Skip to content

Brooks-Howell Home

266 Merrimon Avenue, Asheville, North Carolina 28801 · Community website

Operator:
United Women in Faith (formerly United Methodist Women)
Ownership:
Nonprofit
Affiliation:
United Methodist (United Women in Faith operates under the Book of Discipline of The United Methodist Church; the Church is not responsible for Brooks-Howell)
Opened:
1957

Brooks-Howell is an unincorporated program of United Women in Faith, a New York not-for-profit corporation that owns the property and is the legal contracting party.

  • Rental
  • Type B (modified)

Figures from the 2026 disclosure statement (fiscal 2025 finances), filed with the North Carolina Department of Insurance.PDF

At a glance

Entrance fee, one person, every plan

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Monthly fee, independent living

$1,773 to $4,135p. 15

Refund plans offered

  • Continuing care entrance fee (non-refundable after occupancy)Terms not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Days cash on hand

112 (FY2025, calculated by us)p. 76Lenders' minimum not disclosed.
Read the note on this figure

Computed by us: Brooks-Howell's cash $966,086 + investments $605,698 over 2025 expenses less depreciation ($5,110,905/365). The legally responsible entity, United Women in Faith, held $115.9M of cash and investments ($2.8M cash, $113.2M investments), of which it counts $17.8M as available after excluding donor-restricted and retirement funds; it holds the $2.694M statutory reserve (p21, p69). Operating margin not shown: the audit's $440,139 operating income (7.7% of revenue) includes $896,097 of Medicare-wing construction costs UWFaith paid and donated to Brooks-Howell as a one-time non-cash contribution (p77, p88); without it Brooks-Howell ran an operating deficit of about $456,000 (about -9.4%).

Independent living occupancy

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Nursing care, CMS overall rating

No CMS record linked

What care costs later

How each contract prices assisted living and nursing if you need them. The contract type decides most of what a long stay costs.

  • Rental: No entrance fee and no promise of future care.
  • Type B (modified): A set number of care days is included, or care is charged at a stated discount.

How the contract types compare

RentalThe filing calls it monthly fee for service; we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Monthly fee-for-service residents pay the Health Center's daily rate if they need care. Residents have priority over non-residents for Health Center beds, based on contract and availability. The Health Center is not Medicare/Medicaid certified; payment is private or long-term care insurance.p. 17

Assisted living
No assisted living level; the Health Center provides nursing home care.
Nursing care
Current Health Center daily rate ($378 a day in 2025), unless special sliding-scale rates apply based on income.
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions

Type B (modified)The filing calls it Continuing Care Contract (grandfathered); we class contracts by how care is priced (our definitions).

Independent residents on the continuing care contract receive 14 days of Health Care per year without the daily room rate. Beyond that they pay the published per diem; certain deaconesses and missionaries may qualify for special rates.p. 19

Assisted living
No assisted living level.
Nursing care
14 days a year without the daily room charge, then the published per diem ($378 a day in 2025); on a permanent move the independent living monthly fee stops.
Care days included
14
Priority for a bed
Yes, residents come before outside admissions
Units on campusp. 6
Independent living63
Assisted livingNone on campus
Memory careNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Nursing care53

Entrance fees

One-person prices as the filing lists them, by contract. A second person usually pays the extra amount shown.

The 2026 filing lists no entrance-fee schedule. What it says about the contracts:

Since October 9, 2019 new entrants have been offered a monthly fee-for-service agreement: no entrance fee, a $2,000 move-in deposit and a monthly fee, with health care at the daily rate (sliding-scale rates may apply by income). Older continuing care contracts charged an entrance fee set as a percentage of the resident's total assets (20% to 35%, capped at $40,000 to $100,000), not refundable after move-in, with 14 days of health care a year included; 24 people hold them versus 54 on non-continuing-care contracts.PDF

Monthly fees

What residents pay each month, by contract and level of care. A second person adds the amount shown.

