Skip to content

Summit Square

501 Oak Avenue, Waynesboro, Virginia 22980

Operator:
Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (Sunnyside Communities)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1998

Non-stock, not-for-profit corporation, 501(c)(3) exempt; owns the 7.3-acre campus in fee simple (p4).

  • Type B (modified)
  • Type C (fee for service)
  • Rental

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the Virginia State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$71,000 to $373,900p. 100

Monthly fee, independent living

$2,100 to $5,559p. 100

Refund plans offered

  • Type I declining refundCan decline to nothing
  • Type II declining refundCan decline to nothing
  • Type III 50% refundNever less than 50% of the fee

Days cash on hand

419 (FY2025)p. 142Its lenders require at least 150.Figures for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square)
Read the note on this figure

Days cash and coverage are for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home's three campuses together (Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square), not Summit Square alone; Summit Square's own column holds $242,738 cash and $3,938,591 investments (p141). Days cash 419 is the audit note figure (p124); the covenant schedule (Exhibit F, p159) shows 418. Coverage 4.87x is from that management covenant schedule (p157), not the audit.

Independent living occupancy

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

4 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.
  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.
  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)The filing calls it Type I - FFS / Type III - FFS; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Residents have priority admission to assisted living and the health care center but pay the daily rate; the apartment's monthly fee stops while they are there (except Medicare short-term skilled stays). Type III's 50% refund may be used toward care.p. 4

Assisted living
Per diem: $297/day private, $324/day deluxe (2026)
Nursing care
Per diem: $387/day semi-private, $424/day private (2026); memory support $337/day
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Type II - Modified; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Ninety days of assisted living and/or health care, cumulative over the resident's lifetime and non-transferable, during which the resident keeps paying the regular monthly fee; after that the full per diem applies.p. 4

Assisted living
90 lifetime days at the regular monthly fee plus extra meals and ancillary supplies; full per diem after
Nursing care
90 lifetime days at the regular monthly fee plus extra meals and ancillary supplies; full per diem after
Care days included
90

RentalThe filing calls it Rental; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Rental residents pay the applicable daily fee for assisted living or health care.p. 5

Assisted living
Applicable daily fee
Nursing care
Applicable daily fee
Units on campusp. 4
Independent living63
Assisted living18
Memory care17
Nursing care16

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Type I – Fee for Service · Type C (fee for service) (14 prices, $71,000 to $249,200)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Cherry (Studio)Type I declining refundfrom $71,000p. 100$23,900
Chinquapin (1 BR/1 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $76,000p. 100$23,900
Southern Magnolia (1 BR/1 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $81,000p. 100$23,900
Chestnut (1 BR/1 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $115,500p. 100$23,900
Birch (2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $122,900p. 100$23,900
Willow (1 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $128,800p. 100$23,900
Maple (1 or 2 BR/1.5 BA/Den)Type I declining refundfrom $161,300p. 100$23,900
Hickory (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Type I declining refundfrom $184,700p. 100$23,900
Aspen (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Type I declining refundfrom $249,200p. 100$23,900
Red Bud Patio Home (2 BR/1.5 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $189,600p. 100$24,400
Catered Living - Cherry II (Studio)Type I declining refundfrom $71,000p. 99$23,900
Catered Living - Chinquapin I (1 BR/1 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $76,000p. 99$23,900
Catered Living - Southern Magnolia I or II (1 BR/1 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $81,000p. 99$23,900
Catered Living - Birch I or II (1 or 2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type I declining refundfrom $122,900p. 99$23,900
Type II – 90 Days Care · Type B (modified) (14 prices, $93,000 to $271,200)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Cherry (Studio)Type II declining refundfrom $93,000p. 100$45,900
Chinquapin (1 BR/1 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $98,000p. 100$45,900
Southern Magnolia (1 BR/1 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $103,000p. 100$45,900
Chestnut (1 BR/1 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $137,500p. 100$45,900
Birch (2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $144,900p. 100$45,900
Willow (1 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $150,800p. 100$45,900
Maple (1 or 2 BR/1.5 BA/Den)Type II declining refundfrom $183,200p. 100$45,900
Hickory (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Type II declining refundfrom $206,700p. 100$45,900
Aspen (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Type II declining refundfrom $271,200p. 100$45,900
Red Bud Patio Home (2 BR/1.5 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $211,600p. 100$46,300
Catered Living - Cherry II (Studio)Type II declining refundfrom $93,000p. 99$45,900
Catered Living - Chinquapin I (1 BR/1 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $98,000p. 99$45,900
Catered Living - Southern Magnolia I or II (1 BR/1 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $103,000p. 99$45,900
Catered Living - Birch I or II (1 or 2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type II declining refundfrom $144,900p. 99$45,900
Type III – 50% Refund · Type C (fee for service) (14 prices, $106,600 to $373,900)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
Cherry (Studio)Type III 50% refundfrom $106,600p. 100$35,800
Chinquapin (1 BR/1 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $114,000p. 100$35,800
Southern Magnolia (1 BR/1 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $121,500p. 100$35,800
Chestnut (1 BR/1 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $173,300p. 100$35,800
Birch (2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $184,400p. 100$35,800
Willow (1 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $193,200p. 100$35,800
Maple (1 or 2 BR/1.5 BA/Den)Type III 50% refundfrom $241,900p. 100$35,800
Hickory (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Type III 50% refundfrom $277,100p. 100$35,800
Aspen (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Type III 50% refundfrom $373,900p. 100$35,800
Red Bud Patio Home (2 BR/1.5 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $284,400p. 100$36,500
Catered Living - Cherry II (Studio)Type III 50% refundfrom $106,600p. 99$35,800
Catered Living - Chinquapin I (1 BR/1 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $114,000p. 99$35,800
Catered Living - Southern Magnolia I or II (1 BR/1 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $121,500p. 99$35,800
Catered Living - Birch I or II (1 or 2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Type III 50% refundfrom $184,400p. 99$35,800

