Skip to content

Avery Point

1000 Avery Point Way, Richmond, Virginia 23233

Operator:
Avery Point, Inc. (managed by Erickson Senior Living, LLC)
Ownership:
Mixed nonprofit and for-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Opened:
2022

Provider Avery Point, Inc. is a non-stock nonprofit (intended 501(c)(3)) whose sole member is the nonprofit National Senior Communities, Inc.; the site is owned by ELP Richmond, LLC and the community is managed by Erickson Senior Living, LLC, both for-profit Erickson entities (p2-3, p6). Initial entrance fees are loaned to the Landowner (p3, p8).

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2024 disclosure statement (fiscal 2023 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2023; this is the newest statement we have for Avery Point, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$201,000 to $854,000p. 132

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,295 to $5,205p. 132

Refund plans offered

  • 80% RefundableNever less than 80% of the fee
  • Declining BalanceCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

17 (FY2023, calculated by us)p. 141Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Calculated by us from FY2023 statements in which Avery Point, Inc. operated the community only from July 1, 2023, so expenses cover about half a year; a full year of expenses would roughly halve this figure.

Independent living occupancy

99% (2023)p. 213

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Assisted living, memory care and nursing are planned (up to 120 assisted living and 60 nursing units) but not yet built; until they open, Avery Point arranges care through transfer agreements with local facilities. No care rates are published in this statement.p. 19

Assisted living
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Nursing care
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Units on campusp. 213
Independent living323
Assisted livingNone on campus
Memory careNone on campus
Nursing careNone on campus

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement (Declining Balance) · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $201,000 to $598,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom 1.5 BathDeclining Balance$201,000 to $275,000p. 132Not listed
1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 BathDeclining Balance$253,000 to $288,000p. 132Not listed
2 Bedroom 2 BathDeclining Balance$273,000 to $461,000p. 132Not listed
2 Bedroom 2 Bath with DenDeclining Balance$404,000 to $483,000p. 132Not listed
2 Bedroom 2.5 Bath with DenDeclining Balance$544,000 to $598,000p. 132Not listed
Residence and Care Agreement (80% Refundable) · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $286,000 to $854,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath80% Refundable$286,000 to $392,000p. 132Not listed
1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 Bath80% Refundable$361,000 to $411,000p. 132Not listed
2 Bedroom 2 Bath80% Refundable$390,000 to $658,000p. 132Not listed
2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den80% Refundable$577,000 to $689,000p. 132Not listed
2 Bedroom 2.5 Bath with Den80% Refundable$777,000 to $854,000p. 132Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residence and Care Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $2,295 to $5,205)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
1 Bedroom 1.5 BathIndependent living$2,295 to $2,572p. 132$1,032
1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 BathIndependent livingfrom $2,841p. 132$1,032
2 Bedroom 2 BathIndependent living$2,841 to $4,084p. 132$1,032
2 Bedroom 2 Bath with DenIndependent living$4,084 to $4,366p. 132$1,032
2 Bedroom 2.5 Bath with DenIndependent livingfrom $5,205p. 132$1,032

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent living1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath (low end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,186 to $2,295p. 136
2025Independent living1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath (high end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,450 to $2,572p. 136
2025Independent living1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 Bath5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,706 to $2,841p. 136
2025Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath (low end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,706 to $2,841p. 136
2025Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath (high end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,890 to $4,084p. 136
2025Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den (low end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,890 to $4,084p. 136
2025Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den (high end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,159 to $4,366p. 136
2025Independent living2 Bedroom 2.5 Bath with Den5%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,958 to $5,205p. 136
2025Independent livingJoint Resident fee5%calculated from the dollar amounts$983 to $1,032p. 136
2024Independent living1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath (low end)5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,068 to $2,186p. 136
2024Independent living1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath (high end)5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,317 to $2,450p. 136
2024Independent living1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 Bath5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,559 to $2,706p. 136
2024Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath (low end)5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,559 to $2,706p. 136
2024Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath (high end)5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,679 to $3,890p. 136
2024Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den (low end)5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,679 to $3,890p. 136
2024Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den (high end)5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,933 to $4,159p. 136
2024Independent living2 Bedroom 2.5 Bath with Den5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,689 to $4,958p. 136
2024Independent livingJoint Resident fee5.7%calculated from the dollar amounts$930 to $983p. 136
2023Independent living1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath (low end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,970 to $2,068p. 136
2023Independent living1 Bedroom 1.5 Bath (high end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,207 to $2,317p. 136
2023Independent living1 Bedroom with Den 1.5 Bath5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,438 to $2,559p. 136
2023Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath (low end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$2,438 to $2,559p. 136
2023Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath (high end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,504 to $3,679p. 136
2023Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den (low end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,504 to $3,679p. 136
2023Independent living2 Bedroom 2 Bath with Den (high end)5%calculated from the dollar amounts$3,746 to $3,933p. 136
2023Independent living2 Bedroom 2.5 Bath with Den5%calculated from the dollar amounts$4,466 to $4,689p. 136
2023Independent livingJoint Resident fee5%calculated from the dollar amounts$886 to $930p. 136

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

80% Refundablep. 26

20% of the entrance fee is a non-refundable Community Fee; 80% is refunded unless spent down for care. It is paid in Refund Number order once a Refund Account funded by new residents' entrance fees holds enough to pay it in full; no maximum wait is stated.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
80% of the fee
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
In turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees

Declining Balancep. 59

A 4% processing fee plus 2% of the entrance fee for each month of residency is kept; nothing is refunded after 48 months. Any refund is paid within 90 days of vacating the unit.

Kept on move-in
4% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
3 months
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $228,800 (80% of the fee)

When it is paid: in turn, from a fund of new residents' entrance fees. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet and ratios: Avery Point, Inc.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

17 days FY2023p. 141

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Read with these figuresCalculated by us from FY2023 statements in which Avery Point, Inc. operated the community only from July 1, 2023, so expenses cover about half a year; a full year of expenses would roughly halve this figure.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet

Fiscal yearFY2023p. 141
Total assets$126.6 million
Total liabilities$128.9 million
Long-term debt$18.8 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$269,900
Entrance-fee liabilities, not split in the filing$98.1 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)−$2.3 million

Auditor: PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 141

Occupancy

Level of care2023p. 213
Independent living99%
Assisted livingNot disclosed
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing careNot disclosed

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2023-07Ownership change On July 1, 2023 Avery Point, Inc. acquired the operating assets (excluding land and buildings) and liabilities of ELP Richmond, LLC, including all Residence and Care Agreements.p. 213

Nursing care on campus

The filing lists no nursing beds on campus, so there is no CMS nursing-home record to show.

In brief

Avery Point is an Erickson Senior Living-managed community on about 90 acres in Richmond that began operations in November 2022; at the end of 2023 it had 323 independent living apartments, 99% occupied, with up to 1,200 planned. Assisted living, memory care and nursing are not yet built (estimated 2028). 2025 entrance fees run $201,000-$598,000 on a declining-balance plan or $286,000-$854,000 for 80% refundable, and the nonprofit operator reported a 2023 operating loss of $2.4 million.PDF

Also in Richmond

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.