Skip to content

Sharon Village Apartments

4009 Craig Avenue, Charlotte, North Carolina 28211 · Community website

Operator:
NHC HealthCare/Charlotte, LLC (subsidiary of National HealthCare Corporation)
Ownership:
For-profit
Affiliation:
Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Opened:
1983

NHC HealthCare/Charlotte, LLC is owned 100% by NHC/OP, L.P., which is 99% owned by publicly traded National HealthCare Corporation (NYSE American: NHC) and 1% by NHC/Delaware, Inc. The LLC also operates the adjacent 180-bed White Oak Manor - Charlotte nursing center and owns the real estate.

  • Type C (fee for service)
  • Rental

Figures from the 2025 disclosure statement (fiscal 2024 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF The finances describe fiscal 2024; this is the newest statement we have for Sharon Village Apartments, and a later one may have been filed since.

In this filing

  • 2024-12: The statement says the reserve balance available at December 31, 2024 was $0 because investment accounts were not funded during the ownership transition; the anticipated operating reserve requirement was $274,324 and funding was in process.p. 23

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

$17,000 to $30,000p. 18

Monthly fee, independent living

$980 to $2,390p. 18

Refund plans offered

  • Retention Deposit PlanCan decline to nothing

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing
Read the note on this figure

The filing has no financial statements for Sharon Village or its operating LLC. Its only audited statements are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation (Ernst & Young, unmodified), covering the whole publicly traded company; Section VI (p21) says the parent filings will be presented until the newly formed provider entity has its own audited statements. Parent figures are not shown as this community's.

Independent living occupancy

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Type C (fee for service): Care is charged at market rates when you need it.
  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.

How the contract types compare

Type C (fee for service)

Residents get priority for a bed in the adjoining 180-bed nursing center but pay for nursing care separately. The disclosure narrative (p16) says each resident is allowed 10 inpatient days a year there, but the retention-plan contract form does not include that clause.p. 204

Assisted living
No assisted living is described at this campus
Nursing care
Market rates in the adjoining White Oak Manor - Charlotte nursing center (rates not disclosed)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

RentalThe filing calls it Straight Rental Plan; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Same as the retention plan: priority for a nursing-center bed, with care paid separately. The no-deposit contract form does not include the 10 nursing-facility days mentioned in the disclosure narrative.p. 220

Assisted living
No assisted living is described at this campus
Nursing care
Market rates in the adjoining nursing center (rates not disclosed)
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 4
Independent living34
Assisted livingNone on campus
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2025 filing
Nursing care180

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

Apartment Rental Agreement (With Retention Schedule Included) · Type C (fee for service) (4 prices, $17,000 to $30,000)
UnitRefund planPrice, one personSecond person
EfficiencyRetention Deposit Planfrom $17,000p. 18Not listed
One BedroomRetention Deposit Planfrom $22,000p. 18Not listed
One Bedroom DeluxeRetention Deposit Planfrom $26,000p. 18Not listed
Two BedroomsRetention Deposit Planfrom $30,000p. 18Not listed

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Apartment Rental Agreement (With Retention Schedule Included) · Type C (fee for service) (4 prices, $980 to $1,910)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
EfficiencyIndependent living$980p. 18Not listed
One BedroomIndependent living$1,280p. 18$360
One Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$1,610p. 18$360
Two BedroomsIndependent living$1,910p. 18$360
Apartment Rental Agreement (With No Initial Deposit) – Straight Rental Plan · Rental (4 prices, $1,310 to $2,390)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
EfficiencyIndependent living$1,310p. 18Not listed
One BedroomIndependent living$1,690p. 18$370
One Bedroom DeluxeIndependent living$2,060p. 18$360
Two BedroomsIndependent living$2,390p. 18$360

Fee increases, year by year

2022: 0%20222023: 0%2023
Independent living, yearly increase. Figures in the table.
YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2024Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (retention plan, 1 person)10.09%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,735 to $1,910p. 19
2024Independent livingOne Bedroom (retention plan, 1 person)10.34%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,160 to $1,280p. 19
2024Independent livingOne Bedroom Deluxe (retention plan, 1 person)9.9%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,465 to $1,610p. 19
2024Independent livingEfficiency (retention plan, 1 person)9.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$895 to $980p. 19
2023Independent livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 20
2022Independent livingAll units0%Percent onlyp. 20
2021Independent livingTwo Bedrooms (retention plan, 1 person)5.15%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,650 to $1,735p. 19
2021Independent livingOne Bedroom (retention plan, 1 person)4.98%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,105 to $1,160p. 19
2021Independent livingOne Bedroom Deluxe (retention plan, 1 person)5.02%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,395 to $1,465p. 19
2021Independent livingEfficiency (retention plan, 1 person)10.36%calculated from the dollar amounts$811 to $895p. 19

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Retention Deposit Planp. 14

If the resident dies, nothing is refunded: the unearned part of the deposit becomes the facility's property (for a couple, the deposit keeps earning out until the surviving spouse dies, then the remainder is forfeited). Otherwise 20% is kept on move-in and the refundable share falls 20 percentage points a year (prorated daily) to nothing after four years; on leaving for any other reason the unearned part is refunded within 30 days.

Kept on move-in
20% of the fee
Declines by
1.67% a month for 48 months
Never less than
Nothing: it can decline to zero
Longest wait
1 month
Paid
Within a fixed number of days

Refund calculator

Estimated refund: $0 (0% of the fee)

When it is paid: within a fixed number of days. This applies the plan terms as recorded from the filing, counting a part month as a whole one. The signed contract governs, and charges you owe or care paid for from the fee can be deducted first.

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Sharon Village Apartments is part of National HealthCare Corporation (parent; financially responsible for subsidiaries' obligations).

Days cash on hand

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2025 filing

Read with these figuresThe filing has no financial statements for Sharon Village or its operating LLC. Its only audited statements are the FY2024 Form 10-K of the parent, National HealthCare Corporation (Ernst & Young, unmodified), covering the whole publicly traded company; Section VI (p21) says the parent filings will be presented until the newly formed provider entity has its own audited statements. Parent figures are not shown as this community's.

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet

Fiscal yearFY2024p. 21
Total assetsNot disclosed
Total liabilitiesNot disclosed
Long-term debtNot disclosed
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)Not disclosed

Auditor: Not disclosed in the 2025 filing. Opinion: Not disclosed in the 2025 filingp. 21

Occupancy

The 2025 filing does not report occupancy.

Events the filing reports

Dated facts the disclosure statement states, such as bond issues, missed covenants or changes of ownership.

  • 2024-12 The statement says the reserve balance available at December 31, 2024 was $0 because investment accounts were not funded during the ownership transition; the anticipated operating reserve requirement was $274,324 and funding was in process.p. 23
  • 2024-08Ownership change National HealthCare Corporation purchased the White Oak portfolio, which includes White Oak of Charlotte, on August 1, 2024; NHC HealthCare/Charlotte, LLC, now the licensed operator, was organized in June 2024.p. 32

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Sharon Village Apartments is a 34-apartment independent living community in Charlotte next to the 180-bed White Oak Manor - Charlotte nursing center, operated by a subsidiary of National HealthCare Corporation, which bought the White Oak portfolio in August 2024. Residents choose a rental plan with no deposit or a $17,000-$30,000 retention deposit that lowers the rent and earns out over four years, with the unearned part forfeited if the resident dies; monthly rent runs $980-$2,390 for one person, and nursing care at the adjoining center is offered on a priority basis and paid for separately. The statement has no financial statements for the community itself (only the parent company's), reports its reserve balance was $0 at the end of 2024, and could be delivered only until May 30, 2025.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.