$1,027,000p. 16$178,000
Maple HybridStandard$587,000p. 16$91,000
Maple Hybrid90% Refundable$1,144,000p. 16$178,000
Oak HybridStandard$695,000p. 16$91,000
Oak Hybrid90% Refundable$1,355,000p. 16$178,000
Osprey ClubhouseStandard$568,000p. 16$91,000
Osprey Clubhouse90% Refundable$1,108,000p. 16$178,000
Pelican ClubhouseStandard$519,000p. 16$91,000
Pelican Clubhouse90% Refundable$1,011,000p. 16$178,000
Pine HybridStandard$482,000p. 16$91,000
Pine Hybrid90% Refundable$939,000p. 16$178,000
Tern ClubhouseStandard$591,000p. 16$91,000
Tern Clubhouse90% Refundable$1,152,000p. 16$178,000
Amherst CottagesStandard$579,000p. 16$91,000
Amherst Cottages90% Refundable$1,130,000p. 16$178,000
Keswick CottagesStandard$650,000p. 16$91,000
Keswick Cottages90% Refundable$1,268,000p. 16$178,000
Winchester CottagesStandard$722,000p. 16$91,000
Winchester Cottages90% Refundable$1,408,000p. 16$178,000

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Fee for Service · Type B (modified) (29 prices, $3,091 to $6,566)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Ashton Apt.Independent living$3,091p. 14$1,547
Berkley Apt.Independent living$3,091p. 14$1,547
Carlisle Apt.Independent living$3,801p. 14$1,547
Davidson Apt.Independent living$4,029p. 14$1,547
Davenport Apt.Independent living$4,148p. 14$1,547
Easton Apt.Independent living$4,255p. 14$1,547
Fairchild Apt.Independent living$4,332p. 14$1,547
GathrightIndependent living$4,404p. 14$1,547
Tuckahoe VillaIndependent living$4,632p. 14$1,547
Copperas VillaIndependent living$5,118p. 14$1,547
Timbercrest VillaIndependent living$5,283p. 14$1,547
Lancaster CottageIndependent living$5,283p. 14$1,547
Jamestown I CottageIndependent living$5,889p. 14$1,547
Jamestown II CottageIndependent living$6,129p. 14$1,547
Kilmarnock II CottageIndependent living$6,429p. 14$1,547
Irvington CottageIndependent living$6,566p. 14$1,547
Birch HybridIndependent living$6,409p. 14$1,547
Eagle 1& 2 ClubhouseIndependent living$4,708p. 14$1,547
Heron ClubhouseIndependent living$6,081p. 14$1,547
Mallard ClubhouseIndependent living$6,081p. 14$1,547
Maple HybridIndependent living$5,689p. 14$1,547
Oak HybridIndependent living$6,475p. 14$1,547
Osprey ClubhouseIndependent living$6,344p. 14$1,547
Pelican ClubhouseIndependent living$5,886p. 14$1,547
Pine HybridIndependent living$4,840p. 15$1,547
Tern ClubhouseIndependent living$6,409p. 15$1,547
AmherstIndependent living$4,716p. 15$1,547
KeswickIndependent living$5,303p. 15$1,547
WinchesterIndependent living$5,883p. 15$1,547
Life-Care · Type A (life care) (29 prices, $3,497 to $9,349)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Ashton Apt.Independent living$3,497p. 15$2,231
Berkley Apt.Independent living$3,497p. 15$2,231
Carlisle Apt.Independent living$4,404p. 15$2,231
Davidson Apt.Independent living$5,283p. 15$2,231
Davenport Apt.Independent living$5,265p. 15$2,231
Easton Apt.Independent living$5,723p. 15$2,231
Fairchild Apt.Independent living$5,797p. 15$2,231
Gathright Apt.Independent living$6,158p. 15$2,231
Tuckahoe VillaIndependent living$6,584p. 15$2,231
Copperas VillaIndependent living$7,295p. 15$2,231
Timbercrest VillaIndependent living$7,551p. 15$2,231
Lancaster CottageIndependent living$7,551p. 15$2,231
Jamestown I CottageIndependent living$8,365p. 15$2,231
Jamestown II CottageIndependent living$8,745p. 15$2,231
Kilmarnock II CottageIndependent living$9,168p. 15$2,231
Irvington CottageIndependent living$9,349p. 15$2,231
Birch HybridIndependent living$6,475p. 16$2,231
Eagle 1 & 2 ClubhouseIndependent living$4,773p. 16$2,231
Heron ClubhouseIndependent living$6,148p. 16$2,231
Mallard ClubhouseIndependent living$6,148p. 16$2,231
Maple HybridIndependent living$5,755p. 16$2,231
Oak HybridIndependent living$6,539p. 16$2,231
Osprey ClubhouseIndependent living$6,409p. 16$2,231
Pelican ClubhouseIndependent living$5,951p. 16$2,231
Pine HybridIndependent living$4,903p. 16$2,231
Tern ClubhouseIndependent living$6,475p. 16$2,231
Amherst CottagesIndependent living$5,894p. 16$2,231
Keswick CottagesIndependent living$6,627p. 16$2,231
Winchester CottagesIndependent living$7,352p. 16$2,231

