Home › Compare
Brookdale Carriage Club Providence and Sharon Village Apartments compared
Two North Carolina communities about 4 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Brookdale Carriage Club Providence | Sharon Village Apartments |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Charlotte, NC | Charlotte, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2025 statement, fiscal 2024 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Rental | Type C (fee for service), Rental |
| Entrance fee, one person | None: rental | $17,000 to $30,000p. 18 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $4,285 to $7,530p. 22p. 23 | $980 to $2,390p. 18 |
| Refund plans | None: rental contract | Retention Deposit Planp. 14 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | None: rental contract | 0% of the feep. 14 |
| When a refund is paid | None: rental contract | Within a fixed number of daysp. 14 |
| Days cash on hand | 429 days (FY2025)p. 2Counts $24.2M of cash (p30): $12.5M cash plus $11.7M the balance sheet shows as restricted cash (the DOI operating reserve and lender reserves, p48). Cash alone would cover about 221 days of the same expenses. The provider keeps no operating cash of its own; operations are funded through the parent, which took $5.4M in net member distributions in 2025 (p46, p48). | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for National HealthCare Corporation (parent; financially responsible for subsidiaries' obligations). The filing has no financial statements for Sharon Village or its operating LLC. Its only audited statements are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation (Ernst & Young, unmodified), covering the whole publicly traded company; Section VI (p21) says the parent filings will be presented until the newly formed provider entity has its own audited statements. Parent figures are not shown as this community's. |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Debt service coverage | 2.40x (FY2025)p. 2Counts $24.2M of cash (p30): $12.5M cash plus $11.7M the balance sheet shows as restricted cash (the DOI operating reserve and lender reserves, p48). Cash alone would cover about 221 days of the same expenses. The provider keeps no operating cash of its own; operations are funded through the parent, which took $5.4M in net member distributions in 2025 (p46, p48). | Not disclosed in the 2025 filingFigures for National HealthCare Corporation (parent; financially responsible for subsidiaries' obligations). The filing has no financial statements for Sharon Village or its operating LLC. Its only audited statements are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation (Ernst & Young, unmodified), covering the whole publicly traded company; Section VI (p21) says the parent filings will be presented until the newly formed provider entity has its own audited statements. Parent figures are not shown as this community's. |
| Independent living occupancy | 85.8% (2025)p. 19 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Net position | $27.3 million (FY2025)p. 43 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Whose finances | ARCLP – Charlotte, LLC d/b/a Brookdale Carriage Club Providence (stand-alone); ratios for ARCLP – Charlotte, LLC (provider only)p. 43 | National HealthCare Corporation (parent; financially responsible for subsidiaries' obligations)p. 21 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, LBMC, PCp. 43 | Not disclosed in the 2025 filing |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) | No CMS record linked |
What care costs later, in each contract
Brookdale Carriage Club Providence
Rental: Assisted living (Coach House), memory care (the Arbors) and the healthcare center are on campus and available at an additional fee to the extent space is available. No care days, discount or priority are promised in the contract.p. 20
Sharon Village Apartments
Type C (fee for service): Residents get priority for a bed in the adjoining 180-bed nursing center but pay for nursing care separately. The disclosure narrative (p16) says each resident is allowed 10 inpatient days a year there, but the retention-plan contract form does not include that clause.p. 204
Rental: Same as the retention plan: priority for a nursing-center bed, with care paid separately. The no-deposit contract form does not include the 10 nursing-facility days mentioned in the disclosure narrative.p. 220