Skip to content

Home › Compare

Brooks-Howell Home and Givens Highland Farms compared

Two North Carolina communities about 11 miles apart, compared from their own disclosure statements. Tinted rows are where they differ; each page tab opens the filing at the figure.

FigureBrooks-Howell HomeGivens Highland Farms
LocationAsheville, NCBlack Mountain, NC
Filing used2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF2026 statement, fiscal 2025 financesPDF
Contract typesRental, Type B (modified)Type C (fee for service), Rental
Entrance fee, one personNot disclosed in the 2026 filing$211,420 to $1,473,750p. 29
Monthly fee, independent living$1,773 to $4,135p. 15$3,826 to $5,512p. 27
Refund plansContinuing care entrance fee (non-refundable after occupancy)p. 10Declining Balance (0% Refundable); 50% Refundable; 90% Refundable; 75% Refundable (initial Cottages contracts); Range across refund plans (plan not specified)p. 32p. 29
Highest guaranteed refundNot disclosed in the 2026 filing90% of the feep. 32p. 29
When a refund is paidNot disclosed in the 2026 filingWhen your unit is re-occupied or after 24 months, whichever is firstp. 32p. 29
Days cash on hand112 days (FY2025, calculated)p. 76Computed by us: Brooks-Howell's cash $966,086 + investments $605,698 over 2025 expenses less depreciation ($5,110,905/365). The legally responsible entity, United Women in Faith, held $115.9M of cash and investments ($2.8M cash, $113.2M investments), of which it counts $17.8M as available after excluding donor-restricted and retirement funds; it holds the $2.694M statutory reserve (p21, p69). Operating margin not shown: the audit's $440,139 operating income (7.7% of revenue) includes $896,097 of Medicare-wing construction costs UWFaith paid and donated to Brooks-Howell as a one-time non-cash contribution (p77, p88); without it Brooks-Howell ran an operating deficit of about $456,000 (about -9.4%).259 days (FY2025)p. 47Figures for Givens Highland Farms (provider only). The reported 259 days counts the $5.7M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve: Highland's balance-sheet cash ($11.85M), investments ($0.59M) and reserve investments ($5.70M) over FY2025 cash operating expenses come to about 259 days; cash and unrestricted investments alone ($12.44M) cover about 178 days. Section 29 instead cites $6.3M of unrestricted cash and investments (about 99 days of projected costs). DSCR 8.26x is lifted by initial entrance fees on new self-financed apartments (p49). The obligated group (Givens Estates, Highland Farms, Gerber Park II) reports 699 days and 3.43x (p48, p50).
Its lenders' minimumNot disclosed in the 2026 filingNot disclosed in the 2026 filing
Debt service coverageNot disclosed in the 2026 filingComputed by us: Brooks-Howell's cash $966,086 + investments $605,698 over 2025 expenses less depreciation ($5,110,905/365). The legally responsible entity, United Women in Faith, held $115.9M of cash and investments ($2.8M cash, $113.2M investments), of which it counts $17.8M as available after excluding donor-restricted and retirement funds; it holds the $2.694M statutory reserve (p21, p69). Operating margin not shown: the audit's $440,139 operating income (7.7% of revenue) includes $896,097 of Medicare-wing construction costs UWFaith paid and donated to Brooks-Howell as a one-time non-cash contribution (p77, p88); without it Brooks-Howell ran an operating deficit of about $456,000 (about -9.4%).8.26x (FY2025)p. 47Figures for Givens Highland Farms (provider only). The reported 259 days counts the $5.7M of investments restricted for the statutory operating reserve: Highland's balance-sheet cash ($11.85M), investments ($0.59M) and reserve investments ($5.70M) over FY2025 cash operating expenses come to about 259 days; cash and unrestricted investments alone ($12.44M) cover about 178 days. Section 29 instead cites $6.3M of unrestricted cash and investments (about 99 days of projected costs). DSCR 8.26x is lifted by initial entrance fees on new self-financed apartments (p49). The obligated group (Givens Estates, Highland Farms, Gerber Park II) reports 699 days and 3.43x (p48, p50).
Independent living occupancyNot disclosed in the 2026 filing97.93% (2025)p. 21
Net position$4.0 million (FY2025)p. 76−$12.7 million (FY2025)p. 87
Whose financesBrooks-Howell Home (stand-alone; a program of United Women in Faith); ratios for Brooks-Howell Homep. 76Givens Highland Farms, LLC (Highland column of The Givens Estates, Inc. consolidating balance sheet); ratios for Givens Highland Farms (provider only)p. 87
Audit opinionUnmodified (clean) opinion, Crosslin, PLLCp. 76Unmodified (clean) opinion, Forvis Mazars, LLPp. 87
Nursing care, CMS ratingNo CMS record linked5 of 5 (CMS overall)

What care costs later, in each contract

Brooks-Howell Home

Rental: Monthly fee-for-service residents pay the Health Center's daily rate if they need care. Residents have priority over non-residents for Health Center beds, based on contract and availability. The Health Center is not Medicare/Medicaid certified; payment is private or long-term care insurance.p. 17

Type B (modified): Independent residents on the continuing care contract receive 14 days of Health Care per year without the daily room rate. Beyond that they pay the published per diem; certain deaconesses and missionaries may qualify for special rates.p. 19

Givens Highland Farms

Type C (fee for service): Health care is fee-for-service at the published per diem rate, with no included days or discount; residents have priority access to the health care residences before non-residents, on a space-available basis.p. 163

Questions to ask both communities before you sign