Skip to content

Bridgewater Retirement Community

302 North Second Street, Bridgewater, Virginia 22812 · Community website

Operator:
Bridgewater Village, Inc. (parent: Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc.)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Church of the Brethren (longstanding affiliation, no legal relationship, p11)
Opened:
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

Bridgewater Village, Inc. (independent living provider), Bridgewater Home, Inc. (assisted living/nursing) and the Foundation are Virginia nonstock corporations whose sole member is Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc.; each holds a 501(c)(3) determination (p4, p11). All property is owned by Bridgewater Retirement Community (p11).

  • Type C (fee for service)

Figures from the 2024 disclosure statement (fiscal 2023 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2023; this is the newest statement we have for Bridgewater Retirement Community, and a later one may have been filed since.

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$75,606 to $1,906,566p. 55p. 57

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,124 to $3,591p. 55

Refund plans offered

  • Option One: 7-Year Declining RefundTerms not disclosed in the 2024 filing
  • Option Two: No-Less-Than 50% RefundTerms not disclosed in the 2024 filing
  • Option Three: 100% RefundNever less than 100% of the fee

Days cash on hand

316 (FY2023, calculated by us)p. 66Lenders' minimum not disclosed.Figures for Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated)

Independent living occupancy

98.95% (2023)p. 114

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Independent living residents are not entitled to assisted living or nursing care under the agreement, but their applications get priority over non-residents and they pay the prevailing rates. The Village Monthly Service Fee continues during a temporary transfer.p. 13

Assisted living
Bridgewater Home's prevailing rates at the time (room and board included; physician, therapy, drugs, supplies and transportation extra); rates not listed in this statement.
Nursing care
Bridgewater Home's prevailing rates at the time; not listed in this statement.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 10
Independent living269
Assisted living128
Memory care33
Nursing care127

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (24 prices, $75,606 to $1,906,566)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Village CourtsOption One: 7-Year Declining Refund$75,606 to $159,074p. 55Not listed
Multiplexes (cottage)Option One: 7-Year Declining Refund$108,450 to $173,869p. 55Not listed
Duplex CottagesOption One: 7-Year Declining Refund$123,424 to $250,218p. 55Not listed
Duplex Cottages with GarageOption One: 7-Year Declining Refund$246,673 to $442,277p. 55Not listed
Single Family CottageOption One: 7-Year Declining Refund$201,771 to $635,522p. 55Not listed
Hearthstone Manor (apartment)Option One: 7-Year Declining Refund$118,394 to $168,472p. 55Not listed
Maple Terrace (apartment)Option One: 7-Year Declining Refund$194,552 to $299,384p. 55Not listed
Grove (apartment)Option One: 7-Year Declining Refund$252,821 to $396,762p. 55Not listed
Village CourtsOption Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund$102,068 to $214,750p. 56Not listed
Multiplexes (cottage)Option Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund$146,408 to $234,723p. 56Not listed
Duplex CottagesOption Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund$166,622 to $337,794p. 56Not listed
Duplex Cottages with GarageOption Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund$333,009 to $597,074p. 56Not listed
Single Family CottageOption Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund$272,391 to $857,955p. 56Not listed
Hearthstone Manor (apartment)Option Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund$159,832 to $227,437p. 56Not listed
Maple Terrace (apartment)Option Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund$262,645 to $404,168p. 56Not listed
Grove (apartment)Option Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refund$341,308 to $535,629p. 56Not listed
Village CourtsOption Three: 100% Refund$226,818 to $477,222p. 57Not listed
Multiplexes (cottage)Option Three: 100% Refund$325,350 to $521,607p. 57Not listed
Duplex CottagesOption Three: 100% Refund$370,272 to $750,654p. 57Not listed
Duplex Cottages with GarageOption Three: 100% Refund$740,019 to $1,326,831p. 57Not listed
Single Family CottageOption Three: 100% Refund$605,313 to $1,906,566p. 57Not listed
Hearthstone Manor (apartment)Option Three: 100% Refund$355,182 to $505,416p. 57Not listed
Maple Terrace (apartment)Option Three: 100% Refund$583,656 to $898,152p. 57Not listed
Grove (apartment)Option Three: 100% Refund$758,463 to $1,190,286p. 57Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (8 prices, $1,124 to $3,591)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Village CourtsIndependent living$1,124 to $1,402p. 55$189
Multiplexes (cottage)Independent living$1,234 to $1,452p. 55$189
Duplex CottagesIndependent living$1,283 to $1,706p. 55$189
Duplex Cottages with GarageIndependent living$1,694 to $2,346p. 55$189
Single Family CottageIndependent living$1,545 to $2,990p. 55$189
Hearthstone Manor (apartment)Independent living$1,349 to $1,516p. 55$189
Maple Terrace (apartment)Independent living$2,917 to $3,266p. 55$487
Grove (apartment)Independent living$3,111 to $3,591p. 55$487