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Type I/II/III Occupancy Agreement · Type C (fee for service) (28 prices, $2,100 to $5,615)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Cherry (Studio)Independent living$2,507p. 100$909
Chinquapin (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$2,745p. 100$909
Southern Magnolia (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$2,968p. 100$909
Chestnut (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$3,565p. 100$909
Birch (2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Independent living$3,679p. 100$909
Willow (1 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Independent living$3,992p. 100$909
Maple (1 or 2 BR/1.5 BA/Den)Independent living$4,071p. 100$909
Hickory (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Independent living$4,463p. 100$909
Aspen (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Independent living$5,032p. 100$909
Red Bud Patio Home (2 BR/1.5 BA)Independent living$2,100p. 100$445
Catered Living - Cherry II (Studio)Assisted living$4,443p. 99$2,845
Catered Living - Chinquapin I (1 BR/1 BA)Assisted living$4,683p. 99$2,845
Catered Living - Southern Magnolia I or II (1 BR/1 BA)Assisted living$4,906p. 99$2,845
Catered Living - Birch I or II (1 or 2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Assisted living$5,615p. 99$2,845
Cherry (Studio)Independent living$2,507p. 100$909
Chinquapin (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$2,745p. 100$909
Southern Magnolia (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$2,968p. 100$909
Chestnut (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$3,565p. 100$909
Birch (2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Independent living$3,679p. 100$909
Willow (1 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Independent living$3,992p. 100$909
Maple (1 or 2 BR/1.5 BA/Den)Independent living$4,071p. 100$909
Hickory (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Independent living$4,463p. 100$909
Aspen (2 BR/2 BA/Balcony)Independent living$5,032p. 100$909
Red Bud Patio Home (2 BR/1.5 BA)Independent living$2,100p. 100$445
Catered Living - Cherry II (Studio)Assisted living$4,443p. 99$2,845
Catered Living - Chinquapin I (1 BR/1 BA)Assisted living$4,683p. 99$2,845
Catered Living - Southern Magnolia I or II (1 BR/1 BA)Assisted living$4,906p. 99$2,845
Catered Living - Birch I or II (1 or 2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Assisted living$5,615p. 99$2,845
Residential Occupancy Rental Agreement · Rental (10 prices, $3,336 to $6,961)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Cherry (Studio)Independent living$3,336p. 100$1,121
Chinquapin (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$3,636p. 100$1,121
Southern Magnolia (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$3,967p. 100$1,121
Chestnut (1 BR/1 BA)Independent living$4,816p. 100$1,121
Birch (2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Independent living$5,024p. 100$1,121
Willow (1 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Independent living$5,559p. 100$1,121
Catered Living - Cherry II (Studio)Assisted living$5,273p. 99$3,059
Catered Living - Chinquapin I (1 BR/1 BA)Assisted living$5,573p. 99$3,059
Catered Living - Southern Magnolia I or II (1 BR/1 BA)Assisted living$5,905p. 99$3,059
Catered Living - Birch I or II (1 or 2 BR/1 or 1.5 BA)Assisted living$6,961p. 99$3,059
Per diem (Type I/III residents and outside admissions) · Type C (fee for service) (5 prices, $9,034 to $12,897)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Assisted Living Private RoomAssisted living$9,034p. 101$4,928
Assisted Living Deluxe RoomAssisted living$9,855p. 101$4,928
Memory Support Private RoomMemory care$10,250p. 101Not listed
Health Care Semi-Private RoomNursing care$11,771p. 101Not listed
Health Care Private RoomNursing care$12,897p. 101Not listed