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 5%20222023: 8%20232024: 4.45%20242025: 3.95%20252026: 3.75%2026
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingAll units3.75%Percent onlyp. 17
2026Assisted livingAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 17
2026Memory careAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 17
2026Nursing careAll units4.75%Percent onlyp. 17
2025Independent livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 17
2025Assisted livingAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 17
2025Memory careAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 17
2025Nursing careAll units3.95%Percent onlyp. 17
2024Independent livingAll units4.45%Percent onlyp. 17
2024Assisted livingAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 17
2024Memory careAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 17
2024Nursing careAll units5.45%Percent onlyp. 17
2023Independent livingAll units8%Percent onlyp. 17
2023Assisted livingAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 17
2023Memory careAll units8.5%Percent onlyp. 17
2023Nursing careAll units10%Percent onlyp. 17
2022Independent livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 17
2022Assisted livingAll units5%Percent onlyp. 17
2022Memory careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 17
2022Nursing careAll units5%Percent onlyp. 17

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Standardp. 60

A 4% administrative charge is kept; the rest amortizes at 2% a month and nothing is refundable after 50 months. Any refund is paid only after your residence is sold to a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

90% Refundablep. 61

A 4% administrative charge is kept; the rest amortizes 1% a month for 10 months, leaving at least 90% of the fee net of the charge. The refund is paid only after your residence is sold to a new resident who has paid their entrance fee.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
1% a month for 10 months
Never less than
90% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied and the new resident has paid. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Lakewood is part of LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group (LifeSpire, The Culpeper, Lakewood, The Chesapeake, The Glebe, The Summit).
  • Balance sheet: Virginia Baptist Homes, Inc. dba LifeSpire of Virginia and Subsidiaries (consolidated).
  • Ratios: LifeSpire of Virginia Obligated Group.
  • Ratios are interim figures, unaudited.

Days cash on hand

266 days FY2025p. 98

Debt service coverage

2.31x FY2025p. 98

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 98FY2024p. 98
Days cash on hand266 daysNot disclosed
Debt service coverage2.31xNot disclosed
Total assets$561.3 million$548.6 million
Total liabilities$569.2 million$576.6 million
Long-term debt$329.7 million$356.0 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$154.4 million$120.5 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$56.7 million$68.3 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$7.9 million−$28.0 million

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 98

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 23
Independent living95.8%
Assisted living95.1%
Memory care90%
Nursing care90.5%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2025Credit rating Fitch reaffirmed LifeSpire's BBB rating with a stable outlook.p. 20
  • 2024-10 The Obligated Group issued a $168,825,000 note (Series 2024A and Entrance Fee Principal Redemption Series 2024B-1/B-2) to refund the Series 2014A bonds and 2021 Taxable Loan and fund expansions at The Glebe and The Summit.p. 18

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
3 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 0. LAKEWOOD MANOR on Care Compare

In brief

Lakewood is a LifeSpire of Virginia community on 128 acres in Henrico County, opened in 1977, with 337 independent living units, 41 assisted living, 20 memory support and 95 Health Care Center units. It offers a Life-Care contract and a Fee for Service contract (care at the daily rate less 10%), each with a Standard or 90% Refundable entrance fee; 2026 entrance fees run from $78,000 to $1,410,000 depending on contract, plan and residence. LifeSpire and its subsidiaries, reported together, ended 2025 with a net deficit of $7.9 million; the LifeSpire Obligated Group reported 266 days cash on hand against a 120-day covenant.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.