Independent Living Monthly Service Fee agreement · Rental (10 prices, $1,773 to $4,135)
UnitLevel of carePer month, one personSecond person
Apartment – StudioIndependent living$1,773p. 15$230
Apartment – 1 BedroomIndependent living$1,973p. 15$230
Apartment – Jack and JillIndependent living$2,209p. 15$230
Apartment – 2 BedroomIndependent living$2,229p. 15$230
Bethea Suite – With 2 MealsIndependent living$2,446p. 15$230
Bethea Suite – StudioIndependent living$2,060p. 15$230
Quad/Village CottageIndependent living$3,532p. 15$230
Single Home 2 BedroomsIndependent living$4,135p. 15$230
Terrace Apartment – 1 BedroomIndependent living$2,617p. 15$230
Terrace Apartment – 2 BedroomIndependent living$2,767p. 15$230

Fee increases, year by year

YearLevel of careUnitIncreaseMonthly fee, before and after
2025Independent livingJones-Cadwallader 1 bedroom0%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,973 to $1,973p. 20
2024Independent livingJones-Cadwallader 1 bedroom9.5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,802 to $1,973p. 20
2023Independent livingJones-Cadwallader 1 bedroom5%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,716 to $1,802p. 20
2022Independent livingJones-Cadwallader 1 bedroom4%calculated from the dollar amounts$1,650 to $1,716p. 20
2025Nursing careSkilled nursing care – private (monthly)0%calculated from the dollar amounts$11,340 to $11,340p. 20
2024Nursing careSkilled nursing care – private (monthly)0%calculated from the dollar amounts$11,340 to $11,340p. 20
2023Nursing careSkilled nursing care – private (monthly)24.3%calculated from the dollar amounts$9,125 to $11,340p. 20
2022Nursing careSkilled nursing care – private (monthly)7.1%calculated from the dollar amounts$8,517 to $9,125p. 20

Refunds

What comes back from the entrance fee when you leave or die, and when it is paid.

Continuing care entrance fee (non-refundable after occupancy)p. 10

The entrance fee is not refunded after move-in, whether the resident leaves, dies or is terminated. Before move-in it is fully refundable within the 30-day rescission period, and on death or incapacity before move-in it is refunded less non-standard costs and a $500 service charge.

Kept on move-in
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Declines by
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Never less than
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing
Longest wait
No limit stated
Paid
Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

How entrance-fee refunds work, and why the payment date matters

Finances

Whether the organisation behind the community has the cash and income to keep its promises for decades.

  • Balance sheet: Brooks-Howell Home (stand-alone; a program of United Women in Faith).
  • Ratios: Brooks-Howell Home.
  • Days cash on hand was calculated by us from the audited statements using the standard formula. The formula

Days cash on hand

112 days FY2025p. 76

Debt service coverage

Not disclosed in the 2026 filing

Read with these figuresComputed by us: Brooks-Howell's cash $966,086 + investments $605,698 over 2025 expenses less depreciation ($5,110,905/365). The legally responsible entity, United Women in Faith, held $115.9M of cash and investments ($2.8M cash, $113.2M investments), of which it counts $17.8M as available after excluding donor-restricted and retirement funds; it holds the $2.694M statutory reserve (p21, p69). Operating margin not shown: the audit's $440,139 operating income (7.7% of revenue) includes $896,097 of Medicare-wing construction costs UWFaith paid and donated to Brooks-Howell as a one-time non-cash contribution (p77, p88); without it Brooks-Howell ran an operating deficit of about $456,000 (about -9.4%).

How to read these figures: what each one measures and why a lender’s minimum is a floor, not a target.

Balance sheet and trend

Fiscal yearFY2025p. 76FY2024p. 76
Days cash on hand112 daysNot disclosed
Total assets$4.4 million$3.8 million
Total liabilities$437,232$433,276
Long-term debt$0$0
Entrance fees not yet earned (deferred revenue)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Refunds owed to residents (refundable fee liability)Not disclosedNot disclosed
Net position (assets minus liabilities)$4.0 million$3.4 million

Auditor: Crosslin, PLLC. Opinion: Unmodified (clean) opinionp. 76

Occupancy

The 2026 filing does not report occupancy.

Nursing care on campus

We have not linked this community’s nursing center to a CMS record. Nursing centers certified by Medicare can be looked up on CMS Care Compare.

In brief

Brooks-Howell Home is a nonprofit retirement community on ten acres near downtown Asheville, a program of United Women in Faith (formerly United Methodist Women) since its first residents moved in in 1957, with 63 independent living units and a nursing Health Center. Since 2019 new residents have been offered a monthly fee-for-service agreement with no entrance fee; 2025 monthly fees ran $1,773 to $4,135 and nursing care $378 a day, private pay only. Older residents hold continuing care contracts with an asset-based, non-refundable entrance fee and 14 health care days a year.PDF

Nearest communities in North Carolina

Sources

Each page tab above opens this PDF at the page the figure came from. Spotted a figure that does not match its page? Tell us and it is checked against the filing.