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2026Independent livingVillage (patio homes)4.74%Percent onlyp. 6
2026Independent livingApartments4.75%Percent onlyp. 6
2026Assisted livingAll units4.61%Percent onlyp. 6
2026Memory careAll units4.66%Percent onlyp. 6
2026Nursing careAll units4.93%Percent onlyp. 6
2025Independent livingVillage (patio homes)4.11%Percent onlyp. 6
2025Independent livingApartments3.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2025Assisted livingAll units4.03%Percent onlyp. 6
2025Memory careAll units4.21%Percent onlyp. 6
2025Nursing careAll units4.12%Percent onlyp. 6
2024Independent livingVillage (patio homes)4.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2024Independent livingApartments4.5%Percent onlyp. 6
2024Assisted livingAll units4.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2024Memory careAll units5.5%Percent onlyp. 6
2024Nursing careAll units5.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2023Independent livingVillage (patio homes)6.5%Percent onlyp. 6
2023Independent livingApartments6.5%Percent onlyp. 6
2023Assisted livingAll units6.5%Percent onlyp. 6
2023Memory careAll units6.5%Percent onlyp. 6
2023Nursing careAll units6.5%Percent onlyp. 6
2022Independent livingVillage (patio homes)4.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2022Independent livingApartments4.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2022Assisted livingAll units4.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2022Memory careAll units4.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2022Nursing careAll units4.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2021Independent livingVillage (patio homes)2.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2021Independent livingApartments2.9%Percent onlyp. 6
2021Assisted livingAll units3%Percent onlyp. 6
2021Memory careAll units3%Percent onlyp. 6
2021Nursing careAll units3%Percent onlyp. 6
2020Independent livingVillage (patio homes)3%Percent onlyp. 6
2020Independent livingApartments3%Percent onlyp. 6
2020Assisted livingAll units3.25%Percent onlyp. 6
2020Memory careAll units3.25%Percent onlyp. 6
2020Nursing careAll units3.25%Percent onlyp. 6

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Type I declining refundp. 49

If the resident dies or withdraws in the first 50 months, the entrance fee is refunded less 2% per month of occupancy; nothing is refunded after 50 months. Any refund is paid after the residence is remarketed or within six months, whichever comes first, net of unpaid charges.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
6 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first

Type II declining refundp. 49

Same as Type I: the refund falls 2% per month and reaches zero after 50 months; paid on remarketing or within six months.

Kept on move-in
0% of the fee
Declines by
2% a month for 50 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
6 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first

Type III 50% refundp. 50

On death or withdrawal 50% of the entrance fee is refunded, less any unpaid monthly or daily fees; paid on remarketing of the residence or within six months, whichever comes first.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Does not decline
Never less than
50% of the fee
Longest wait
6 months
Paid
When your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: when your unit is re-occupied or after 6 months, whichever is first. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Summit Square is part of Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (Sunnyside, King's Grant and Summit Square campuses).
  • Balance sheet: Summit Square division of Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (audited supplementary schedule).
  • Ratios: Sunnyside Presbyterian Home (consolidated: Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square).

Days cash on hand

419 days FY2025p. 142

Debt service coverage

4.87x FY2025p. 142

Read with these figuresDays cash and coverage are for Sunnyside Presbyterian Home's three campuses together (Sunnyside, King's Grant, Summit Square), not Summit Square alone; Summit Square's own column holds $242,738 cash and $3,938,591 investments (p141). Days cash 419 is the audit note figure (p124); the covenant schedule (Exhibit F, p159) shows 418. Coverage 4.87x is from that management covenant schedule (p157), not the audit.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 142FY2024p. 157FY2023p. 157FY2022p. 157
Days cash on hand419 days409 days453 days420 days
Debt service coverage4.87x3.84x3.95x3.09x
Operating margin6%Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total assets$23.4 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Total liabilities$14.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Long-term debt$5.8 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)$4.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$567,190Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$8.5 millionNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed

Auditor: CliftonLarsonAllen LLP. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 142

Occupancy

The 2026 filing does not report occupancy.

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
4 of 5
Health inspections
3 of 5
Staffing
5 of 5
Quality measures
4 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 1 totalling $50,021. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 20. SUMMIT SQUARE on Care Compare

In brief

Summit Square is a continuing care community in a five-story building on a 7.3-acre campus in Waynesboro, one of three campuses of the nonprofit Sunnyside Presbyterian Home. It offers fee-for-service contracts with a declining or 50% refund, a modified contract with 90 lifetime days of care, and rentals. 2026 entrance fees range from $71,000 (Type I studio) to $373,900 (Type III Aspen two-bedroom), with monthly fees of $2,100 to $5,032 for independent living. The parent corporation reported 419 days cash on hand and 4.87x debt service coverage for 2025, against lender minimums of 150 days and 1.20x.PDF

Nearest communities in Virginia

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.