Skip to content

Home › Compare

Bridgewater Retirement Community and Summit Square compared

Two Virginia communities about 22 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureBridgewater Retirement CommunitySummit Square
LocationBridgewater, VAWaynesboro, VA
Filing used2024 statement, fiscal 2023 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesType C (fee for service)Type B (modified), Type C (fee for service), Rental
Entrance fee, one person$75,606 to $1,906,566p. 55p. 57$71,000 to $373,900p. 100
Monthly fee, independent living$1,124 to $3,591p. 55$2,100 to $5,559p. 100
Refund plansOption One: 7-Year Declining Refund; Option Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund; Option Three: 100% Refundp. 47p. 48p. 15Type I declining refund; Type II declining refund; Type III 50% refundp. 49p. 50
Highest guaranteed refund100% of the feep. 47p. 48p. 1550% of the feep. 49p. 50
When a refund is paidWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is firstp. 47p. 48p. 15When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is firstp. 49p. 50
Days cash on hand316 days (FY2023, calculated)p. 66Figures for Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated).419 days (FY2025)p. 142Figures for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square). Days cash and coverage are for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home's three campuses together (Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square), not Summit Square alone; Summit Square's own column holds $242,738 cash and $3,938,591 investments (p141). Days cash 419 is the audit note figure (p124); the covenant schedule (Exhibit F, p159) shows 418. Coverage 4.87x is from that management covenant schedule (p157), not the audit.
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2024 filingAt least 150 daysp. 129
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2024 filingFigures for Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated).4.87x (FY2025)p. 142Figures for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square). Days cash and coverage are for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home's three campuses together (Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square), not Summit Square alone; Summit Square's own column holds $242,738 cash and $3,938,591 investments (p141). Days cash 419 is the audit note figure (p124); the covenant schedule (Exhibit F, p159) shows 418. Coverage 4.87x is from that management covenant schedule (p157), not the audit.
Independent living occupancy98.95% (2023)p. 114Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Net position$53.5 million (FY2023)p. 66$8.5 million (FY2025)p. 142
Whose financesBridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated)p. 66Summit Square division of Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (audited supplementary schedule); ratios for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square)p. 142
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Gross Mendelsohnp. 66Unmodified (clean) opinion, CliftonLarsonAllen LLPp. 142
Nursing care, CMS rating4 of 5 (CMS overall)4 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Bridgewater Retirement Community

Type C (fee for service): Independent living residents are not entitled to assisted living or nursing care under the agreement, but their applications get priority over non-residents and they pay the prevailing rates. The Village Monthly Service Fee continues during a temporary transfer.p. 13

Summit Square

Type C (fee for service): Residents have priority admission to assisted living and the health care center but pay the daily rate; the apartment's monthly fee stops while they are there (except Medicare short-term skilled stays). Type III's 50% refund may be used toward care.p. 4

Type B (modified): Ninety days of assisted living and/or health care, cumulative over the resident's lifetime and non-transferable, during which the resident keeps paying the regular monthly fee; after that the full per diem applies.p. 4

Rental: Rental residents pay the applicable daily fee for assisted living or health care.p. 5

Questions to ask both communities before you sign