Fee increases, year by year

2018: 3%20182019: 3%20192020: 3%20202021: 3.5%20212022: 6%20222023: 6%2023
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 17
2022Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 17
2021Independent livingAll units3.5%Percent onlyp. 17
2020Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 17
2019Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 17
2018Independent livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 17

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Option One: 7-Year Declining Refundp. 47

Refund is 80% in the first year, 65% in the second, 50% in the third, then 10 points less each year, reaching nothing after seven years. Paid at the earlier of six months after you vacate or 60 days after a new resident occupies the residence.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Longest wait
6 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first

Option Two: No-Less-Than 50% Refundp. 48

Refund is 80% in the first year, 65% in the second, and 50% from the third year on. Paid at the earlier of six months after you vacate or 60 days after a new resident occupies the residence.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2024 filing
Longest wait
6 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first

Option Three: 100% Refundp. 15

The full entrance fee is refunded whenever the agreement ends, at the earlier of six months after you vacate or 60 days after a new resident occupies the residence.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
100% of the fee
Longest wait
6 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $226,818 (100% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Bridgewater Retirement Community is part of Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (Village, Home, Foundation).
  • Balance sheet and ratios: Bridgewater HealthCare, Inc. and Affiliates (consolidated).
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

316 days FY2023p. 66

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2024 filing

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2023p. 66FY2022p. 67
Days cash on hand316 daysNot disclosed
Total assets$133.6 million$134.2 million
Total liabilities$80.2 million$83.4 million
Long-term debt$41.1 million$44.6 million
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$14.4 million$13.4 million
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$19.5 million$19.7 million
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$53.5 million$50.8 million

Auditor: Gross Mendelsohn. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 66

Occupancy

Level of care2023p. 114
Independent living98.95%
Assisted living92.02%
Memory careNot disclosed
Nursing care95.9%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2023-09 FY2023 audit restated how net assets as of September 30, 2021 and FY2022 investment income were split between donor-restricted and unrestricted (board-designated Nursing Education Fund); total net assets unchanged; opinion not modified.p. 95

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
3 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 10. BRIDGEWATER HOME , INC. on Care Compare

In brief

Bridgewater Retirement Community is a nonprofit campus of about 53 acres in the Town of Bridgewater with 269 independent living cottages and apartments, 128 assisted living and 33 memory support beds, and a 127-bed nursing center. Independent living residents choose a 7-year declining, 50%-minimum or 100% refundable entrance fee and pay prevailing rates, with priority admission, if they need assisted living or nursing. The consolidated organization reported income from operations of $1.5 million for the year ended September 30, 2023.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

  • Sunnyside

    Harrisonburg · 7 miles away

    Entrance fee: $68,600 to $809,200

  • Park Village (VMRC)

    Harrisonburg · 8 miles away

    Entrance fee: $122,709 to $1,127,549

  • Summit Square

    Waynesboro · 22 miles away

    Entrance fee: $71,000 to $373,900

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.