Home › Compare
Brooks-Howell Home and Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community compared
Two North Carolina communities about 7 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.
| Figure | Brooks-Howell Home | Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community |
|---|---|---|
| Location | Asheville, NC | Asheville, NC |
| Filing used | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF | 2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF |
| Contract types | Rental, Type B (modified) | Type A (life care) |
| Entrance fee, one person | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | $325,485 to $989,573p. 21p. 22 |
| Monthly fee, independent living | $1,773 to $4,135p. 15 | $3,917 to $6,664p. 19p. 20 |
| Refund plans | Continuing care entrance fee (non-refundable after occupancy)p. 10 | Standard Entrance Fee Option; 50% Refund Option; 90% Refund Optionp. 131p. 132 |
| Highest guaranteed refund | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | 90% of the feep. 131p. 132 |
| When a refund is paid | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Within a fixed number of days; When your unit is re-occupied or after 12 months, whichever is firstp. 131p. 132 |
| Days cash on hand | 112 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 76Computed by us: Brooks-Howell's cash $966,086 + investments $605,698 over 2025 expenses less depreciation ($5,110,905/365). The legally responsible entity, United Women in Faith, held $115.9M of cash and investments ($2.8M cash, $113.2M investments), of which it counts $17.8M as available after excluding donor-restricted and retirement funds; it holds the $2.694M statutory reserve (p21, p69). Operating margin not shown: the audit's $440,139 operating income (7.7% of revenue) includes $896,097 of Medicare-wing construction costs UWFaith paid and donated to Brooks-Howell as a one-time non-cash contribution (p77, p88); without it Brooks-Howell ran an operating deficit of about $456,000 (about -9.4%). | 1276 days (FY2025)p. 2The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation). |
| Its lenders' minimum | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing |
| Debt service coverage | Not disclosed in the 2026 filingComputed by us: Brooks-Howell's cash $966,086 + investments $605,698 over 2025 expenses less depreciation ($5,110,905/365). The legally responsible entity, United Women in Faith, held $115.9M of cash and investments ($2.8M cash, $113.2M investments), of which it counts $17.8M as available after excluding donor-restricted and retirement funds; it holds the $2.694M statutory reserve (p21, p69). Operating margin not shown: the audit's $440,139 operating income (7.7% of revenue) includes $896,097 of Medicare-wing construction costs UWFaith paid and donated to Brooks-Howell as a one-time non-cash contribution (p77, p88); without it Brooks-Howell ran an operating deficit of about $456,000 (about -9.4%). | 7.41x (FY2025)p. 2The reported 1,276 days (provider only) rests on unrestricted cash and investments that include $33.7M of board-designated funds (statutory operating reserve $9.7M, renewal and replacement $10.4M, mission advancement $10.6M, benevolent assistance $3.0M). Consolidated cash ($16.4M) and investments ($95.9M) alone, $112.3M, cover about 1,044 days of FY2025 cash operating expenses ($46.53M total expenses less $7.25M depreciation). |
| Independent living occupancy | Not disclosed in the 2026 filing | 97% (2025)p. 17 |
| Net position | $4.0 million (FY2025)p. 76 | $124.8 million (FY2025)p. 49 |
| Whose finances | Brooks-Howell Home (stand-alone; a program of United Women in Faith); ratios for Brooks-Howell Homep. 76 | Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. and Affiliate (Deerfield Charitable Foundation), consolidated; ratios for Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community, Inc. (provider only)p. 49 |
| Audit opinion | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Crosslin, PLLCp. 76 | Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 49 |
| Nursing care, CMS rating | No CMS record linked | 5 of 5 (CMS overall) |
What care costs later, in each contract
Brooks-Howell Home
Rental: Monthly fee-for-service residents pay the Health Center's daily rate if they need care. Residents have priority over non-residents for Health Center beds, based on contract and availability. The Health Center is not Medicare/Medicaid certified; payment is private or long-term care insurance.p. 17
Type B (modified): Independent residents on the continuing care contract receive 14 days of Health Care per year without the daily room rate. Beyond that they pay the published per diem; certain deaconesses and missionaries may qualify for special rates.p. 19
Deerfield Episcopal Retirement Community
Type A (life care): On moving to assisted living or skilled nursing, a resident continues to pay the monthly fee for the residence they occupied at the time of transfer, plus two extra meals a day and ancillary services such as medications and therapy. Upgraded care accommodations cost the difference between direct-admission rates.p. 126