Skip to content

Brookdale Carriage Club Providence

5800 Old Providence Road, Charlotte, North Carolina 28226 · Community website

Operator:
ARCLP – Charlotte, LLC (Brookdale Senior Living Inc.)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Opened:
1988

Wholly owned by Brookdale Senior Living Communities, Inc., a subsidiary of NYSE-listed Brookdale Senior Living Inc. (BKD); the provider owns the real estate.

  • Rental

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

None: rental

Monthly fee, independent living

$4,285 to $7,530p. 22p. 23

Refund plans offered

None: rental contract

Days cash on hand

429 (FY2025)p. 2Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Counts $24.2M of cash (p30): $12.5M cash plus $11.7M the balance sheet shows as restricted cash (the DOI operating reserve and lender reserves, p48). Cash alone would cover about 221 days of the same expenses. The provider keeps no operating cash of its own; operations are funded through the parent, which took $5.4M in net member distributions in 2025 (p46, p48).

Independent living occupancy

85.8% (2025)p. 19

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

5 of 5CMS data as of 2026-09-01

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Rental

Assisted living (Coach House), memory care (the Arbors) and the healthcare center are on campus and available at an additional fee to the extent space is available. No care days, discount or priority are promised in the contract.p. 20

Assisted living
Charged in addition to the monthly fee; rates not disclosed.
Nursing care
Charged in addition to the monthly fee; rates not disclosed.
Units on campusp. 18
Independent living275
Assisted living56
Memory care34
Nursing care42

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

One rental Residency Agreement: no entrance fee, a one-time non-refundable Community Fee ($5,250–$6,250) and a monthly fee. Assisted living, memory care and nursing are available on campus at additional charge to the extent space is available; the contract carries no care commitment or discount. One-time community fee: $5,250–$6,250 (p. 24), non-refundable unless state law requires otherwise; refunded only on rescission within 30 days or if death, illness or incapacity prevents move-in (p. 183) — not an entrance fee.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Residency Agreement (rental) · Rental (6 prices, $4,285 to $7,530)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Magnolia – Efficiency/StudioIndependent living$4,285 to $5,270p. 22$975
Gardenia – One Bedroom, One BathIndependent living$4,960 to $6,300p. 22$975
Cherry Blossom – One Bedroom, One Bath DeluxeIndependent living$5,210 to $6,300p. 22$975
Dogwood – Two Bedroom, Two BathIndependent living$5,670 to $7,070p. 22$975
Jasmine – Two Bedroom, Two Bath DeluxeIndependent living$6,235 to $6,865p. 22$975
Villas – Two Bedroom, Two BathIndependent living$7,225 to $7,530p. 23$975

Fee increases, year by year

2021: 4.5%20212022: 12%20222023: 6%20232024: 6.5%20242025: 6%2025
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 24
2024Independent livingAll units6.5%Percent onlyp. 24
2023Independent livingAll units6%Percent onlyp. 24
2022Independent livingAll units12%Percent onlyp. 24
2021Independent livingAll units4.5%Percent onlyp. 24

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

No entrance-fee refund plan: residents rent.

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: ARCLP – Charlotte, LLC d/b/a Brookdale Carriage Club Providence (stand-alone).
  • Ratios: ARCLP – Charlotte, LLC (provider only).

Days cash on hand

429 days FY2025p. 2

Debt service coverage

2.40x FY2025p. 2

Read with these figuresCounts $24.2M of cash (p30): $12.5M cash plus $11.7M the balance sheet shows as restricted cash (the DOI operating reserve and lender reserves, p48). Cash alone would cover about 221 days of the same expenses. The provider keeps no operating cash of its own; operations are funded through the parent, which took $5.4M in net member distributions in 2025 (p46, p48).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 43FY2024p. 2FY2023p. 2
Days cash on hand429 days457 days415 days
Debt service coverage2.40x1.50x0.70x
Operating margin36%31%23%
Total assets$89.8 million$92.5 millionNot disclosed
Total liabilities$62.5 million$62.6 millionNot disclosed
Long-term debt$60.1 million$60.5 millionNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)$0Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$27.3 million$29.8 millionNot disclosed

Auditor: LBMC, PC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 43

Occupancy

Level of care2025p. 192024p. 192023p. 192022p. 192021p. 19
Independent living85.8%79.3%70.9%66.7%67.1%
Assisted living85.8%71.9%60.7%66%74.6%
Memory careNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Nursing care66%65.5%45.7%47.9%38.4%

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-12 Refinanced: a $27.4 million loan under the mortgage facility repaid $24.9 million of existing mortgage debt; $61.5 million of mortgage debt was outstanding at 12/31/2025, with about $19.7 million due in 2027.p. 51

Nursing care on campus

From CMS Care Compare, data as of 2026-09-01. These are the federal government’s ratings of the nursing center, not ours.

Overall
5 of 5
Health inspections
5 of 5
Staffing
4 of 5
Quality measures
5 of 5

Fines recorded by CMS: 0. Health citations since 2023-10-16: 11. Brookdale Carriage Club Providence on Care Compare

In brief

Brookdale Carriage Club Providence is a for-profit rental CCRC in Charlotte, opened in 1988 and owned by a subsidiary of Brookdale Senior Living Inc., with 275 independent living units plus assisted living, memory care and nursing on one 45-acre campus. There is no entrance fee: residents pay a one-time non-refundable community fee of $5,250 to $6,250 and monthly fees of $4,285 to $7,530, and care is charged separately. Independent living occupancy averaged 85.8% in 2025, up from 66.7% in 2022.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.